MEND APOLOGISES...WTF

Date: 03-10-2010 11:15 am (13 years ago) | Author: TYABO
- at 3-10-2010 11:15 AM (13 years ago)
by nigeriansfornigeria.org on Sunday, October 3, 2010 at 5:33pm

The Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND) has apologised for causing the death of many people in the explosions which rocked the Federal capital yesterday. In an email sent to journalists a moment ago, Jomo Gbomo, the spokesperson of the group, said the group "deeply regrets the avoidable loss of lives during our bomb attack in Abuja on Friday October 1, 2010. Our hearts go to the families of those killed who we know were sympathetic to our cause".

The group said the failure of security forces to heed a warning it had given five days before the attack is responsible for the deaths
"The irresponsible attitude of the government security forces is to blame for the loss of lives. They were given 5 days prior notice which led to the harassment of Henry Okah on Thursday, September 30 in South Africa."

It also claimed that an hour before the attack, security forces were reminded of the impending violence but failed to act. It said the email received by journalists a few minutes before the explosions was sent only after the one to security agents. "The security forces were also warned one full hour to the first bomb blast ahead of the general alert sent to the media and told to steer the public from all parked cars which was not done."

The group's claim of responsibility for the attacks is coming hours after President Goodluck Jonathan said they were not responsible and blamed the explosions on terrorists. Mr. Jonathan told an ECOWAS gathering in Abuja today that ``What happened yesterday was a terrorist act and MEND was just used as a straw; MEND is not a terrorist group".

"The Niger Delta people are aware of the government's noble efforts to assuage the suffering and deprivation in that region," the President said. "I am from the Niger Delta, my father's house is few metres from an oil-well, so nobody can claim to be a Niger Deltan than myself. It is erroneous to think that my people who have been agitating for good living will deliberately blow up the opportunity they have now".

In a related development, Henry Okah, an alleged leader of the militant group, was arrested by South African police today and is being questioned. On Thursday, Interpol forces raided Mr Okah's home in South Africa but no action was taken against him. It is not clear yet if he will be charged following his latest arrest.

However, the group has exonerated him of involvement in Friday's bombings that killed at least 12 people and injured tens of others. "Okah has never been involved in any MEND operations but has always been blamed for every attack which is strange to us," the group said.

By Ayo Okulaja
Culled from 234next.

Bomb blast pictures

Posted: at 3-10-2010 11:15 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tyabo at 3-10-2010 11:17 AM (13 years ago)
WHERE ARE THOSE FOOLS DAT WERE POINTING ACCUSING FINGERS TO BABANGIDA AND ATIKU ? very useless nd seneless tribalist...goshhh
Posted: at 3-10-2010 11:17 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- shaoyang at 3-10-2010 01:42 PM (13 years ago)
frame up.
Posted: at 3-10-2010 01:42 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tyabo at 3-10-2010 02:07 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: shaoyang on  3-10-2010 01:42 PM
frame up.
and wich frame up r u talkin about here Huh?
Posted: at 3-10-2010 02:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aliaaz at 3-10-2010 02:10 PM (13 years ago)
Lol. As if nor b dis same 9ja we for dey point finger 2 pple wey know notin, abeg make them go sit down jare.

Posted: at 3-10-2010 02:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aliaaz at 3-10-2010 02:12 PM (13 years ago)
Guys deres no such thing as frame up here and there is no such thing truth here. Tongue

Posted: at 3-10-2010 02:12 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- shaoyang at 3-10-2010 02:14 PM (13 years ago)
u of all peeps ought to know exactly what i'm talking baout
Free me jare. just as one of the ghetto musician called juglist
sing for him music sey OUR EYES DON CLEAR
Posted: at 3-10-2010 02:14 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Commonsense at 3-10-2010 02:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: tyabo on  3-10-2010 11:17 AM
WHERE ARE THOSE FOOLS DAT WERE POINTING ACCUSING FINGERS TO BABANGIDA AND ATIKU ? very useless nd seneless tribalist...goshhh
ol boy u no get sense, u no read the post well, abi u blind. u no no say MEND wan use this oppotunity claim say na dem do am. people wey get sense no say no be dem do am. MEND wan recognition. ewu
Posted: at 3-10-2010 02:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- prism at 3-10-2010 04:11 PM (13 years ago)
if MEND wan take responsibility 4 the then they re ready to face the beating of the music.bullshit!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 3-10-2010 04:11 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onyiis at 3-10-2010 05:57 PM (13 years ago)
whatever !!!

Posted: at 3-10-2010 05:57 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Morworth at 3-10-2010 06:19 PM (13 years ago)
MEND has always taken responsibility of every bombing in Nigeria, it not a new thing. At the end of the day nothing will come out of it.
Posted: at 3-10-2010 06:19 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sixtyhoney at 3-10-2010 06:34 PM (13 years ago)
mmmmmmmmmmmmm no comment jo
Posted: at 3-10-2010 06:34 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 3-10-2010 07:35 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: shaoyang on  3-10-2010 01:42 PM
frame up.
like you don,t even knows the meaning of frame-up , you better go and start an evening class lesson so , you this terrorist boy
Posted: at 3-10-2010 07:35 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 3-10-2010 07:41 PM (13 years ago)

how can a responsible peoples ever associates this wickedness to ibb or even atiku ? thats when the common sense is no more common
Posted: at 3-10-2010 07:41 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 3-10-2010 07:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Morworth on  3-10-2010 06:19 PM
MEND has always taken responsibility of every bombing in Nigeria, it not a new thing. At the end of the day nothing will come out of it.

if they have been geting it done and go scot free, this time around it will be very different , destablising a govt is as crime as trying to tople a govt , and no any responsible regime will actually take such very lightly
Posted: at 3-10-2010 07:45 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- nametalkam at 3-10-2010 08:47 PM (13 years ago)

The Movement for the Emancipation of the Niger Delta (MEND) has apologised for causing the death of many people in the explosions which rocked the Federal capital yesterday. In an email sent to journalists today, Jomo Gbomo, the spokesperson of the group, said the group "deeply regrets the avoidable loss of lives during our bomb attack in Abuja on Friday October 1, 2010. Our hearts go to the families of those killed who we know were sympathetic to our cause".

The group said the failure of security forces to heed a warning it had given five days before the attack is responsible for the deaths
"The irresponsible attitude of the government security forces is to blame for the loss of lives. They were given 5 days prior notice which led to the harassment of Henry Okah on Thursday, September 30 in South Africa."

It also claimed that an hour before the attack, security forces were reminded of the impending violence but failed to act. It said the email received by journalists a few minutes before the explosions was sent only after the one to security agents. "The security forces were also warned one full hour to the first bomb blast ahead of the general alert sent to the media and told to steer the public from all parked cars which was not done."

The group's claim of responsibility for the attacks is coming hours after President Goodluck Jonathan said they were not responsible and blamed the explosions on terrorists. Mr. Jonathan told an ECOWAS gathering in Abuja today that ``What happened yesterday was a terrorist act and MEND was just used as a straw; MEND is not a terrorist group".

"The Niger Delta people are aware of the government's noble efforts to assuage the suffering and deprivation in that region," the President said. "I am from the Niger Delta, my father's house is few metres from an oil-well, so nobody can claim to be a Niger Deltan than myself. It is erroneous to think that my people who have been agitating for good living will deliberately blow up the opportunity they have now".

In a related development, Henry Okah, an alleged leader of the militant group, was arrested by South African police today and is being questioned. On Thursday, Interpol forces raided Mr Okah's home in South Africa but no action was taken against him. It is not clear yet if he will be charged following his latest arrest.

However, the group has exonerated him of involvement in Friday's bombings that killed at least 12 people and injured tens of others. "Okah has never been involved in any MEND operations but has always been blamed for every attack which is strange to us," the group said.

Posted: at 3-10-2010 08:47 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ksurrina at 3-10-2010 09:54 PM (13 years ago)
The President is defending the group and the group is taking responsibilities for the bomb. Now Mr. President what can I say, did you put your mouth where you shouldn't? You are blaming terrorist as if there aren't disgruntle persons other ways from them living inside of Nigeria. MEND what you did was uncalled for but yet again Satan is using all he can to take the life he cannot give.

Posted: at 3-10-2010 09:54 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kennee at 3-10-2010 11:26 PM (13 years ago)
Ok, heard!

Now MEND has really Spoilt Things for Themselves due to the Wasted Innocent Lives

Posted: at 3-10-2010 11:26 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kennee at 3-10-2010 11:29 PM (13 years ago)

Wow! Yu're Really Takin it too Personal

Whatever Stance yu Take on dis, don't Blame people for Pointing Fingers, cos the Country needs 2 Move Forward and The Crooks dat Are Bent on Moving it more Backwards or Keeping it the Way it is should Back down and Allow Change 2 Occur

Posted: at 3-10-2010 11:29 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- tyabo at 4-10-2010 01:31 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Commonsense on  3-10-2010 02:15 PM
ol boy u no get sense, u no read the post well, abi u blind. u no no say MEND wan use this oppotunity claim say na dem do am. people wey get sense no say no be dem do am. MEND wan recognition. ewu

u r such a fool..dat u don't even know wot transpired..d so called MEND gave a warning five days b4 d event nd even gat d guts 2 say dat d operation was being carried out by dere pple in d security agencies..nd wich useless recognition r u talkin about huhh ? recognition of bad reputation..is dat wot u called recognition ? dude u berra wise up..cuz ur still a dumb local A*#S hu is lost nd doesn't know is way out..MEND always made dere threats nd do carry out dere threat..so WTF r u telln me here ?
Posted: at 4-10-2010 01:31 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

2. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

3. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

4. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

5. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

6. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

7. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

8. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

9. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

10. Viral Asoebi Lady, Olivia Emmanuel Releases Over 20 Numbers of Men Sliding in Her DM

11. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

12. Abeg Free Our Mommy of Lagos, We Need New TikTok Sounds - BBNaija's Vee Iye Speaks For Bobrisky

13. Netizens React As DeeOne Begs Phyna For Forgiveness Following His Battle With Strange Illness

14. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

15. Federal Govt Suspends Dana Airline Indefinitely Over Safety Concerns

16. Multichoice Increases Prices in GOtv And Dstv Subscriptions in NIgeria

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office