NIJ Lecturer, Tene John Accused Of segxwal Harassment Shares His Side of the Story

Date: 29-01-2020 7:59 pm (4 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 29-01-2020 07:59 PM (4 years ago)

Tene John, a lecturer in the Nigerian Institute of Journalism, in Lagos was sacked over alleged segxwal assault on one of his students, Ms. Anjola Ogunyemi has given his own side of the story.

According to a statement posted by him on his verified Facebook page, @tene.john.7, on Wednesday, the lecturer who has been with institute for over a decade said he was innocent of the allegations and further stressed that his dismissal by the institute was an act of injustice.

Read the full statement below:

On December 17, 2019, I was verbally informed by the Dean of Student Affairs of the Nigerian Institute of Journalism (NIJ), Mrs. Kalesanwo that I should appear before a panel over a segxwal harassment claim by a student of the institute, Miss Anjola Ogunyemi. The said student had alleged that I segxwally assaulted her in my office on December 13, 2019, at about 7:20 am. In her claims, she argued that after I tried to kiss her, I pinned her to the wall by holding her neck so tight, dropped to my knees, removed her panties and licked her down.

The primary reason she was in my office on the said date was to sign the attendance register, which had to be re-written because the initial one was messed up. She wasn’t singled out for this. Other students before her had done the same. In the course of signing the attendance, she mentioned that she had got a job that would make attending classes difficult for her. I advised her to change from full-time to part-time to enable her to cope academically. I said I would help make inquiries about that.

While she was in my office, I went to meet Miss Cynthia (The woman at the bookshop) who confirmed that it was possible and all she needed to do was write a letter to Mrs. Kalensawo. During her time at my office, two ND students, Oluwaseun Mohammed and Ibukun Akinsanya entered. Mohammed greeted her while Akinsanya came to deliver the 3-In-One coffee I sent him. Before Miss Anjola left, she gave me her phone number at that point, I patted her on the back with assuring words, and she even asked if I would be taking the 9:00 am class, in which I jokingly called her ‘olodo’ and answered in the affirmative.

Those familiar with my office know that there is a bookshop right beside it, as well as a lecturers’ office. At 7:20 am, the school is already lively with gardeners, cleaners, workers at the school cafeteria, and students.

On the said date, after she left my office, I chatted her up on Whatsapp and she responded by thanking me (I have released the chat with this message). She attended my 9:00 am class the same day she alleged that I segxwally harassed her, and she also signed the class attendance. How could a person who left my office ‘shaking’, as she said on her social media post, reply to the chat I sent her at 8:46 am and sat through my two hours class? Only Miss Anjola Ogunyemi could explain the reason she chose to tarnish my image. Some students even called my attention to her reaction when the news about my dismissal reached her. That ‘mission accomplished’ statement from her sounded vindictive, further proof to the fact that only she could explain her actions.

It should also be noted that during the panel sittings, it was pointed out to her that the initial oral statement she gave was totally different from the written statement she submitted 48 hours later.

However, it came as a shock to me that the institute I had served for over a decade decided to terminate my contract despite the outcome of the three-person panel. In the statement of the institute announcing my sack to the world, paragraph four says: “It was difficult for the panel to establish correctly a case of segxwal harassment in its report because there were glaring contradictions in the testimonies of the two parties and witnesses.” At this point, it is pertinent to ask the management of NIJ that on what basis was my contract terminated?

In my service to the institute, which spanned over ten years, I had discharged my duties with all sense of responsibility. My office was always opened to students, from the ND level to the PGD level. Students charged their phones, kept their valuables in my office, and at no point was my name ever mentioned in the same line with segxwal harassment. Ever since the news broke, I have been called unprintable names on my social media handles and despite numerous pleas, I refused to disable the comment section or pull down the account.

My next line of action would be communicated accordingly.

I thank everyone for their support during what has been a turbulent time for my family and me. I urge you all to remember me in your prayers.

Signed,
Tene John

Posted: at 29-01-2020 07:59 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- udnkere at 29-01-2020 09:44 PM (4 years ago)
It is unfortunate that the panel set up by NIJ could come to such a hasty conclusion without proper investigations. Issues of segxwal harassment  have been very rampant in our high institutions lately. But  I can categorically say that not all reported cases are true, some are sometimes vindictive therefore, it is quite imperative for whoever's investigating to be very thorough, unbiased and objective. When I first read her story in the social media I was not convinced, her version was so porous. How can a man hold your neck, bend down and lick you up, which hand did he use to open your legs except your opened your legs for him. Why did you not scream or do something to attract any person close  by?. If you asked me I don't believe her story. Mr Tene keep praying the lord will vindicate you. Nigerian are watching... seek for justice
Posted: at 29-01-2020 09:44 PM (4 years ago) | Newbie

1. "Simi And Adekunle Gold Make Me Regret Being Single" – Tiwa Savage Opens Up

2. BREAKING: Kaduna Assembly Probes El-Rufai’s Loans, Directs Committee To Summon Ex-Gov

3. BBN Star, Tuoyo Replies Moet Abebe, Reveals How Much He Spent At A Club

4. Panic As Gunmen Invade Ekiti LG Secretariat

5. Police Foils Cable Theft, Arrest One Suspect In Katsina

6. “Person Wey Get You, Get Somebody” – May Edochie Praises Rita Edochie On Her Birthday

7. Bayern Munich v Arsenal: UEFA Champions League Q/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video