12 Nigerians may face death penalty in Benin Republic

Date: 24-09-2010 6:35 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 11
- at 24-09-2010 06:35 PM (13 years ago)

Twelve suspects of Nigerian origin, who robbed some bureau de change operators at Krake village, Seme Podge, in Republic of Benin, might get the death penalty.

The Controller General of police in Benin, Celestine Guidimey, who revealed this to PUNCH METRO said that some Beninese were killed during the robbery operation. “In my country, if anybody kills during or after a robbery operation, what he would get from the court.is the death penalty.”

Guidimey was in Lagos State to receive the robbers from the Lagos State police command. Policemen in the state apprehended the robbers in Nigeria after the operation in Benin Republic.

He told PUNCH METRO that the Beninese police would conduct further investigation to get those who collaborated with the suspects in Benin and then charged them to court.

“Our investigations will not take more than a month. We know that there are some of our citizens that aided the successful robbery operation. We hope to get them and charge them alongside their Nigerian collaborators. Anybody we find not guilty among the suspect here will be allowed to go. After that, they will be punished according to their role in the crime. But we are confident that those who robbed and killed our people will get the death penalty,” he said.

The police commissioner in Lagos State, Marvel Akpoyibo, said that the arrest and handing over of the suspected robbers showed that the police are the same everywhere. He added, “Lagos State policemen are not bothered that they are serving their punishment in Benin because that is where the crime took place,” he said.

The gang that told PUNCH METRO last week that they found the trade too lucrative to abandon it, landed in police net shortly after the raid on the bureau de change in Benin Republic.

They were arrested by the police in Lagos State after they had safely slipped into Nigeria following a robbery operation in Benin Republic.

Akpoyibo had said he had ordered all the routes leading from Benin Republic to Lagos be sealed up upon hearing of the robbery. He said, “I also deployed a combined team of operatives from Police Mobile Force, Anti-Terrorist Squad and the Marine police to provide reinforcement and back up for the policemen in Seme and Badagry divisions.

“They abandoned their jeep with registration number Lagos VC 01 MUS and escaped into the forest. We immediately cordoned off the forest for three days between August 31 and September 1. At the end, we got these 8 suspects.

“In addition, four AK 47 rifles, 99 live ammunition, N504, 430, and 1, 673, 000 CFA suspected to have been stolen from victims during the robbery operation were recovered.”

Posted: at 24-09-2010 06:35 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Pepesy at 24-09-2010 06:40 PM (13 years ago)
their cup don full God don catch dem.
Posted: at 24-09-2010 06:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OPABISI at 24-09-2010 07:04 PM (13 years ago)
As said in the word of GOD, that no sinner we go unpunnished,if there is another penalty that is beyound dealth i think they should face it.Kudus to all police men that get them arrested,i pray God we give you more strenght to catch others.If you're part of them you better change before it move to your turn.

I THANK GOD FOR THESE
Posted: at 24-09-2010 07:04 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sixtyhoney at 24-09-2010 07:13 PM (13 years ago)
mmmm no comment
Posted: at 24-09-2010 07:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- olu4king at 24-09-2010 07:39 PM (13 years ago)
I live in a state that kills like s.... but I don`t support the death penalty even though some people deserves it... 4give me heavens.
Posted: at 24-09-2010 07:39 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bafyguy at 24-09-2010 07:58 PM (13 years ago)
Every day for the thief, one day for the owner
Posted: at 24-09-2010 07:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nice9ija at 24-09-2010 08:27 PM (13 years ago)
you sure say no be hunger dey worry this guys
Posted: at 24-09-2010 08:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sixtyhoney at 24-09-2010 09:00 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: nice9ija on 24-09-2010 08:27 PM
me even day think the same thing too,cause i see no reason why normal person go dey happy to day thief.make them forgive this guy's abeg
Posted: at 24-09-2010 09:00 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ceenod at 24-09-2010 09:03 PM (13 years ago)
d evil dat men do live after dem..

Posted: at 24-09-2010 09:03 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- longword at 24-09-2010 09:42 PM (13 years ago)
tyme to sow and tyme to reap if there offence whot execution then so shall it be Smiley Wink
Posted: at 24-09-2010 09:42 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onyinyenaija at 24-09-2010 09:52 PM (13 years ago)
What ever seed a man soweth that he shall reap... says the Holy Bible, the soul that sinneth shall die... it is appointed unto man to die once after death judgment follows...children of God should seek blessing from God, for blessings of God causeth riches and addeth no sorrow...this is the kind of blessing i received .... what about you?
Posted: at 24-09-2010 09:52 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Librabilex at 24-09-2010 09:53 PM (13 years ago)
he that lives by sword shall surely die by sword...
Posted: at 24-09-2010 09:53 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nice9ija at 24-09-2010 11:55 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sixtyhoney on 24-09-2010 09:00 PM
Quote from: nice9ija on 24-09-2010 08:27 PM
me even day think the same thing too,cause i see no reason why normal person go dey happy to day thief.make them forgive this guy's abeg

sure, see as all of them look nah
Posted: at 24-09-2010 11:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- babygirlonline at 25-09-2010 12:19 AM (13 years ago)
THEIR CUP DON FULL MY DEAR,THANK GOD ,THEY WILL REAP WHAT THEY SOW
Posted: at 25-09-2010 12:19 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- cuzko at 25-09-2010 01:08 AM (13 years ago)
if they kill then no wahala they too must  yanmutu  shikenan case don close...
WHAT IS WRONG WITH NIJA PPL? AHH AHHH !!! no where is safe from we bah? not even anoda country?
Posted: at 25-09-2010 01:08 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- cuzko at 25-09-2010 01:10 AM (13 years ago)
 Roll Eyes ::)if they kill then no wahala they too must  yanmutu  shikenan case don close...
WHAT IS WRONG WITH NIJA PPL? AHH AHHH !!! no where is safe from we bah? not even anoda country? Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 25-09-2010 01:10 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mydicksweet at 25-09-2010 05:42 AM (13 years ago)
See as dem even look like animals Disgusting
Posted: at 25-09-2010 05:42 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- kayfem at 25-09-2010 07:08 AM (13 years ago)
May God forgive them and may there soul rest in peace. make them kill them ni oo make dem no return come dey disturb our area again oooo
Posted: at 25-09-2010 07:08 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 25-09-2010 07:46 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bafyguy on 24-09-2010 07:58 PM
Every day for the thief, one day for the owner

o yes
Posted: at 25-09-2010 07:46 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- mezkaz18 at 25-09-2010 07:55 AM (13 years ago)
No need to kill dem, Na hunger.  See as dem be, make they find the person wey sponsor them. Huh? abi Huh?
Posted: at 25-09-2010 07:55 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 11