"African Parents Are World’s Worst… They Ruined Our Lives" - Toke Makinwa

Date: 11-01-2020 11:24 am (4 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 11-01-2020 11:24 AM (4 years ago)

Toke Makinwa, took to a recent episode of her vlog to criticize “all” African parents, dubbing them the “worst in the world” for “ruining lives” with unorthodox child-raising values.

“Thanks to African parents for ruining our lives. Growing up in an African home, there are certain things we never had the balls to say. Even now, I’m 35. I still can’t stand up to my parents,” she said.

“African parents are the worst set of parents in the whole wide world. You never have an option on things that are coming in an African home. As a child, you’re told what to read in school.”

“They don’t tell you what you’re good at but what they think you should be doing. It’s like, ‘I want to have a doctor, so my child must read medicine.’ Even if you do shit in maths, you’ll be an accountant.

“African parents don’t apologize. They’re never wrong. Doesn’t that bother you? How dare you say they are wrong? You almost become less confident because of the scoldings of an African mother.”

While addressing her relationship with her parents, Makinwa said she still looks away when sex scenes play out on TV in the presence of her mother — even at the age of 35.

She added that the failure of African parents to discuss matters regarding sex and their prohibitory stance on having boyfriends has caused many to have relationship problems in adulthood.

“Our parents have sex. But we can’t envision it. Things happened to me: If a boy calls you on the phone or writes a love letter, you’re finished! Going to church? We did it because they wanted us to,” she added.

“They told us to stay away from boys. We did for so long that we don’t have boyfriends. But when you’re older and are yet to marry, they call all sorts of pastors to pray for you. Something is wrong!”

Although she decried the harsh terms to which many African parents subject their wards, Toke agreed that many would have gone astray if such reservedness and deprivations weren’t in place.

Posted: at 11-01-2020 11:24 AM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dopygenius at 11-01-2020 11:29 AM (4 years ago)
You are right
Posted: at 11-01-2020 11:29 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- horizontal at 11-01-2020 11:33 AM (4 years ago)
 SHE IS  RIGHT..SHE IS SPEAKING THE TRUTH .
Posted: at 11-01-2020 11:33 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Slimchery at 11-01-2020 11:50 AM (4 years ago)
You guys that think she's right know nothing though everybody has right to their opinion, our parents maybe hard handed with us because that is the way african child is raised though some parents do theirs in a wrong way but I still prefer African patients upbringing, check at the best children in Europe and America they are African children raised up by same African parents
Posted: at 11-01-2020 11:50 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Deltaboy1 at 11-01-2020 12:06 PM (4 years ago)
I just naturally hate this old woman
Posted: at 11-01-2020 12:06 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Deltaboy1 at 11-01-2020 12:07 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: horizontal on 11-01-2020 11:33 AM
SHE IS  RIGHT..SHE IS SPEAKING THE TRUTH .
olodo
Posted: at 11-01-2020 12:07 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lisabi at 11-01-2020 12:36 PM (4 years ago)
You are a fool. Africa children in Europe are best in every good things. Upon your parent don't allowed you to phyuk at age of 13 you are still useless like left hand. Asewo Kobo Kobo. They don't allowed you to become prostitute at the end you still become ASEWO
Posted: at 11-01-2020 12:36 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lisabi at 11-01-2020 12:37 PM (4 years ago)
You are a fool. Africa children in Europe are best in every good things. Upon your parent don't allowed you to phyuk at age of 13 you are still useless like left hand. Asewo Kobo Kobo. They don't allowed you to become prostitute at the end you still become ASEWO
Posted: at 11-01-2020 12:37 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nikiniki at 11-01-2020 03:59 PM (4 years ago)
Quote from: Slimchery on 11-01-2020 11:50 AM
You guys that think she's right know nothing though everybody has right to their opinion, our parents maybe hard handed with us because that is the way african child is raised though some parents do theirs in a wrong way but I still prefer African patients upbringing, check at the best children in Europe and America they are African children raised up by same African parents
You lie! Show us the Data!
Posted: at 11-01-2020 03:59 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac