CONTINUE WITH THE MARRIAGE OR WHAT?????????

Date: 25-09-2010 9:27 pm (13 years ago) | Author: lynn
- at 25-09-2010 09:27 PM (13 years ago)
I HAVE TAKEN MY TIME 2 GO TRU A FRIENDS PERSONAL PROBLEM BUT AS IT IS NOW AM CONFUSED!
SHE  GOT MARRIED SHORTLY AFTER HER SECONDRY EDUCATION.SHE IS ON HER TWENTIES,LIFE LOOKED
GOOD UNTILL SHE WAS PRONOUNCED MARRIED WOMAN.SHE GOT SO MUCH PRESSURE FROM HER FAMILY 2
GET MARRIED WHICH SHE DID COS MANY MEN WERE ASKING OF HER HAND IN MARRIAGE.
  FINALLY SHE ACCEPTED BUT SOMEHOW SHE KNEW LIL ABOUT LIFE.NOW SHE HAS TWO KIDS IN HER MARRIGE
BUT STILL HAVE PROBLEM WITH MEN.
 IT ALL STARTED JULY 2009,SHE CALLED ME 2 SAY THAT SHE WAS TIRED OF THE MARRIAGE AND I WAS LAUGHING
THINKING SHE WAS JOKING THEN SHE STARTED 2 CRY.ACCORDING 2 HER SHE LOVES HER HUSBAND AS AN AVERAGE
PERSON BUT HE WAS ALWAYS INSECURED.SHE CONTINUED BY GOING INTO DETAILS HOW VIOLENT HE WAS,SHE WAS ALWAYS
AFRAID 2 DISCUSS ANY MATTER WITH HIM COS THEY NEVER AGREE AND HER OPINIONS NEVER COUNT.EACH TIME HE IS ANGRY HE DISTROYS ANYTHING AROUND EVEN IF IS VERY EXPENSIVE,HE'S TEMPRAMENTAL IN A WAY THAT IS BEYOUND HER CONTROL
AND THE KIDS KNOW EVERYTHING.HE IS ALSO CARING TO HIS CHILDREN ESPECIALLY WHEN HE IS HAPPY.BUT SHE HAS NO RIGHT,CAN'T DRESS LIKE A YOUNG WOMAN SHE IS,INFACT SHE IS NOT FREE IN ANY WAY.HE CONTROLS HER LIKE A CHILD FROM PHONE 2 WHERE SHE GOES TO.HER HUSBAND IS IN HIS FORTIES

WELL THE PROBLEM NOW IS SHE CAME ACROS HER OLD FRIEND ON FACEBOOK,HE STILL HAS INTREST IN HER&SHE HAS BEGAN 2 DEVELOPE FEELINGS FOR THIS GUY AGAIN JUST LIKE D OLD DAYS B4 MARRIAGE.

Posted: at 25-09-2010 09:27 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- misty120 at 25-09-2010 09:49 PM (13 years ago)
This is so deep and personal...This friend had nothing to be happy about until now...I believe she already have one foot out of the door for this marriage. She is in desperate need for someone to treat her differently and she has found it when this re connection on faceBook. Only Divine intervention can save this marriage, because with God all things are possible.
Posted: at 25-09-2010 09:49 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- do4sure at 25-09-2010 10:02 PM (13 years ago)
THE TRUTH IS THAT MARRIAGE IS MEANT FOR ADULTS & NOT KIDS.
MISTY HAS HIT THE NAIL ON THE HEAD,IT IS ONLY DIVINE INTERVENTION CAN SAVE THAT MARRIAGE FROM THE ROCKS. SHE RUSHED IN AND NOW SHE WILL LIKELY RUSH OUT.
Posted: at 25-09-2010 10:02 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyin at 25-09-2010 10:03 PM (13 years ago)
Haba.She is a married woman for crying out loud.Developin feelings for her old friend ,will do her no good.Now,she's married with kids.She needs to pray to God and concentrate on her marriage.I dont support divorce and will neva support divorce.and if she's thinking of divorce ,she needs to really think twice.The devil you know ,is better than the angel you dont know.If not for anything,just for the sake of her kids.Trust me, a broken home is the last thing  they need.Well ,sum married young ladies dress too much,more like they are still single.She can try work on that.And for her husband,she needs to stop arguging with him.Obey him and trust me he will change.And try not to let the kids know everything,sumtimes just tell them sumthin else.Sum men are worst than her husband ,but their wives turned to God for help.ITS A WOMAN WHO MAKES A HOME.And in a marriage,there should be no third party,its you and your spouse.Tht her old friend might want her for himself .And if she dont let her past feelings for him die,he will cause a whole lots of damage.Only God knowns the heart of everyman.
Posted: at 25-09-2010 10:03 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- do4sure at 25-09-2010 10:29 PM (13 years ago)
ONYII YOU'VE TALKED LIKE A BIG SISTER BUT AS MISTY RIGHTLY SAID,IT IS ONLY GOD'S INTERVENTION THAT WILL SAVE THAT MARRIAGE. WITH THE LITTLE EXPOSURE SHE NEWLY ACQUIRE IT HAS BECOME MORE DIFFICULT FOR HER TO CONTINUE MANAGING THE MARRIAGE.PERSONALLY, I HATE DIVORCE BUT JUDGING THE STORY BEFORE US,DIVORCE IS INEVITABLE.
Posted: at 25-09-2010 10:29 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lynnclassic at 25-09-2010 10:35 PM (13 years ago)
onyin i think u are making sense here,2heads r better than one.
is also GODS intervention that one needs in time of crises like this sad one.
Posted: at 25-09-2010 10:35 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nuelalivy at 25-09-2010 11:16 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: lynnclassic on 25-09-2010 09:27 PM
I HAVE TAKEN MY TIME 2 GO TRU A FRIENDS PERSONAL PROBLEM BUT AS IT IS NOW AM CONFUSED!
SHE  GOT MARRIED SHORTLY AFTER HER SECONDRY EDUCATION.SHE IS ON HER TWENTIES,LIFE LOOKED
GOOD UNTILL SHE WAS PRONOUNCED MARRIED WOMAN.SHE GOT SO MUCH PRESSURE FROM HER FAMILY 2
GET MARRIED WHICH SHE DID COS MANY MEN WERE ASKING OF HER HAND IN MARRIAGE.
  FINALLY SHE ACCEPTED BUT SOMEHOW SHE KNEW LIL ABOUT LIFE.NOW SHE HAS TWO KIDS IN HER MARRIGE
BUT STILL HAVE PROBLEM WITH MEN.
 IT ALL STARTED JULY 2009,SHE CALLED ME 2 SAY THAT SHE WAS TIRED OF THE MARRIAGE AND I WAS LAUGHING
THINKING SHE WAS JOKING THEN SHE STARTED 2 CRY.ACCORDING 2 HER SHE LOVES HER HUSBAND AS AN AVERAGE
PERSON BUT HE WAS ALWAYS INSECURED.SHE CONTINUED BY GOING INTO DETAILS HOW VIOLENT HE WAS,SHE WAS ALWAYS
AFRAID 2 DISCUSS ANY MATTER WITH HIM COS THEY NEVER AGREE AND HER OPINIONS NEVER COUNT.EACH TIME HE IS ANGRY HE DISTROYS ANYTHING AROUND EVEN IF IS VERY EXPENSIVE,HE'S TEMPRAMENTAL IN A WAY THAT IS BEYOUND HER CONTROL
AND THE KIDS KNOW EVERYTHING.HE IS ALSO CARING TO HIS CHILDREN ESPECIALLY WHEN HE IS HAPPY.BUT SHE HAS NO RIGHT,CAN'T DRESS LIKE A YOUNG WOMAN SHE IS,INFACT SHE IS NOT FREE IN ANY WAY.HE CONTROLS HER LIKE A CHILD FROM PHONE 2 WHERE SHE GOES TO.HER HUSBAND IS IN HIS FORTIES

WELL THE PROBLEM NOW IS SHE CAME ACROS HER OLD FRIEND ON FACEBOOK,HE STILL HAS INTREST IN HER&SHE HAS BEGAN 2 DEVELOPE FEELINGS FOR THIS GUY AGAIN JUST LIKE D OLD DAYS B4 MARRIAGE.
Posted: at 25-09-2010 11:16 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- thom at 26-09-2010 12:13 AM (13 years ago)
I just hope her family are watching what is going on, they pushed her into marriage because men were asking of her hand in marriage; now she is going through hell dealing with someone she never knew his character right from the word go. This kind of a thing pisses me off. The marriage is rocking however, but she should help calm it by praying fervently. She should forget about any face book friend and focus her mind on God, i believe there will be a change, a better change in her matrimonial home.
Posted: at 26-09-2010 12:13 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- tyabo at 26-09-2010 02:19 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onyin on 25-09-2010 10:03 PM
Haba.She is a married woman for crying out loud.Developin feelings for her old friend ,will do her no good.Now,she's married with kids.She needs to pray to God and concentrate on her marriage.I dont support divorce and will neva support divorce.and if she's thinking of divorce ,she needs to really think twice.The devil you know ,is better than the angel you dont know.If not for anything,just for the sake of her kids.Trust me, a broken home is the last thing  they need.Well ,sum married young ladies dress too much,more like they are still single.She can try work on that.And for her husband,she needs to stop arguging with him.Obey him and trust me he will change.And try not to let the kids know everything,sumtimes just tell them sumthin else.Sum men are worst than her husband ,but their wives turned to God for help.ITS A WOMAN WHO MAKES A HOME.And in a marriage,there should be no third party,its you and your spouse.Tht her old friend might want her for himself .And if she dont let her past feelings for him die,he will cause a whole lots of damage.Only God knowns the heart of everyman.
Onyin i lyk d way u comment on dz trend wen it come's 2 rlationship or husband nd wife matter..honestly i neva xpected dat frm u..cuz most 9ja gurlz 1's dey leave d offshore of our country dey tend 2 start misbehaving trying 2 copy d whiteman's life style, dumping our moral value 4 an impetuous life style... 2 b sincere am proud of u as a nigerian..kip it up
Posted: at 26-09-2010 02:19 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- urboy at 26-09-2010 03:03 AM (13 years ago)
funny...she is fallin for a dude on fb and she is wonderin y her man is insecure...
onyii...i dont blive in divorce,,bt wat would you advice your sister or friend that got into an abusive marriage that was not even based on love or her own free will or choice bt on pressure/interest of parents/ideas of others...?
Posted: at 26-09-2010 03:03 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- DiannaB at 26-09-2010 04:45 AM (13 years ago)
Haba.She is a married woman for crying out loud.Developin feelings for her old friend ,will do her no good.Now,she's married with kids.She needs to pray to God and concentrate on her marriage.I dont support divorce and will neva support divorce.and if she's thinking of divorce ,she needs to really think twice.The devil you know ,is better than the angel you dont know.If not for anything,just for the sake of her kids.Trust me, a broken home is the last thing  they need.Well ,sum married young ladies dress too much,more like they are still single.She can try work on that.And for her husband,she needs to stop arguging with him.Obey him and trust me he will change.And try not to let the kids know everything,sumtimes just tell them sumthin else.Sum men are worst than her husband ,but their wives turned to God for help.ITS A WOMAN WHO MAKES A HOME.And in a marriage,there should be no third party,its you and your spouse.Tht her old friend might want her for himself.And if she dont let her past feelings for him die,he will cause a whole lots of damage.Only God knowns the heart of everyman.[/color]

NORMALLY I WOULD AGREE WITH MOST OF YOUR REPLY S BUT IN THIS CASE, YOU CAN NEVER, ITS NOT HEALTHY BEING WITH SOMEONE  THAT S DOMINEERING SHE RUSHED INTO THIS MARRIAGE NOT BECAUSE SHE WANTED IT BUT BECAUSE SHE WAS PRESSURED INTO IT MY HER PARENTS IF SHE STAYS WITH HIM AND LET HIM TAKE WHAT LITTLE CONTROL SHE HAS LEFT, SHE WILL LOOSE HERSELF COMPLETELY, I KNOW SHE HAS KIDS BUT WHAT KIND OF EXAMPLE IS SHE SETTING FOR THEM, WHAT GOOD CAN SHE BE TO THEM,
SHE'S SACRIFICING HER HAPPINESS FOR SOMEONE WHO IS INSECURE AND WILL NEVER BE CONTENTED WITH A GOOD WOMAN, AND BECAUSE OF SOCIALISTIC VIEWS AND THE SAD THING IS SHE CAN NEVER CHANGE HIM IF HE'S NOT WILLING TO CHANGE, I'M NOT SAYING SHE SHOULD DIVORCE HIM, HE NEEDS TO REALIZE WHAT HE LOOSING .
GETTING INVOLVED WITH AN OLD OR NEW FRIEND WILL ONLY LEAD TO MORE CONFUSION ,SHE NEEDS TO TAKE THE TIME TO BREATH AND FIND HERSELF SO SHE CAN BE A GOOD MOTHER TO HER CHILDREN
Posted: at 26-09-2010 04:45 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onyin at 26-09-2010 05:18 AM (13 years ago)
@Urboy.I will advice her or them to be a "VIRTUOUS WOMAN OR WOMEN".A virtuous woman is a wife of noble.HER PRICE IS FAR ABOVE RUBIES.She is content and happy .SHE IS NOT AFRAID TO BE DIFFERENT AND LIVE DIFFERENT LIFESTYLE.She looks well for her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.And cares well for her husband and children.SHE IS WISE COS SHE SEEKS WISDOM FROM GOD AND NOT FROM THIS EVIL WORLD.She lives her life for the Lord ,loves the Lord ,and does everything to the glory of God.Everywoman can be a virtuous woman(PERFECT) only through Jesus.COS WITH GOD ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE.One day ,we will all perish.And we will all be nake again,cos no one is taking anything out from this world.Those fine houses,cloths,shoes,diamond,etc are all earthly things ,tht will neva last forever.   
                           But God's blessings is forever.I believe most women who endure such sad marriages are "HEROES" ,AND THEIR REWARD IS IN HEAVEN.Our ancestors(the female) are all true definition of mothers.They kept their homes and made their homes.To them ,its was like a career.Remmember in the olden days,it was parents who decide for their kids.Unlike now,where people decide for themselves.These mothers(ANCESTORS) went through hell,real hell.Men were far than worst then,but still they neva divorced.Tht does not make them less wise.But how come the divorce rate is so high now?.The minute one thing goes wrong,people want out.No one is ready to tolerate or endure.With the freedom to choose,sum still get things wrong.Everymarriage do have their ups and downs.And love fades,and then you start finding an outsider attractive ,and its normal.Cos tht's temptation for you,the devil wants to destory your home.But its upto you to fight him wit prayers,and take control of your home.
Posted: at 26-09-2010 05:18 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onyin at 26-09-2010 05:35 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: DiannaB on 26-09-2010 04:45 AM
Haba.She is a married woman for crying out loud.Developin feelings for her old friend ,will do her no good.Now,she's married with kids.She needs to pray to God and concentrate on her marriage.I dont support divorce and will neva support divorce.and if she's thinking of divorce ,she needs to really think twice.The devil you know ,is better than the angel you dont know.If not for anything,just for the sake of her kids.Trust me, a broken home is the last thing  they need.Well ,sum married young ladies dress too much,more like they are still single.She can try work on that.And for her husband,she needs to stop arguging with him.Obey him and trust me he will change.And try not to let the kids know everything,sumtimes just tell them sumthin else.Sum men are worst than her husband ,but their wives turned to God for help.ITS A WOMAN WHO MAKES A HOME.And in a marriage,there should be no third party,its you and your spouse.Tht her old friend might want her for himself.And if she dont let her past feelings for him die,he will cause a whole lots of damage.Only God knowns the heart of everyman.[/color]

NORMALLY I WOULD AGREE WITH MOST OF YOUR REPLY S BUT IN THIS CASE, YOU CAN NEVER, ITS NOT HEALTHY BEING WITH SOMEONE  THAT S DOMINEERING SHE RUSHED INTO THIS MARRIAGE NOT BECAUSE SHE WANTED IT BUT BECAUSE SHE WAS PRESSURED INTO IT MY HER PARENTS IF SHE STAYS WITH HIM AND LET HIM TAKE WHAT LITTLE CONTROL SHE HAS LEFT, SHE WILL LOOSE HERSELF COMPLETELY, I KNOW SHE HAS KIDS BUT WHAT KIND OF EXAMPLE IS SHE SETTING FOR THEM, WHAT GOOD CAN SHE BE TO THEM,
SHE'S SACRIFICING HER HAPPINESS FOR SOMEONE WHO IS INSECURE AND WILL NEVER BE CONTENTED WITH A GOOD WOMAN, AND BECAUSE OF SOCIALISTIC VIEWS AND THE SAD THING IS SHE CAN NEVER CHANGE HIM IF HE'S NOT WILLING TO CHANGE, I'M NOT SAYING SHE SHOULD DIVORCE HIM, HE NEEDS TO REALIZE WHAT HE LOOSING .
GETTING INVOLVED WITH AN OLD OR NEW FRIEND WILL ONLY LEAD TO MORE CONFUSION ,SHE NEEDS TO TAKE THE TIME TO BREATH AND FIND HERSELF SO SHE CAN BE A GOOD MOTHER TO HER CHILDREN

I dont do thing cos the society says so.But becos I feel its right and I can find peace with myself.I dont follow crowds ,cos I have a mind of my own.She's not even thinking about her kids but about herself first.Cos a woman in such situation who really wants the best for her kids,wont start looking outside or developing feelings for any man..But I just feel she can fix things herself.All she needs now is to pray,and with that he will change
Posted: at 26-09-2010 05:35 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- DiannaB at 26-09-2010 06:11 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onyin on 26-09-2010 05:35 AM
Quote from: DiannaB on 26-09-2010 04:45 AM

I dont do thing cos the society says so.But becos I feel its right and I can find peace with myself.I dont follow crowds ,cos I have a mind of my own.She's not even thinking about her kids but about herself first.Cos a woman in such situation who really wants the best for her kids,wont start looking outside or developing feelings for any man..But I just feel she can fix things herself.All she needs now is to pray,and with that he will change

BEING SUBMISSIVE AND OBEYING ARE TWO DIFFERENT THING WHEN SOMEONE CONTROLS YOUR EVERY MOVE  WHAT TO DO AND WHEN AND HOW TO DO IT EVENTUALLY NOT EVEN HER KIDS WILL MEAN ANYTHING TO HER  ON THE OUTSIDE YOU LIVE THIS FACADE OF THE PERFECT FAMILY BUT ON THE INSIDE IT'S THE TOTAL OPPOSITE THAT KIND OF LIFE IS NOT HEALTHY FOR EITHER A MAN OR A WOMAN WHO FINDS THEMSELVES IN THAT SITUATION.

THAT GUY ON FACEBOOK IS TELLING HER ALL THE THINGS HER HUSBAND IS NOT AND IN HER MIND HE'S HER ESCAPE FROM ALL THE PROBLEM SHE HAVING IN HER HOME AS I SAID SHE DON'T NEED TO TAKE THAT ROUTE
IF HE'S BEING ABUSIVE SHE DON'T NEED TO STAY THERE NOT EVEN FOR THE KIDS SHE NEEDS TO TAKE THEM A LEAVE THEY WILL GROW UP AND  THINK IT'S  AN O.K BEHAVIOR BECAUSE IT'S THE ONLY WAY THEY KNOW

A FEW DAYS AGO A FEATURE WAS ON 20/20 WHERE THE FATHER HAD 1 SON VIDEO TAPE WHILE HE AND THE OTHER BEAT THE SHIT OUT OF THE WOMAN THAT WAS JUST ONE OF THE MANY WAYS HE ABUSED HER, SHE EVENTUALLY GOT OUT AND  EVENTUALLY GOT HELP AND HAD HIM ARRESTED BUT HER CHILDREN STARTED RESENTING HER FOR BREAKING UP THEIR HOME THEY ARE NOW GETTING COUNSELING,NOT EVERY STORY HAS A HAPPY ENDING SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO KNOW WHEN TO THROW IN THE TOWEL AND CALL IT A DAY
Posted: at 26-09-2010 06:11 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bittersweet at 26-09-2010 06:44 AM (13 years ago)
Hmmmmm!
Complicated situation!
Maybe she should divorce him,if the things are really as she said!
This life is too short for living it that way!
When there are problems in a marriage, they can be solved as long as both of them are working on those problems,
but when there is abusive behavior,I don't see why a woman should tolerate such a man!

Posted: at 26-09-2010 06:44 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 26-09-2010 06:54 AM (13 years ago)
P.S. :If the things started to seem worse to her after she came across her old boyfriend's profile,
      then may be another story!
      May God guide her well,before doing something which she may regret for the rest of her life!

Posted: at 26-09-2010 06:54 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- lynnclassic at 26-09-2010 08:30 AM (13 years ago)
i can see diff pple with diff ideas,is even more complicated than i thought  base
on pples opinios here,hmmm am an igbo lady and divorce is like a taboo in my place.
and i have noticed alot of igbo women suffer alot in their marriages cos if they get out
of the marriage their reputation is distroyed and they may never get married again.imagin pple
seeing u as d woman that was thrown out of her husbands house without knowing the tru situation
in the marriage.so i think she should stay but 4 how long will she suffer this abuse 4rom her hus.
considering the fact that she have kids what will they live 4.if she is on her twenties fustration will kill
her b4 she enters 30.will she do this all her life.cos if d husband believe he is an african man with culture!
he can get another wife anytime he wants and her can make her life misrable by showing her that he is a
man that knows where he came from,how will this poor girl survive one day happiness and six days sadness.GOD HAVE MERCY
Posted: at 26-09-2010 08:30 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bittersweet at 26-09-2010 08:41 AM (13 years ago)
Hmmmm!
That complicates her situation even more!
I'm just wondering, she could choose her husband,or her family forced her to marry that guy?

Posted: at 26-09-2010 08:41 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onyin at 26-09-2010 09:25 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: lynnclassic on 26-09-2010 08:30 AM
i can see diff pple with diff ideas,is even more complicated than i thought  base
on pples opinios here,hmmm am an igbo lady and divorce is like a taboo in my place.
and i have noticed alot of igbo women suffer alot in their marriages cos if they get out
of the marriage their reputation is distroyed and they may never get married again.imagin pple
seeing u as d woman that was thrown out of her husbands house without knowing the tru situation
in the marriage.so i think she should stay but 4 how long will she suffer this abuse 4rom her hus.
considering the fact that she have kids what will they live 4.if she is on her twenties fustration will kill
her b4 she enters 30.will she do this all her life.cos if d husband believe he is an african man with culture!
he can get another wife anytime he wants and her can make her life misrable by showing her that he is a
man that knows where he came from,how will this poor girl survive one day happiness and six days sadness.GOD HAVE MERCY
Those kids will turn out good,trust me.I understand your point,an abuse is a very bad thing.When I was a lil girl and my parent used to quarrell alot ,I allys get angry at my mom for not leaving.My mom's parent tried so many times to make her leave and come back home,but she refused.But today,I understand why she had to do wat she did.Today,she's a HERO,A BRAVE WOMAN to her kids and her husband.Even though there were so many men who wanted to remarry her again,but she refused.One day I asked her a question "why dont you leave and get married again".She smiled and said "cos I have the most beautiful and lovely kids.You are all my husbands and my business ,wat else do I need another man for".My mum got married  very early  .But she turned to God for help.She made church her home,she went closer to God,to find please and to seek wisdom.Your friend's kids will grow up and be PROUD of their mom.She will be called SWEET MOTHER,a mother who loved them endlessly.Forget society ,her problem should be the kids.Cos they need her more at this time.You should pray for her aswell.
Posted: at 26-09-2010 09:25 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- nicestobi at 26-09-2010 09:33 AM (13 years ago)
just peeping
Posted: at 26-09-2010 09:33 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac