Naija Graduate's. (Page 4)

Date: 24-09-2010 4:13 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Oyindamola betty Aroguma
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7
- DiamondEagle at 27-09-2010 11:46 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: oyindabty on 24-09-2010 04:13 PM
y is it that some of d graduate's in naija can not even speak a simple correct english just to express deir sef in a simple statement.
sometimes i wonder wht the problems/faults are from its becos of that state of the country, or from d skool, lack of jobs, or lack of good enviroment, or family, or them dey form , or up bringing, becos i no understand again oo.     

Am askin dis becos i was in a bus to ikeja dis afternoon and infact you need to be there to hear all wht i heard. just becos of change a young handsome guy just insult himsef tryin to collect his change from the conductor inside a public bus not even BRT.
  abi na by force pls i need ur idea's and view concernin dis issues and way to improve on it becos i think dis is one of the major probs of some youth in naija. especially pple frm my state/country

@poster,communication is not all about speaking grammar..it's all about understanding.you can be a graduate who speaks the best English but when i comes to practicing what you studied you become nuisance...lets see communication beyond English speaking.   
Posted: at 27-09-2010 11:46 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sweetgift at 27-09-2010 12:41 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on 26-09-2010 03:53 PM
Eheme!
u make sence die........
Posted: at 27-09-2010 12:41 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Kennee at 27-09-2010 01:14 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: mazi on 27-09-2010 01:40 AM
Quote from: Kennee on 26-09-2010 11:07 PM
Quote from: ericdo2003 on 26-09-2010 05:49 PM
I want to thank you for your effort to know why Nigerian Graduates can not speak good Englsh. I just want to tell you  that the same problem is also applicatable to whoever that posted this. You are trying to correct an issue(bad English) but not knowing that you are part of the issue you are correcting. Check out your write ups, read them through and see if you wrote them with good English and correct spellings.

People should learn the approach of correcting others, It's very bad for a graduate not being able to express him or herself but before you correct them, be sure of what you are correcting for, apply wisdom before you go forth for your corrections.

Thank You,
Eric
Nigerian Resident in the United Kingdom

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Hehehehe... Hi Fella

Kennee here

Resident in the Disunited Nigeria

so d thing don reach dis level?

ok na...

d Oracle not here

Resident in united Abia

though politicians don thief our state money finish, we r still  and happy and united to disunite...Kennee pardon me!...lol

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Na so

Posted: at 27-09-2010 01:14 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennee at 27-09-2010 01:21 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: tyabo on 27-09-2010 02:24 AM
Quote from: Kennee on 26-09-2010 10:19 PM
Quote from: lington123 on 25-09-2010 07:56 PM
Well English is not our mother tongue,we cant be perfect in speaking English 

See What l'm Saying?

Dummy

Kennee English no b do or die affair in as much as far as d person ur communicating wit does undastand wuh ur saying wotz d probs wit dat huhh ?

Asians no sabi English bt dey r d 1's developing d world best technolgies..so abeg make we no take panadol 4 whiteman headache..

My Brotha l Understand yu, but the Problem we Have in dis Country (Not only applicable 2 dis Topic) is dat We Give too Many Excuses for our inability 2 Attain Excellence

Dat is Bad and is Killing us

Posted: at 27-09-2010 01:21 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Agatex at 27-09-2010 02:12 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: oyindabty on 24-09-2010 04:13 PM
y is it that some of d graduate's in naija can not even speak a simple correct english just to express deir sef in a simple statement.
sometimes i wonder wht the problems/faults are from its becos of that state of the country, or from d skool, lack of jobs, or lack of good enviroment, or family, or them dey form , or up bringing, becos i no understand again oo.     

Am askin dis becos i was in a bus to ikeja dis afternoon and infact you need to be there to hear all wht i heard. just becos of change a young handsome guy just insult himsef tryin to collect his change from the conductor inside a public bus not even BRT.
  abi na by force pls i need ur idea's and view concernin dis issues and way to improve on it becos i think dis is one of the major probs of some youth in naija. especially pple frm my state/country

you wey dey talk you don fit speak ur language well talk more of speaking good English abi we tell you say naija na England even the Americans cant even speak good English you dey condemn naija graduate because of english.
Posted: at 27-09-2010 02:12 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- exever100 at 27-09-2010 02:29 PM (13 years ago)
u r so phyuked up gal!go learn ur spellings well.............just passing, peace!
Posted: at 27-09-2010 02:29 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- exever100 at 27-09-2010 02:33 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 24-09-2010 04:19 PM
Oyin, I know say me self no sabi speak or even............but I fit point out your own mistake(s) for dis post oo...........lol
u r so phyukd up chick,go learn ur spelling right u dig!..........................just passing.
Posted: at 27-09-2010 02:33 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ashimole at 27-09-2010 02:49 PM (13 years ago)
Well English is not our mother tongue,we cant be perfect in speaking English........

But for years now, even before i was born english is one of the subject that eery body must offer right from primary school,
so pals, saying that is not our mother tongue is not an excuse. because (IF HAND HANDLES SPOON MOUTH GETS OVER JOY) BESIDES, na the same brain all of us get no different.
Posted: at 27-09-2010 02:49 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- liberian at 27-09-2010 03:24 PM (13 years ago)
Nigerians and Ghanaians have this problem on the massive scale....I believe in Nigeria and Ghana there is a culture of nationalism which is over exhibited to the point that they prioritize their local dialects more than English...I have seen some nigerians and ghanaians who do not even know the basics of  English as that is..Subject and Verb agreement...it is absolutely pathetic to an extent that when they speak I will bow my head in shame
Posted: at 27-09-2010 03:24 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- divineproject at 27-09-2010 03:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: exever100 on 27-09-2010 02:33 PM
Oyin, I know say me self no sabi speak or even............but I fit point out your own mistake(s) for dis post oo...........lol
u r so *****d up chick,go learn ur spelling right u dig!..........................just passing.

Ok, I go need you to teach me......as you can see, I said I no sabi write or speak self...........

Posted: at 27-09-2010 03:44 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- emperor274 at 27-09-2010 04:55 PM (13 years ago)
Its not right of you to generalize.There are Nigerian graduates holding their own within and naija.if am to quote you-you said Nigerian graduate cannot express deir selfs.That's wrong.It should be Nigerian graduates cannot express themselves. so i guess u also fall into the class of people you trying to describe.
Posted: at 27-09-2010 04:55 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Andycaptain at 27-09-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago)
If you cannot speak good English during and just after secondary school then it's over because it cannot be learnt in the university.Again, 6 out of 10 Nigerian graduates made it to the university through one fraud or the other. But remember that some people can read and pass but cannot speak and vice versa.
Posted: at 27-09-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onyin at 27-09-2010 06:54 PM (13 years ago)
Aslong as sumone can understand you.Indians can barely speak good english but still they do well.But still they study very hard and they do really well.And their educational system is very high.
Posted: at 27-09-2010 06:54 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Kennee at 27-09-2010 08:08 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 27-09-2010 03:44 PM
Quote from: exever100 on 27-09-2010 02:33 PM
u r so *****d up chick,go learn ur spelling right u dig!..........................just passing.

Ok, I go need you to teach me......as you can see, I said I no sabi write or speak self...........

l Think She Did Misplaced Quoting

Posted: at 27-09-2010 08:08 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- pmudias123 at 27-09-2010 08:20 PM (13 years ago)
This has been a subject of concern to me for a while.....so I just can't help but put in my own "two cent" in the subject.
First, its sad that even a Liberian guy has the guts to say something too, thanks to the other poster who corrected him. I live in the USA and the people with the meanest spoken English-from Africa-are Liberians.
Now, though it has been pointed out, the original poster could not even write correctly.
Also, I think we're experience a generational decline. More and more students have become complacent with their studies
The internet is not helping as such, unless of course you make it help you. People post stuff and use such spellings  as "ur sebi,abi,deir,cm,the list is endless. In the use of English language, code switching may be welcomed, but an outright code mixing as in pidgin English could be demeaning to the writer.

I'll tell you right a way, I'm a pretty good writer, but do I make mistakes? you bet I do. However, some mistakes are scandalous.

get this right, accent is not the same as bad grammar, so when you talk about Indians and others in Japan, its a little different. I sure would not hold you responsible for bad English usage just because you speak with an accent. So the age long lie that, English is not my mother tongue is indeed, outdated.

How can we solve this problem? I do not think its within any of us here to pontificate on that subject. It all goes back to the government to reshape our school system. I must add that, it is true that folks do murder the language in Nigeria, its sad but a pathetic truth. As far as this forum is concern, please and please, its not that hard, read your post over again, spell check before you post. Once again, it all goes down to individual laziness.
Posted: at 27-09-2010 08:20 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- donkray at 28-09-2010 12:21 AM (13 years ago)
ARE U ALSO A NIGERIAN GRADUATE?
Posted: at 28-09-2010 12:21 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- moniconyez at 28-09-2010 10:03 AM (13 years ago)
WHO?
Posted: at 28-09-2010 10:03 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- eomo at 28-09-2010 10:33 AM (13 years ago)
Na true you talk jor. Person wey dey complain say some people wey finish university no sabi speak english she dey put apostrophe ('s) for her graduates. Madam Oyin, make you kia kia remove the big wood wey dey your own eyes first before you dey talk about the small thing wey dey another man own.
Posted: at 28-09-2010 10:33 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adikpe at 28-09-2010 11:07 AM (13 years ago)

Okay, if you said so, why is it that English Language is compulsory for
all Nigerian institutions (from primary to tertiary)? With that mentality,
we won't go anywhere with the way some of us express ourselves
in English Language.
Posted: at 28-09-2010 11:07 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- oyindabty at 28-09-2010 11:13 AM (13 years ago)

y did you think so
Posted: at 28-09-2010 11:13 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7