Nigerians React As Covenant University Refuse To Shut Down Amid Coronavirus Pandemic

Date: 20-03-2020 4:15 pm (4 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 20-03-2020 04:15 PM (4 years ago)

Covenant University (CU) founded by Bishop David Oyedepo of the Living Faith Church a.k.a Winners Chapel . Students of the prestigious institution are expected to resume on the 22nd of March, 2020.

Despite the directive of the Federal Government asking all tertiary institutions to shut down, the management of Covenant University is yet to issue any statement on the new development.

Nigerians have called out the institution on Twitter on the disregard for Government’s directive.

@Naija_PR
I heard that Covenant University is insisting that their students resume this Sunday amid COVID-19 pandemic! What is the government stance on this? I’d like to know.

@thetalesofvic
someone tweeted that CU wants us to resume so they can do corona test and add it to our balance brought forward
@LoluAkinteye
Covenant University still insisting on resumption has to be a joke or maybe we should expect them to call that shit off by tomorrow. You can’t bring people from different parts of the country together at this point… Let everyone stay where they are

@CUHEBRON
@nnaji_kate
My colleague just said he wished he had a child in Covenant University now so he could make sure that child doesn’t go to school. If they suspend or do anything to his son, he will sue CU, make millions from them, go to their church (Winners), pay tithe and give testimony.
@itz_veekey
Covenant University (Papa): This is Canaanland, if you have the virus come here and you’ll be healed !

@CoronaV37787607
Covenant University is sha stubborn They no won wise
@ayemojubar
– FG orders closure of all institutions.
– CU resumes this Sunday.

Is this a fight of faith, a test of faith or violation of law?

Posted: at 20-03-2020 04:15 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- abcdqwer at 20-03-2020 05:00 PM (4 years ago)
It should be decision of the health minister to close school and the school management will have no choice or risk enforcement.
Posted: at 20-03-2020 05:00 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- KOSHIMANA at 20-03-2020 06:42 PM (4 years ago)
If u love ur child u go delay him resumption urself
Posted: at 20-03-2020 06:42 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- 9943iz at 21-03-2020 12:52 AM (4 years ago)
We have come to a stage in that Country where people take God for granted, how is it possible to get sick in the presence of God, how?
It's a shame that we no longer respect the Prophets of God simply because there are lots of fake prophets out there, but the fake should also let us know that there are true Prophets of God.
I can't see anyone sick coming to a house of god spreading this so call virus, its not possible.
Most people might disagree but I know my God
Posted: at 21-03-2020 12:52 AM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- Baye77 at 21-03-2020 08:20 AM (4 years ago)
Quote from: 9943iz on 21-03-2020 12:52 AM
We have come to a stage in that Country where people take God for granted, how is it possible to get sick in the presence of God, how?
It's a shame that we no longer respect the Prophets of God simply because there are lots of fake prophets out there, but the fake should also let us know that there are true Prophets of God.
I can't see anyone sick coming to a house of god spreading this so call virus, its not possible.
Most people might disagree but I know my God

Are u even listening to yourself at all??? When the govt decides to drive that "prophet of God" from our country with his school, prepare to go with him.
Posted: at 21-03-2020 08:20 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- Baye77 at 21-03-2020 08:21 AM (4 years ago)
This is our country and nobody is above the law, whoever you are..if he is not ready to close his school, let him leave our country with his school.
Posted: at 21-03-2020 08:21 AM (4 years ago) | Hero