Are beards obligatory for devout Muslim men?

Date: 02-07-2010 5:19 am (13 years ago) | Author: Henry C James
- at 2-07-2010 05:19 AM (13 years ago)
Hizbul-Islam militants in Somalia ordered men in Mogadishu this week to grow their beards and trim their moustaches.

"Anyone found violating this law will face the consequences," a Hizbul-Islam militant said

But is growing a beard obligatory under Islam?

Posted: at 2-07-2010 05:19 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ndjoe at 2-07-2010 05:37 AM (13 years ago)
kai i dey craz?
Posted: at 2-07-2010 05:37 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nicestobi at 2-07-2010 05:44 AM (13 years ago)
ITS NOT IN THE LAW OF ISLAM
Posted: at 2-07-2010 05:44 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 2-07-2010 05:48 AM (13 years ago)
pls this is meant to inform and not to insult....  therefore if u must post... let it be something that can educate others.... 

but brb...
Posted: at 2-07-2010 05:48 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ndjoe at 2-07-2010 06:05 AM (13 years ago)
who be this?
Posted: at 2-07-2010 06:05 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nicestobi at 2-07-2010 06:13 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ceejay58 on  2-07-2010 05:48 AM
pls this is meant to inform and not to insult....  therefore if u must post... let it be something that can educate others.... 

but brb...
who is he refering to  Angry
Posted: at 2-07-2010 06:13 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ndjoe at 2-07-2010 06:26 AM (13 years ago)
the guy is addicted to brukutu
Posted: at 2-07-2010 06:26 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nicestobi at 2-07-2010 06:50 AM (13 years ago)
lets help him den
pls guy, take 2 tea full spoon of milk in the morning
salt dissolved in a glass of water
and den ur addiction to burukutu is over
Posted: at 2-07-2010 06:50 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ndjoe at 2-07-2010 02:00 PM (13 years ago)
that is it
Posted: at 2-07-2010 02:00 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sabiti at 2-07-2010 06:25 PM (13 years ago)
d guy swagga low die
Posted: at 2-07-2010 06:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ceejay58 at 2-07-2010 11:22 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sabiti on  2-07-2010 06:25 PM
d guy swagga low die

guy so u really think u ve got a better swag huh?

yea right.....

if u ve got nufin reasonable to say as per the topic then just pass.. cos if u dare insult me again.......
Posted: at 2-07-2010 11:22 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ndjoe at 3-07-2010 02:03 AM (13 years ago)
i don run
Posted: at 3-07-2010 02:03 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mr-World at 3-07-2010 07:08 AM (13 years ago)
@ceejay where u match dey go? u wan go grow bear bear?

Posted: at 3-07-2010 07:08 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kurupt419 at 3-07-2010 07:15 PM (13 years ago)
i dey come
Posted: at 3-07-2010 07:15 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tellitasitis at 16-09-2010 11:53 AM (13 years ago)

Hadith - Bukhari 7:781, Narrated Ibn 'Umar 

Allah's Apostle  said, "Cut the moustaches short and leave the beard (as it is)."

Hadith - Muslim, Narrated AbuHurayrah 

The Messenger of Allah  said: Trim closely the moustache, and grow beard, and thus act against the fire-worshippers.

Hadith - Bukhari 9:651, Narrated Abu Sa'id Al-Khudri

The Prophet  said, "There will emerge from the East some people who will recite the Qur'an but it will not exceed their throats and who will go out of (renounce) the religion (Islam) as an arrow passes through the game, and they will never come back to it unless the arrow, comes back to the middle of the bow (by itself) (i.e., impossible)." The people asked, "What will their signs be?" He said, "Their sign will be the habit of shaving (of their beards)." (Fateh Al-Bari, Page 322, Vol. 17th)

Hadith - Muwatta 51.7

Yahya related to me from Malik from Zayd ibn Aslam that Ata ibn Yasar told him that the Messenger of Allah  was in the mosque when a man came in with dishevelled hair and beard. The Messenger of Allah  motioned with his hand that he should be sent out to groom his hair and beard. The man did so and then returned. The Messenger of Allah said, "Isn't this better than that one of you should come with his head dishevelled, as if he were a shaytan?"

Posted: at 16-09-2010 11:53 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- tellitasitis at 16-09-2010 12:14 PM (13 years ago)
YES,YES,YESssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss,YES.
Posted: at 16-09-2010 12:14 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- damseljasmine at 16-09-2010 11:49 PM (13 years ago)
This is a good question cos for me, this looks very unkempt and menacing.
Posted: at 16-09-2010 11:49 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 16-09-2010 11:53 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nicestobi on  2-07-2010 05:44 AM

you are very very wrong so.
its oblgatory quite right ----- ok ?
Posted: at 16-09-2010 11:53 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 16-09-2010 11:53 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nicestobi on  2-07-2010 05:44 AM

you are very very wrong so.
its oblgatory quite right ----- ok ?
Posted: at 16-09-2010 11:53 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master