I Never Knew Explosive Is In My Truck, Driver Of The Truck In Akure Explosion Reveals

Date: 02-04-2020 7:26 pm (4 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 2-04-2020 07:26 PM (4 years ago)

The driver of the truck that carried explosives which detonated, causing an explosion on Saturday at Eleyewo community in Akure, Ondo state revealed that he did not know he was carrying explosives.

The driver of the truck, Isiaka Yinusa, was transporting explosives from a neighbouring state when the explosion happened at Eleyewo community in Akure North Local Government Area of Ondo State.
Yinusa who is still recuperating from the surgery he underwent to remove shrapnel from his stomach, said he never knew when and how he got to hospital.

Speaking in an interview on the state television, Yinusa said his boss contacted him to move some items from a stranded truck at Osu axis along Ife-Ibadan expressway. The consignment were loaded and was to deliver them to a company in Auchi, headquarters of Estako West Local Government Area in Edo State.

He said there was a police escort team and a staff of the company where the explosives were to be delivered but when they got to the Shasha market in Akure, the vehicle developed fault, so they decided to pass the night there.
According to Yinusa, who spoke in Yoruba language,

“I was already sleeping inside the truck around some minutes to midnight when one of the police escort told him they should urgently leave the area because of the population in the area as smoke was emitting from the truck.

“So we quickly moved. The policeman who led the team said we should move ahead. As we were moving, the policemen in the escort started signaling on me to stop. As we got down, I saw fire coming out of the vehicle. We brought out fire extinguisher. While other vehicles
parked.

“As they were trying to assist, suddenly the policemen alerted everybody to run away. As I was running, I heard a bang and noticed something in my abdomen. That was all I knew, as I woke up in the hospital.”

Posted: at 2-04-2020 07:26 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- KingPharoah at 2-04-2020 07:57 PM (4 years ago)
This is wickedness. How could you send somebody to deliver explosives without letting him know the content of his mission? so that he could apply the needed precaution & safety measures. He could have been smoking or been lackadaisical due to ignorancy. A country where leadership positions are filled with intellectually poor people.
Posted: at 2-04-2020 07:57 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- dareper at 2-04-2020 11:12 PM (4 years ago)
Even police know wetin them carry.
Posted: at 2-04-2020 11:12 PM (4 years ago) | Hero

1. Watch Moment Students Arrive For Prom In Helicopter And Expensive Cars

2. Toyin Lawani Writes Open Letter To Asake Over New Hairstyle

3. How British Charity Employed Nigerian Man, Peter Omoruy Convicted For Sex Trafficking In France

4. Nigerian Govt Cuts Electricity Supplies To Benin Republic, Togo, Niger To Boost Domestic Supply

5. VIDEO: Skitmaker, Erekere Shows Off His Newly Acquired Benz GLE

6. BREAKING: Vice President Shettima Cancels Summit Trip To US Over Faulty Aircraft

7. ‘I Appreciate Wike But I Can’t Worship Him’ – Rivers Gov, Fubara Opens Up

8. Suspected One-Chance Armed Robber Arrested With Pistol In Suleja

9. 'You Can Be Poor And Still Be Happier Than The So Called Rich' - World Bank Staff Says

10. Ekiti Court Sentences 3 Persons To Death By Hanging For Robbery

11. Actress, Etinosa Idemudia Calls Out BBNaija Star Over Unpaid Debt, Name Still Withheld

12. Suspected Ritualists Kidnap 4 Month Old Boy In Akwa Ibom

13. Gunmen Kill One, Abduct Seven Along Sagamu-Ijebu-Ode Expressway

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

6. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

7. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years

10. Northern Leaders Kick Against The Relocation of US, France Military Base to Nigeria