Divorce Insurance: Get Unhitched, Get a Pay-Out

Date: 20-09-2010 7:24 am (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 20-09-2010 07:24 AM (13 years ago)
Ever had that sinking feeling that the person your friend is marrying is perfectly awful? Of course not, because you love everyone. But should it happen, you now can give the perfect wedding present: divorce insurance.

WedLock, as it's coyly named, is a new type of casualty insurance that gives the unhappily married policyholder a payout after he or she is unhitched. It costs about $16 a month for every $1,250 of coverage. But to discourage people from signing up just prior to their divorce, policyholders must ante up for four years before the policy will pay out. It adds a premium of $250 per unit for every year the marriage survives beyond four. So if a policyholder who bought 10 units got divorced after 10 years, he or she would have handed over $19,188 and would receive a payout of $27,500. It's probably not worth getting divorced for, but the lump sum might salve some wounds, whether through lawyers, vacations or subscriptions to the Rhapsody Book Club. (See five Facebook no-nos for divorcing couples.)

The idea bubbled up, as so many do, from the bottom of a financial pit. After John Logan watched his wealth follow his marriage down the drain, the Kernersville, N.C., entrepreneur figured there must be a market for those who want to hedge their marital bets. He won't reveal how many policies he's sold since the Aug. 5 launch of WedLockDivorceInsurance.com But he's surprised at how much insurance his customers are buying: some of the premiums are more than $1,000 a month.

Not everybody thinks divorce insurance is prudent. "The best insurance against a painful, financially devastating divorce is to find a way to be happy in your marriage," says relationship coach Mimi Daniel. "Divorce insurance implies from the beginning that divorce is already an option."

On the other hand, unless you're Elin Nordegren, few things are as impoverishing as ending a marriage. Logan, who is recently engaged and, yes, is buying policies for himself and his betrothed, expects WedLock will become part of prenuptial agreements or be purchased for a bride or groom by relatives concerned about their loved one's choice of loved one. "Mom or Dad could buy this for their son or daughter without them knowing about it," he suggests. But the bride or groom has to be the beneficiary. Sorry, scheming mother-in-law, no windfall for you.

Read more: http://www.time.com/time/magazine/article/0,9171,2015772,00.html?hpt=C2#ixzz1034ndu2Q

Posted: at 20-09-2010 07:24 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bittersweet at 20-09-2010 07:55 AM (13 years ago)
Oh,boy! Undecided

Posted: at 20-09-2010 07:55 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Adikpe at 20-09-2010 09:10 AM (13 years ago)
Na wetin concern me self?

Abeg, make I pass jare.
Posted: at 20-09-2010 09:10 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bafyguy at 20-09-2010 09:18 AM (13 years ago)
no comment
Posted: at 20-09-2010 09:18 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 20-09-2010 09:29 AM (13 years ago)
no be wedlock.. na wedding lock

Posted: at 20-09-2010 09:29 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Teejay2 at 20-09-2010 10:07 AM (13 years ago)
passing
Posted: at 20-09-2010 10:07 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoney at 20-09-2010 11:14 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 20-09-2010 09:29 AM
no be wedlock.. na wedding lock
lol no body is above mistake
Posted: at 20-09-2010 11:14 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- laydeelaracraft at 20-09-2010 11:22 AM (13 years ago)
i can imagine Charlie from 2 and half men buying that for his bro Alan- I noe how random!
Posted: at 20-09-2010 11:22 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- steve231 at 20-09-2010 12:25 PM (13 years ago)
My brodas and sisters believe me wen i tell you this, this poster is on drugs (e head no balance at all)
Posted: at 20-09-2010 12:25 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- aliaaz at 20-09-2010 10:15 PM (13 years ago)
Almighty USA

Posted: at 20-09-2010 10:15 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kayfem at 21-09-2010 04:05 AM (13 years ago)
never married.... none of my business
Posted: at 21-09-2010 04:05 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- blings_is_back at 21-09-2010 04:09 AM (13 years ago)
nawa
Posted: at 21-09-2010 04:09 AM (13 years ago) | Hero

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

3. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

4. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

5. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

6. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

7. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

8. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

9. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

10. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

11. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

12. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

13. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

14. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor