'I Was So Broke I Lived In A Shelter In New York' – Tiwa Savage

Date: 05-09-2020 12:51 pm (3 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 5-09-2020 12:51 PM (3 years ago)

Singer Tiwa Savage has reflected on the time she was so broke and had to live in a shelter in Bedford–Stuyvesant, New York. The ace singer made this statement at a surprise party organised by her friends for her album launch, Celia.

Based on a video posted on singer, Lami Phillips Instagram account, the sonorous singer, Tiwa Savage described Bedford–Stuyvesant popularly referred to as Bed-Stuy, as a project in New York known to shelter the poor mostly with drug addiction problems.

The singer said she had just graduated from school at the time but couldn’t work due to her citizenship status.

“I think I was 22 and we were in New York. I was living in Bed-Stuy, kind of like a shelter. A lot of people didn’t know this.

“I was in a shelter for women that had drug abuse problems.

“I just graduated from school. You know as an international student you can’t work. So, I couldn’t work. I was doing the side thing in Bed-Stuy which is like the hood in Brooklyn,”
Tiwa Savage said.

The singer went on to reveal how she met with Elizabeth Elohor, a former beauty queen, who took her out to eat in New York when she was hungry.

She noted that since she was broke at the time she had to order only appetizers.

“She was ordering food and I ordered appetizers because I was so broke and I was so hungry.

“And I remember she was looking at me and asked, ‘what are you ordering?.’ And I was just lying that I’m not hungry.

“And then she just started asking me, ‘are you sure?.’ And then I just started crying. And then she’s just like, ‘what is the matter?.’ I said, ‘Elohor, I don’t have money.’

“She just started ordering stuff and she even ordered stuff for me to take home.

“I remember going home to my little box or whatever, and I was just crying. This girl literally made my day.

“So, the first time they put my picture in Times Square, she was the first person I called,”
she said emotionally.

Posted: at 5-09-2020 12:51 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dopygenius at 5-09-2020 01:57 PM (3 years ago)
You were in a shelter at New York City
What about people like us wey sleep under bridge for Lagos ,sleep inside rain,sleep for uncompleted buildings.....I had noting to eat for a very long time,I became a street leman
Abeg your own past suffer make sense......
Posted: at 5-09-2020 01:57 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 5-09-2020 02:45 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: dopygenius on  5-09-2020 01:57 PM
You were in a shelter at New York City
What about people like us wey sleep under bridge for Lagos ,sleep inside rain,sleep for uncompleted buildings.....I had noting to eat for a very long time,I became a street leman
Abeg your own past suffer make sense......
The hustle is real Dopy...,but the end justifies the means. Just do legit and keep your head up !!

Posted: at 5-09-2020 02:45 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dopygenius at 5-09-2020 03:32 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on  5-09-2020 02:45 PM
The hustle is real Dopy...,but the end justifies the means. Just do legit and keep your head up !!
Real life Boy!!
Posted: at 5-09-2020 03:32 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 5-09-2020 05:18 PM (3 years ago)
welcome home buddy!! when u suffer u know what's up
Posted: at 5-09-2020 05:18 PM (3 years ago) | Grande Master
- ikpotokin at 6-09-2020 11:33 AM (3 years ago)
In a shelter and doing prostitute in New York City
Posted: at 6-09-2020 11:33 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Nigeria Lady Shares Man’s Hilarious Reaction After Turning Down His S3xual Advances

2. This is Unacceptable - Comedian Seyilaw Calls Out President Tinubu Over New CBN Policy

3. UPDATE! Ekiti Varsity Students Caught on Camera Bullying Classmate Have Been Expelled

4. VIDEO: Man Shares The Disgusting State of a Hostel Room in University of Nigeria Nsukka

5. I Was Ripped After Ordering Azul And Empty Bottle Was Delivered In Kenya - Portable Laments

6. NFF Opens Up On Why Finidi Got Super Eagles Job

7. Real Madrid v Bayern Munich: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers & Stats

8. Veteran Nigerian Actress, Ovularia, Reportedly Died At 81 In Port Harcourt

9. Nigerian Police Kill 2 Suspected Kidnappers In Gun Duel, Rescue 3 Indians In Ogun

10. Family Accuses Vigilante Operatives Of Robbing, Killing 2 Brothers In Rivers

11. Teenager, Oluwateniola Omidiji Spends Days In Detention Over Mother’s Debt, Drags EFCC To Court

12. President Tinubu Returns To Nigeria After Netherlands, Saudi Trips

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

8. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

9. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

10. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe