Africans and Football.....is it really worth it if we have foreign coaches? (Page 2)

Date: 20-06-2010 9:39 pm (13 years ago) | Author: udo onwubiko
1 [2] 3 4
- Andycaptain at 21-06-2010 05:42 PM (13 years ago)
Foreign coaches depend on players abroad to build a team thereby denying local players the chances but rarely take bribe. Local coaches take bribes from players abroad,again denying local players the chances. So they are all useless. All Nigeria needs is a disciplined local coach not people like Amodu who relies on tired legs like Kanu to win a competition   
Posted: at 21-06-2010 05:42 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- I_montee at 21-06-2010 05:53 PM (13 years ago)
foreign coaches are far more better than the local ones. u guys are talking about the local coaches because we go to the junior tornaments with old men(17 AND ABOVE) to play 17, and 19 years old kids,and we call that victory? why wount they win? now its man 2 man and they cant perform christain chukwu, onigbide and amodu was once our coach wat happened? the team turn worst. our problem with foreign coaches is that they never last, our FA always trow them out for the most little mistake. i think lagerback will be a better coach if his given some time.  I DON TALK MY OWN
Posted: at 21-06-2010 05:53 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onyiis at 21-06-2010 05:53 PM (13 years ago)
they are in Africa to make money and not to build a team

Posted: at 21-06-2010 05:53 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- esoo at 21-06-2010 05:54 PM (13 years ago)
Ask the players if there are discipline within themselves......
Posted: at 21-06-2010 05:54 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- dolphinkate at 21-06-2010 06:34 PM (13 years ago)
You r blaming outsiders for the bad games. It´s international football, what do u mean by "they dont understand how africans r playing  it..." ? All r having same chances and conditions. The football fans from the western world even love to see, when an african country or other outsider is winning the world cup. I doupt, that nigeria team would play better with nigerian coach.

Posted: at 21-06-2010 06:34 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- rihane at 21-06-2010 06:35 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: agabs on 21-06-2010 12:43 PM
Nigerian Coaches lack Integrity, Discipline, Tact and the Respect needed to control the likes of the Obafemi Martins, Mikel Obi, Yakuba and the rest.

When you are corrupt and everybody knows you are corrupt, you can not enforce punishment. If you try it, I will call my Godfathers and we know your secrets, so you must listen to me and you must tolerate me.

Can not speak for other African countries. A Nigerian Coach can not handle the senior team. Too much NFA interference.

Pls can u show evidence for what u just said? As for me, i think that we have the potential to be great soccer stars. It has nothing to do with martins or yakubu. Our failure has to do with the lack of will and humility to submit yourself, and play with ur heart for your country. If you have people who are passionate about the game they play, money or no money, they should be able to play well. We are AFRICANS for crying out loud... FOOTBALL is OUR GAME, and NO ONE PLAYS IT BETTER THAN US!
Posted: at 21-06-2010 06:35 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- rihane at 21-06-2010 06:36 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Bouncingbaby on 21-06-2010 02:22 PM
The foreign coaches are nothing but exploiters, they come to Africa to extract our money. It is a pity that Nigeria as a country doesn't know what is good for them... Politics has eaten all aspects of her economy. If i may ask one question, why can't we do away with those old players of ours and recruit young stars. Even Eyimba of Aba will perform even better than Nigeria footballers. One problem with Nigeria is to get a good coach another thing is to give room for the appropriate players to partake. Not until all these are put in place, Nigeria football will never yield anything good fruit.

We have good coaches in this country, lets utilize them by giving them total freedom to carryout their duties as a coach and not NFF and NFA interfering on coaching issues as to who comes into the football team. Federal character principle should not be apply to football. For once lets appointment into the Nigeria football federation be by merit and not by slot....
[/quote
Sensible comment!
Posted: at 21-06-2010 06:36 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- rihane at 21-06-2010 06:38 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sproduction on 21-06-2010 03:13 PM
wat do u expect, do u want black africans to win the white nations with  white coaches. abeg make una dey think well
lol Grin
Posted: at 21-06-2010 06:38 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- rihane at 21-06-2010 06:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: kwax on 21-06-2010 03:54 PM
Naigeria has succeeded in wasting resources on a white man who is not better than Amodu :'(
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 21-06-2010 06:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- rihane at 21-06-2010 06:41 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Andycaptain on 21-06-2010 05:42 PM
Foreign coaches depend on players abroad to build a team thereby denying local players the chances but rarely take bribe. Local coaches take bribes from players abroad,again denying local players the chances. So they are all useless. All Nigeria needs is a disciplined local coach not people like Amodu who relies on tired legs like Kanu to win a competition   

U are talking of Kanu, don't u think Kanu is too old to be playing? He should retire, afterall we have very young athletic people who even have more talent.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 06:41 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- rihane at 21-06-2010 06:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dolphinkate on 21-06-2010 06:34 PM
You r blaming outsiders for the bad games. It´s international football, what do u mean by "they dont understand how africans r playing  it..." ? All r having same chances and conditions. The football fans from the western world even love to see, when an african country or other outsider is winning the world cup. I doupt, that nigeria team would play better with nigerian coach.

U don't understand, AFRICANS HAVE THEIR OWN TRADITIONAL WAY OF PLAYING FOOTBALL....WHICH ONLY AFRICANS UNDERSTAND. IT may look like it's the same thing on TV and u call it international football, but it's NOT. By the way, there is no difference between international football and football. U need to be an African to understand what i'm saying.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 06:44 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- abbeyy74 at 21-06-2010 07:42 PM (13 years ago)
i think the problem with nigeria footballer is that they are all now big men and they dont really care and they give up easily on defeat.its only nigeria team that i see that will give up trying for goal from about 20-15 minuets before the game is over.we saw ivory coast game yesterday,even though they didnt win at least they were trying for goals till the end of the game.so the boys were simplly not good on their own period apart from the goal keeper
Posted: at 21-06-2010 07:42 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- wester at 21-06-2010 08:04 PM (13 years ago)
The problem isnt the foreign coach but nthe mentality of the players and quality of players.There is no question about the competence of Lars.It boils down to laxity,bad positioning,ball watching and unprofessional conduct
Posted: at 21-06-2010 08:04 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- prince775 at 21-06-2010 08:29 PM (13 years ago)
Sometimes i dont really understand you Nigerians... not too long after the Nations cup you people started asking for Foreign coach and now you have one doing better but still complaining. my brothers and sisters our problem is not the coach but NFF and the players lack of commitment. look at Mikel Obi. he can die for chealsea. he can play for chealsea nursing injury but where is he now though i dont blame him so much because Nigeria dont whorth dying for??  Let NFF extend Lagerberk´s contract and work with him to build a formidable young and talented team for upcoming future tournament like the next Nations cup and let see. NOW I ASK A QUESTION?? IS GHANA NOT DOING BETTER WITH A FOREIGN COACH??  DID BONFERE JO COACHED HIS NATIVE COUNTRY BEFORE WINNING US AN OLYMPIC GOLD MEDAL?? THEY SHOULD ALLOW THE COACH TO STAY FOR A LONGER PERIOD AND LETS SEE.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 08:29 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rihane at 21-06-2010 10:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abbeyy74 on 21-06-2010 07:42 PM
i think the problem with nigeria footballer is that they are all now big men and they dont really care and they give up easily on defeat.its only nigeria team that i see that will give up trying for goal from about 20-15 minuets before the game is over.we saw ivory coast game yesterday,even though they didnt win at least they were trying for goals till the end of the game.so the boys were simplly not good on their own period apart from the goal keeper
I think u have a big point, we need dedicated people, who will play for their country from their heart.
Posted: at 21-06-2010 10:10 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- rihane at 21-06-2010 10:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: prince775 on 21-06-2010 08:29 PM
Sometimes i dont really understand you Nigerians... not too long after the Nations cup you people started asking for Foreign coach and now you have one doing better but still complaining. my brothers and sisters our problem is not the coach but NFF and the players lack of commitment. look at Mikel Obi. he can die for chealsea. he can play for chealsea nursing injury but where is he now though i dont blame him so much because Nigeria dont whorth dying for??  Let NFF extend Lagerberk´s contract and work with him to build a formidable young and talented team for upcoming future tournament like the next Nations cup and let see. NOW I ASK A QUESTION?? IS GHANA NOT DOING BETTER WITH A FOREIGN COACH??  DID BONFERE JO COACHED HIS NATIVE COUNTRY BEFORE WINNING US AN OLYMPIC GOLD MEDAL?? THEY SHOULD ALLOW THE COACH TO STAY FOR A LONGER PERIOD AND LETS SEE.
u have a point.. i think some nigerians will crucify me for saying this, but Ghana has played better than us so far. Their players are more dedicated, but i still think the coach has a hand. U never go oyibo man land see as dem dey treat black people?? u think say they won make we better?
Posted: at 21-06-2010 10:14 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- chrissiebee at 22-06-2010 02:10 AM (13 years ago)
They are sh.it.

Posted: at 22-06-2010 02:10 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Moseszz at 22-06-2010 02:42 AM (13 years ago)
I agree with Tunji, local coaches tried but failed. The problem may not really be with who coaches the teams, it's with us generally. That patriotism for the father land has gone. It is now "what I get out of the country that matters". Westerhoff and his brother Jo Bonfere succeed with their jobs. But what happened to them? They were disrespectfully thrown out scandalized and humiliated for not bowing to "tin gods" of the sports ministry and "local mafia". Ironically, many Nigerians especially journalists aided in this regard. It is very unfortunate that Nigeria treated these 2 men in the manner they did and even after that, nobody has been able to feel their shoes. Westerhoff made money in Nigeria, that is what brought him but he delivered and wrote Nigeria's name for the first time on world f/ball history. Jo Bonferer took Nigeria to the Olympics and won gold but did not accompany the team back to Nigeria. Nigerians and our journalists never asked him why he did what he did. The truth is, for most Nigerian coaches and players, "win or lose you will still be paid megaly".
Posted: at 22-06-2010 02:42 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- dakar123 at 22-06-2010 02:58 AM (13 years ago)
please see this post and how do you thing about it see

How can African football teams be having foreign coaches? These coaches don't understand how we play the football game as Africans, and all they do is mess up what we already know. Ivorycoast, Nigeria, name it...all of them have coaches from europe and America. Not to be racist or anything...but Siasa did a better job for Nigeria!!
The point is do u think that a foreing coach should coach Nigeria? or a Nigerian should be the coach?
Posted: at 22-06-2010 02:58 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- rihane at 22-06-2010 09:01 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dakar123 on 22-06-2010 02:58 AM
please see this post and how do you thing about it see

How can African football teams be having foreign coaches? These coaches don't understand how we play the football game as Africans, and all they do is mess up what we already know. Ivorycoast, Nigeria, name it...all of them have coaches from europe and America. Not to be racist or anything...but Siasa did a better job for Nigeria!!
The point is do u think that a foreing coach should coach Nigeria? or a Nigerian should be the coach?
lol...dnt get ur point.
Posted: at 22-06-2010 09:01 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 [2] 3 4