Imo State Suspends Broadcaster,Ottih Vivian For Complaining Of Non-payment Of Salaries (Photos)

Date: 16-05-2020 9:43 am (3 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 16-05-2020 09:43 AM (3 years ago)

The Imo State Government has queried a senior editor with the Imo Broadcasting Corporation, Mrs Ottih Vivian, for complaining of non-payment of her salaries and that of her colleagues.

Ottih, a lawyer, had on May 4 in a Facebook post pleaded publicly to the state government to pay her colleagues and herself their over three months salaries.

"Nwamkpa Modestus (Uzodinma's SSA) my dearest brother, from the blood and water we share as brother and sister, and as colleague in the journalism profession, you are the closest officer of His Excellency, the Executive Governor of Imo State, Chief Hope Uzodinma (Onwa Oyoko) to me.

“Please my brother, help me inform our humble and performing governor that the entire staff of the only electronic media establishment owned by the state Imo Broadcasting Corporation, the famous Orient FM and Television have not received salaries for the month of February, March and April.

"It could be that His Excellency is not aware of this ugly situation. My brother and colleague, the worst of the whole scenario is that, I your sister, who just put to bed barely three weeks now, is languishing in hunger, lack among others.

"During the COVID-19 lockdown era, IBC staff were never found wanting on their duty post doing what they know how best to do on empty stomach and starvation.

"From my omugwo domain, I learnt that many have fallen sick without any kobo to seek medical services. The situation is as bad as that. Let me stop here so far as we wait for a fast positive response and reaction from His Excellency.”

But in a letter dated May 8 and signed by one Osuchukwu S.O for the Acting Director-General of IBC, the government said Ottih’s action was ridiculous with the sole aim of sabotaging the government.

The letter reads, “I am directed to issue a query to you for granting a press conference without approval from the government (being a public servant) where you informed the world that government was unable to pay your salaries.

“I am also directed to let you know that this attitude caused serious embarrassment to the Imo State Government, thereby ridiculing the government in the eyes of the public with the sole aim of sabotaging the government.

“Therefore, based on the above, I am directed to ask you to explain within 24 hours on receipt of this letter why disciplinary action should not be taken against you for ridiculing and sabotaging the government.”

A letter of suspension was later sent to her, suspending her indefinitely.

Posted: at 16-05-2020 09:43 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mirolam at 16-05-2020 09:54 AM (3 years ago)
This government is a joke. So you have no right to speak up when you’re being mistreated. Even bible say to pay every man his wages. What a useless governor. Uzodinma or whatever he calls himself must be stupid!
Posted: at 16-05-2020 09:54 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- fernande13 at 16-05-2020 10:24 AM (3 years ago)
The government has already ridiculed itself by not paying salaries of workers for over 3 months and do you expect these workers to keep quiet or be happy over such ridiculous actions of yours.. And the government have the guts to petition this lady for speaking out, I now know for sure that citizens have no say in that shit hole country as named by Trump....
Posted: at 16-05-2020 10:24 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- SweetDaddy1 at 16-05-2020 12:43 PM (3 years ago)
So you suspend a staff for complaining of non payment of salaries, in a country where judges, law makers are given SUV vehicles as gifts. Nigeria is really a FAILED STATE.
Posted: at 16-05-2020 12:43 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vicky987 at 16-05-2020 01:21 PM (3 years ago)
There's no democracy in Nigeria. Nothing like human rights. 
Posted: at 16-05-2020 01:21 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- dopygenius at 16-05-2020 02:47 PM (3 years ago)
Like seriously you fools are giving her a query for complaining over non payment of salary, but the same governor bought SUVs for so called judges wey don already get money...Well imo state people didn't vote for u,so u can do as u like,u are on power,but just know noting,not even ur governorship post will last forever.... Rubbish
Posted: at 16-05-2020 02:47 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mirolam at 16-05-2020 03:16 PM (3 years ago)
Now I see why Russia and world power say Nigeria is great but their problem are their leaders.
Posted: at 16-05-2020 03:16 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- crusita at 16-05-2020 05:00 PM (3 years ago)
The leaders are the idot .
Posted: at 16-05-2020 05:00 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nemacris at 16-05-2020 10:42 PM (3 years ago)
Uzodima is a disappointment.imagin that lady his is wife or sister.
Posted: at 16-05-2020 10:42 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie

1. Wives Of Osun State Gov Adeleke Battle For Position Of 1st Lady As Nigeria's 1st Lady Visits

2. Female Student Who Assaulted Namtira Bwala at Lead British School Apologises For Her Action

3. I Am Not In EFCC Custody - APC Gov. Aspirant, Akinterinwa Denies Being Detained By EFCC

4. VIDEO: Carter Efe Calls Out Sydney Talker Over Singer, Khaid’s Health Status

5. Davido’s Manager, Asika Speaks On why Davido is Yet to Collaborate With Wizkid, Burna Boy

6. Rita Edochie Throws Shade As She Celebrates May Edochie On Her Double Achievement

7. NAFDAC Uncover Illegal Activities Of Fake Cosmetics Producer In Lagos

8. Reno Omokri Reacts To Abuja Chinese Supermarket 'Racist', Demands Wike's Action

9. Niger: Gov Bago Dragged For Spraying Naira Notes At Citizens

10. Owner Of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Denies Barring Nigerians

11. BULLYING: Lead British School, Abuja Releases Public Statement

12. Singer, Simi Reveals How She Wrote & Sang Her Hit Song, ‘Joromi’ With Irritation

13. OAP Do2dtun Reacts To Viral Bullying Videos, Calls Out Secondary School Bullies

14. Police Deploy Officers to Investigate Bullying at Leads British International School

15. Abuja Court Fails To Hear EFCC Suit Against Order Restraining Yahaya Bello’s Arrest

16. Police Seek Family Of Missing Child Found Wandering In Osogbo

17. Amotekun Arrests Man Who Cons Hospital Patients, Flees With Money Meant For Tests, Treatment

18. "Why I Do Not Promote Nudity In My Skits" – Popular Skit Maker, Layi Wasabi

19. Dana Air Plane Veered Off The Runaway While Landing In Lagos

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office