Presidency Reacts As Punch Newpaper Changes President Buhari's Title To 'Major General'

Date: 11-12-2019 5:57 pm (4 years ago) | Author: Chris Brazz
- at 11-12-2019 05:57 PM (4 years ago)

The Nigeria newpaper giant, PUNCH was under the heat from members of the Presidency for referring to President Buhari as 'Major General', instead of 'General', and referring to his government as 'Regime' instead of 'Administration'

According to the  Special Adviser Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina, the PUNCH was not out of order by addressing the president by Major General, afterall the titled was earned not dashed, he added that they are exercising press freedom in Nigeria .

In his words; If you decide to call him Major General, he wasnt dashed the rank, he earned it. So, you are not completely out of order. The fact that you can do so is even another testimony to press freedom in Nigeria

This statement was rather disproved by the Special Adviser (Media and Publicity), Garba Shehu when addressing the issue, he said that the Punch does not have the right to insult the president in a front page editorial all in the name of exercising press freedom in the country.

His words;  Femi, special adviser, Media and Publicity said the fact the Punch can insult the president in a front page editorial and they go home to sleep, peacefully, is the best testimony to th prevalence of the freedom of the press and of expression in the country

Read Full story below;

Posted: at 11-12-2019 05:57 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jahlovesme at 11-12-2019 05:59 PM (4 years ago)
I know he will see that one mumu man
Posted: at 11-12-2019 05:59 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Mashbol at 11-12-2019 06:49 PM (4 years ago)
Let's see how DSS or SSS will react. "They can do and undo without order from the presidency"   Grin
Posted: at 11-12-2019 06:49 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 11-12-2019 07:06 PM (4 years ago)
hmm this is serious ooo... its very obvious that Nigeria is under a dictator

Posted: at 11-12-2019 07:06 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- crocatum at 12-12-2019 10:00 AM (4 years ago)
Free Sowore, stop tyranny, Punch I believe you, Stop being a tyrant, we cannot go 10 steps backwards
Posted: at 12-12-2019 10:00 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Baye77 at 12-12-2019 11:40 AM (4 years ago)
Wareva
Posted: at 12-12-2019 11:40 AM (4 years ago) | Hero