Genevieve's "LionHeart" Movie Disqualified From The Oscars - Read Her Reaction To It

Date: 05-11-2019 7:10 am (4 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 5-11-2019 07:10 AM (4 years ago)

Nigeria's official entry to the Oscar "Best International (Foreign Language) Film", The Lionheart by Genevieve Nnaji has been disqualified based on ineligibility arising from the fact that majority of the movie was performed in "English Language". The Oscar awards consider international movies to be in languages other than English (and perhaps French) but it would appear the Nigerian committee did not read the eligibility criteria or even did the basic due diligence before selecting a movie that was ineligible to represent Nigeria despite the clearly spelt out rules.

Nigerians are taking the news with lots of anger and vexation because they feel the Oscar committee ought to understand that English is the official language spoken in Nigeria where there are over 700 other smaller languages, a such there was no other way the movie couldn't have not been in English because the indigenous languages are too many. Other feel it is an act of discrimination by the committee because they know Nigeria is an English speaking country but demand SAT, IELETS and other English exams to admit Nigerians but claim Nigerian entry at the Oscars was ineligible because it was done in English language.

What are your thoughts on this? was the disqualification justified or should the oscars have bent the rules for Nigeria's entry?

Here is Genevieve Nnaji's response to it:

“1/1 1/2 Thank you so much @ava.

I am the director of Lionheart. This movie represents the way we speak as Nigerians. This includes English which acts as a bridge between the 500+ languages spoken in our country; thereby making us #OneNigeria. @TheAcademy”

“2/2 It’s no different to how French connects communities in former French colonies. We did not choose who colonized us. As ever, this film and many like it, is proudly Nigerian. @TheAcademy”

Posted: at 5-11-2019 07:10 AM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sweetypweety at 5-11-2019 08:08 AM (4 years ago)
Y didn't u shoot it in either Yoruba, ignore or Hausa that are the 3 major languages spoken by most people in d country?  Good for u & thumbs up to the OSCARS.  We love Oyibo too much.  do u think other countries like Kenya, Uganda, India,  South Africa
etc don't have other languages apart from Swahili, Hindi or Zulu? There is something called translation that could have been displayed while d movie played. The Nigerian board that sent such movie ought to be ashamed of themselves.
Posted: at 5-11-2019 08:08 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- brokenbotttle at 5-11-2019 09:20 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: sweetypweety on  5-11-2019 08:08 AM
Y didn't u shoot it in either Yoruba, ignore or Hausa that are the 3 major languages spoken by most people in d country?  Good for u & thumbs up to the OSCARS.  We love Oyibo too much.  do u think other countries like Kenya, Uganda, India,  South Africa
etc don't have other languages apart from Swahili, Hindi or Zulu? There is something called translation that could have been displayed while d movie played. The Nigerian board that sent such movie ought to be ashamed of themselves.
You are just stupid pls,you don't need to validate every piece of rubbish,how would an Igbo man ,or an Hausa understand if its done in Yoruba, not every one is fast with subtitles, and who told you der were not good Igbo Yoruba,and Hausa ones before they chose this one,it was a success because it was relatable the best you should have said was it would have been better in pidgin ....
Posted: at 5-11-2019 09:20 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- topsy78 at 5-11-2019 09:53 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: brokenbotttle on  5-11-2019 09:20 AM
You are just stupid pls,you don't need to validate every piece of rubbish,how would an Igbo man ,or an Hausa understand if its done in Yoruba, not every one is fast with subtitles, and who told you der were not good Igbo Yoruba,and Hausa ones before they chose this one,it was a success because it was relatable the best you should have said was it would have been better in pidgin ....
Wink Cool
Posted: at 5-11-2019 09:53 AM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- scottchris at 5-11-2019 10:15 AM (4 years ago)
This is Preposterous.....unacceptable.... pathetic....i smell propaganda.....Politics

Posted: at 5-11-2019 10:15 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 5-11-2019 10:25 AM (4 years ago)
English is NOT a foriegn language in Nigeria.

It is the LINGUA FRANCA.

LINGUA FRANCA is a language adopted as a COMMON LANGUAGE between speakers who native languages are DIFFERENT!!!!

As usual Nigeria did NOT read the small print!!!! AGAIN.
Posted: at 5-11-2019 10:25 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nametalkam at 5-11-2019 11:35 AM (4 years ago)
I think Nigeria has better indigenous movies that could have stood a chance, most of Kunle Afolayan movies were in Yoruba. This is typical Nigeria, the rules were given to the committee that selected the movie on behalf of Nigeria, they knew Lionheart did not meet the language criteria, yet they feel they can make it through and give some testimonies about how the rules were broken for them?

Posted: at 5-11-2019 11:35 AM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Baye77 at 5-11-2019 01:50 PM (4 years ago)
This is sad...but, the rules are the rules...if they say they dont want movies in english, then dont give them that...
Posted: at 5-11-2019 01:50 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- horizontal at 5-11-2019 04:21 PM (4 years ago)
AM SO SAD AND DISAPOINTED OF WHITE PEOPLE SOMETIMES
Posted: at 5-11-2019 04:21 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- SweetDaddy1 at 5-11-2019 05:29 PM (4 years ago)
I have long disqualified the oscars and the UN...on-united nations, this organisations are SCAM.
Posted: at 5-11-2019 05:29 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac