Marriage No Be By Force

Date: 24-06-2010 10:24 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 24-06-2010 10:24 AM (13 years ago)

So I’m sitting on the MARTA train on the way back from the airport watching a gay couple kiss, giggle, and in general just be lovers (don’t ask… they were in my face) and one thing that came to my mind was the whole fight for gays to be able to get married. The heated debate comes up every now and then about how gay couples should be able to get married. It seems like once they are able to get married they’ll be happy… Or will they?
At my age, I’m at the point where everyone is looking at me like… How far with wife now? My aunties are hooking me up left, right and center with so so and so’s daughter and everyone is encouraging me to go to one wedding or another… One convention after another. All my unmarried mates both male and female seem to talk about marriage 60 percent of the time. We all discuss how we can’t find the right one… All we want is the babe to be like this… All we want is a good naija guy… Why are naija babes so this? Why are naija guys so that? The feeling I get a lot is that once we find that “good enough” (no one looks for perfect anymore) mate, then we’ll be happy and marry, have kids and join the Mr and Mrs club. Life will be all good right?
The other day I had a very deep conversation with my mom about the difficulties in marriage and how it’s important to look for potential pot holes before you enter… Family background, attitude, finances and the likes. After debating back and forth, she ended the conversation with “anyways at the end of the day, marriage is God’s help and luck.” Now I’ve heard that before, but coming from my Momsy after she had narrated stories of uncle this, and aunty that and the problems they had in their marriages, that statement hit home. “Marriage is God’s help & Luck” doesn’t sound very encouraging to me.
I started thinking… This uncle has this wahala, and this one has that wahala. Combined with the marriages I’ve seen crash within the first year, and the 50 percent divorce rate, we’re not looking at very good odds. For us Nigerians that like to feel like our culture is different, and we don’t do divorce… News flash… We might not have as high a divorce rate as yankee, but we make up for it in “separations”… That’s what the stats don’t cover. Or we stay in unhappy marriages just to keep family, in laws and the community happy.
The burning question remains, why are a lot of people so in a hurry to get married when we’re looking at a 50 percent success rate at best and on a decent day we’re looking at 35 percent? It’s like saying I want to getting into something with my fingers crossed… Kinda like a gamble. I’m not a big gambler but I’m sure 1/2 are not very good odds. I’m sure if CDC said u have a 50 percent chance of catching of getting swine flu if u go to El Paso,TX not many of us will dream of going there in the next 2 years.
These days it’s scarier cos I see a good number of people who shop for husbands and/or wives like they are shopping at Walmart. Pick this one and go. I see friends that get married after 6 months of knowing their partner. Some after 9 months… I mean I know there’s no real time schedule for these things, but we’ve got to be careful. I am not married or on the way to it, but I honestly pray no kind of love will make me want to marry sharp sharp. I know a lot of people my age especially girls, feel like they’re running out of time, but believe me it’s better to marry late than marry early and be the divorced person with a kid or two at age 29. Not a very good look.
When it’s all said and done, I’ve concluded that marriage no be by force. If it happens the way God wants it to happen then all good, but if not then life continues till it happens.
Topic is open for discussion. I’ve said my own… Make I hear wetin people wan talk. I just had to say something about what I’ve been noticing recently sha.

Posted: at 24-06-2010 10:24 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bhl72 at 25-06-2010 04:58 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 25-06-2010 04:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 25-06-2010 11:45 PM (13 years ago)
hssssssssssssssssssssss
Posted: at 25-06-2010 11:45 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sabiti at 26-06-2010 04:39 PM (13 years ago)
i no go mind a lil bit of hookn up maself...no time 4 2 much work
Posted: at 26-06-2010 04:39 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- irule at 26-06-2010 07:50 PM (13 years ago)
still reading

Posted: at 26-06-2010 07:50 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aristocrat at 26-06-2010 08:26 PM (13 years ago)
Na only god go save us.

Posted: at 26-06-2010 08:26 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 26-06-2010 08:28 PM (13 years ago)
long thing

Posted: at 26-06-2010 08:28 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ceejay58 at 27-06-2010 02:19 AM (13 years ago)
hssssssssssssssssssssssssssss
Posted: at 27-06-2010 02:19 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Umbrella at 27-06-2010 03:14 AM (13 years ago)
i dno wot the big deal is bout marriage.
more ppl getting married, more marriages breaking down
wot's wrong in ppl being in love and being happy with God blessing their relationship? why the need to have a ceremony and spend money on smthn that probably wont even last long. {heterosegxwal or homosegxwal partnership; all join

young girls are not focusing on their education, their careers, on the path towards independence. instead theyre busying lookin for husbands and even going as far as PRAYING for husbands lmao

i wish them luck
Posted: at 27-06-2010 03:14 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ceejay58 at 27-06-2010 08:21 PM (13 years ago)
abeg i no get time 4 marriage yet.......
Posted: at 27-06-2010 08:21 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- moneyinbrakemi at 27-06-2010 08:22 PM (13 years ago)
No Long thing says 2Baba
Posted: at 27-06-2010 08:22 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- omorewa at 28-06-2010 12:07 AM (13 years ago)
abeg come chop food 4 my wedding but you have to buy lace 200 pounds and fila and gele for 50 pounds.......

africans sha we like party  Smiley

Posted: at 28-06-2010 12:07 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family

2. Nigeria Man Narrates How His Dad Impregnated His Ex-girlfriend And Took Her Out Of The Country

3. I'm Open To Dating WOMEN - Khloe Kardashian Announces

4. 70 Passengers Found Vomiting Bug During Flight From Mauritius To Frankfurt

5. “Something Foul Is Going On” – Very Dark Man Reveals Update On Nickie Dabarbie’s Whereabouts

6. Nasboi Opens Up On Why He Thought Sydney Talker Was A Yahoo Boy

7. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada

8. "They Know How To Genuinely Love & Have S*x"- Kenyan Woman Makes Bold Statement On Nigerian Men

9. Ex-Lagos Gov. Babatunde Fashola Proudly Walks Daughter, Yewande, Down The Aisle In Style

10. "Govt Officials &Security Personnel Have Turned Banditry Into A Business" -Governor Dikko Radda

11. Nigerian Lady, Roseline Dies After Allegedly Being Pushed Into Boiling Pot By Friends In Delta

12. Yobe Police Arrests Teenager, Mohammed Abdullahi For Kidnapping & Murder Of Neighbor's Son

13. Sacked Eko Disco MD, Tinuade Sanda Dismissed Over Alleged Fabricated Credentials

14. Arsenal v Bournemouth: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

15. Father Of Seven, Abdullahi Imman Arrested Over Sexual Exploitation Of Children In Niger

16. Manchester City v Wolves: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

6. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed