"We Can Make The Herbs, We Don't Need To Import Them" - Nigerian Medical Experts Reveals

Date: 13-05-2020 1:22 pm (3 years ago) | Author: Adegbenga Ayinla
- at 13-05-2020 01:22 PM (3 years ago)

Nigerian medical experts have expressed disappointment in the federal government's plan to import a herbal tonic from Madagascar - The health workers who kicked against the plan described the government's move as disgraceful - The president of the Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) has, however, listed four reasons why Nigeria should avoid the herbal remedy
Following the federal government's plan to import COVID-Organics (CVO), a herbal tonic from Madagascar for the treatment of coronavirus, Nigerian medical experts have kicked against it, The Guardian reports.

Pharmacists under the aegis of Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) and other medical workers in the country excluding medical doctors under the umbrella of the Joint Health Sector Union (JOHESU) have expressed their opinions on why Nigeria should not import the herbal tonic.

gathered that PSN in reaction to the federal government's plan on Tuesday, May 12, rejected the importation of the herbal tonic and described it as “thoroughly disgraceful.”

Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa, the president of PSN, said medical experts in the country are shocked that the government is about to spend scarce foreign exchange to import herbal concoction called COVID Organics (CVO).

He said:
“While in principle we would not mind Nigerian government importing any new drug that is proven to cure COVID-19 or indeed any other disease for which we have neither the capacity, nor the technology to produce locally, we are totally appalled that Nigeria is about to spend scarce foreign exchange to ‘import coal into Newcastle’. Even if we are not going to pay for this, it is thoroughly disgraceful that a country that should be the leader of Africa, with the largest Gross Domestic Product (GDP) will allow itself to be dragged this low.”

The PSN president listed the following reasons why Nigeria should not import the herbal tonic: Nigeria has about 174 universities; 20 faculties of pharmacy and about 69 federal government-funded research institutes, including National Institute for Pharmaceutical Research and Development (NIPRD), Abuja and the National Institute for Medical Research

(NIMR), Yaba, Lagos while Madagascar has only six universities, one faculty of pharmacy and nine research centres. Nigeria has some of the best scientists (pharmaceutical, medical, biochemical, biological, among others) in the world who have done so much work on natural and herbal medicines. Nigeria has developed a pharmacopeia of natural and herbal

products and has one of the richest flora and fauna–potent sources of phytomedicines. Since the outbreak of the COVID-19, a number of them have raised their voices that they have herbal and natural products that can be used to treat or manage COVID-19. Some have patents. Many herbal companies and producers have announced specifically that they have herbal formulations that can do what this ‘invention’ from Madagascar does.

Ohuabunwa went on to note that pharmacists recommended that a portion of the funds donated for the pandemic should be dedicated to local research and development, however, the government has remained silent

Posted: at 13-05-2020 01:22 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 13-05-2020 01:39 PM (3 years ago)
when you are done talking nonsense,you can go back to the hole you crawled out from. Stupid idiot looking for Government money to embezzle in the name of research. all the ones that have been given to you guys all these years,wetin una research don find out b4?. Naija na leader for mouth,but in all reality,we are the most backward country in Africa if not in the world.

Posted: at 13-05-2020 01:39 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tonyigho at 13-05-2020 02:45 PM (3 years ago)
Shut up that your mouth, all this while what where you guys doing? Now the federal government is trying to find solution by importing the organic, now you want to sabotage the effort. Witch craft.
Posted: at 13-05-2020 02:45 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Boi2Man at 13-05-2020 03:38 PM (3 years ago)
At least show few samples of your research work first as Madagascar have done.
Posted: at 13-05-2020 03:38 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kima77same at 13-05-2020 04:37 PM (3 years ago)
YOU CAN SEE PRIDE ON DISPLAY.
PRIDE...PRIDE...PRIDE...
  SELL YOUR OWN TO THE GOVERNMENT
Posted: at 13-05-2020 04:37 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ficull at 13-05-2020 04:55 PM (3 years ago)
Same reason why our refineries never functioned on 100% capacity. When those corrupt officials import anything, the make more money.
Posted: at 13-05-2020 04:55 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FloxyB at 13-05-2020 06:23 PM (3 years ago)
Evil researcher has no answer all this while o.
Posted: at 13-05-2020 06:23 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- joseusi007 at 13-05-2020 07:00 PM (3 years ago)
After years of Nigeria medical practice attacking and discouraging herbs. No you are talking about herbs. The Nigerian medical and pharmaceutical society were not learned enough to work with herbs. They all sold themselves to the highest bidding pharmaceutical company.
Posted: at 13-05-2020 07:00 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- Asterimou at 13-05-2020 10:16 PM (3 years ago)
Where were these gofers when Madagascar was developing their drugs? Bunch of idiots.
Posted: at 13-05-2020 10:16 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- randallstr at 14-05-2020 01:02 AM (3 years ago)
Where's the $32 million funds from USA.. Hehehe.. Naija.. Everybody will defend is personal interest.. Never mind. Ji masun
Posted: at 14-05-2020 01:02 AM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- maxzy277 at 14-05-2020 02:04 AM (3 years ago)
But what have you people been doing all this while Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 14-05-2020 02:04 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac