Checkpoint Tragedy: Policeman Kills Truck Driver

Date: 13-09-2010 9:44 am (13 years ago) | Author: Ayobamy Olawale
- at 13-09-2010 09:44 AM (13 years ago)
A Mobile Policeman attached to the Kwara State Police Command on Monday, allegedly shot dead a truck driver at the Eiyekorin check point in Ilorin.

The driver’s assistant was seriously injured.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the victim, identified as Dele Olaniyi died instantly, while Waheed Jamiu, his assistant was seriously wounded and currently receiving treatment at the Unilorin Teaching Hospital.

A witness told NAN that Policemen at the check point fired several shots at the truck with registration No Kwara XB 515 SHA.

The Policemen alleged that the driver was carrying illegal goods and refused to stop when told to.

The witness who claimed to be at the scene during the shooting told NAN that when the truk was forced to stop, nothing except an empty 25-litre can was found inside it.

The victim was seen lying in his blood in front of the truck with his head riddled with bullets when NAN Correspondent visited the scene.

The driver and his assistant worked for Mount Olive Farms Nigeria Ltd, a commodity merchandising firm, located at Oja Tuntun in Ilorin.

The Officer in charge of MOPOL, Kwara State Command, Mr Sadiq Abubakar, who led a detachment of policemen to the scene of the shooting, refused to speak, saying his boss was the only person mandated to speak officially on the issue.

When NAN contacted Mr Ezekiel Dabo, the State Police Spokesman on telephone on the issue, he confirmed the story but said he did not have enough details yet.

Posted: at 13-09-2010 09:44 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- uprising at 13-09-2010 09:59 AM (13 years ago)
they should be tried for murder
Posted: at 13-09-2010 09:59 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bafyguy at 13-09-2010 10:11 AM (13 years ago)
The officer should be sentence to death by firing squard. Why don't he go after the truck in his car if the driver refuse to stop? must he shot at the truck driver in order to stop him.
Posted: at 13-09-2010 10:11 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 13-09-2010 10:35 AM (13 years ago)
9JA PLICE DEY phyuk UP WELL WELL. HOW OFFICE ABI OFFICER GO FIRE JST BCUS TRUCK NO STOP. I DON TIRE 4 9JA PLICE AND THEIR STUPIDITY THEY NO DEY DO THEIR JOB ATALL,ONLY INTERESTED IN 20 NAIRA. MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE .MAY GOD ALMIGHTY RESCUE NIGERIANS FROM SUCH EVIL AMEN.
Posted: at 13-09-2010 10:35 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- isdyroyal at 13-09-2010 01:28 PM (13 years ago)
he's dead he's dead. why didn't he stop? wen asked to..
Posted: at 13-09-2010 01:28 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- qunodinga at 13-09-2010 01:36 PM (13 years ago)
Ooop! poor man!
Posted: at 13-09-2010 01:36 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- frenzeecool_08 at 13-09-2010 07:25 PM (13 years ago)
They must not go unpunished
Posted: at 13-09-2010 07:25 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mydicksweet at 14-09-2010 12:03 AM (13 years ago)
They will go free without purnishment that's naija police force for u very stupid ppl may God judge the killers while i drink my beer
Posted: at 14-09-2010 12:03 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- zqsyvep350 at 16-10-2011 11:53 AM (12 years ago)
Trucks and Truck Drivers are not well loved in the road of any nation. But give them the respect and courtesy to ensure you get the same in return. If you want to learn more about trucking industry then you can see fielxo for truckers.
Posted: at 16-10-2011 11:53 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 16-10-2011 04:39 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: mydicksweet on 14-09-2010 12:03 AM
They will go free without purnishment that's naija police force for u very stupid ppl may God judge the killers while i drink my beer
Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Posted: at 16-10-2011 04:39 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Don4 at 16-10-2011 04:55 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: isdyroyal on 13-09-2010 01:28 PM
he's dead he's dead. why didn't he stop? wen asked to..
I like your saying. ''he's dead he's dead.

Posted: at 16-10-2011 04:55 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie