A Federal High Court sitting in Lagos, sentenced cecilia ibru to prison

Date: 08-10-2010 5:24 pm (13 years ago) | Author: don uche
[1] 2 3 4
- at 8-10-2010 05:24 PM (13 years ago)
A Federal High Court sitting in Lagos, South-West Nigeria, this afternoon sentenced the  former Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of Oceanic Bank International Plc, Dr.  Cecilia Ibru to 18 months imprisonment in a plea bargaining arraignment.

Cecilia-Ibru

However, the convicted banker will spend only six months in the prison as she was  convicted six months each on a three-count charge. And the sentences are to run  concurrently.

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, prosecuting counsel, Mr. Kola  Awodehin, told the court that there was an agreement between the prosecution and the  accused person which has involved a formal agreement which he filed before the court  asking it under order 17 of the Federal High Court Act and section 6(6) of the  Constitution which enjoined the court to promote reconciliation among parties to  facilitate amicable settlement in civil and criminal cases. Therefore, he urged the court  invoke such power.

Awodehin further told the court that it is the desire of the prosecution to amend the  charges that have been filed in the matter by applying to withdraw all the charges with  the exception of three charges which are counts: 14, 17 and 23. Thereafter the accused  was freed on the other charges.

She pleaded guilty to the three-count charge. She was consequently sentenced.

Her lawyer, Prof. Taiwo Osipitan (SAN), pleaded that she was coming from the hospital to  the court.

Delivering his judgement, Justice Dan Abutu sentenced Mrs. Ibru and directed that she  should be returned to the hospital.

Posted: at 8-10-2010 05:24 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 8-10-2010 05:33 PM (13 years ago)
The rich also cry.............oya, where are the other 'sacred' cows?........we want them tried too!

Posted: at 8-10-2010 05:33 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- MandateofGod at 8-10-2010 06:10 PM (13 years ago)
Plead Bargaing........
Posted: at 8-10-2010 06:10 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- moniconyez at 8-10-2010 06:36 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: donuche on  8-10-2010 05:24 PM
A Federal High Court sitting in Lagos, South-West Nigeria, this afternoon sentenced the  former Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of Oceanic Bank International Plc, Dr.  Cecilia Ibru to 18 months imprisonment in a plea bargaining arraignment.

Cecilia-Ibru

However, the convicted banker will spend only six months in the prison as she was  convicted six months each on a three-count charge. And the sentences are to run  concurrently.

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, prosecuting counsel, Mr. Kola  Awodehin, told the court that there was an agreement between the prosecution and the  accused person which has involved a formal agreement which he filed before the court  asking it under order 17 of the Federal High Court Act and section 6(6) of the  Constitution which enjoined the court to promote reconciliation among parties to  facilitate amicable settlement in civil and criminal cases. Therefore, he urged the court  invoke such power.

Awodehin further told the court that it is the desire of the prosecution to amend the  charges that have been filed in the matter by applying to withdraw all the charges with  the exception of three charges which are counts: 14, 17 and 23. Thereafter the accused  was freed on the other charges.

She pleaded guilty to the three-count charge. She was consequently sentenced.

Her lawyer, Prof. Taiwo Osipitan (SAN), pleaded that she was coming from the hospital to  the court.

Delivering his judgement, Justice Dan Abutu sentenced Mrs. Ibru and directed that she  should be returned to the hospital.

THIS IBRU OF A MADAM SHOULD GET 600MOTHS ATLEAST FOR A START. WHAT IS 6MONTHS? NAJAI LAW NO DEY HELP MATTER ATALL. THIS ONE TOOOOO SMALL NOW. IF NA FOR OVA HERE SUCH CRIME NA ATLEAST 10 to 15YRS. FULL CALENDAR.........BITCH
Posted: at 8-10-2010 06:36 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Alex11 at 8-10-2010 06:43 PM (13 years ago)
What a phyuk-up???, six months for how many millions???.   Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed
Posted: at 8-10-2010 06:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Librabilex at 8-10-2010 11:22 PM (13 years ago)
BUSH MEAT DON DEY CATCH THE HUNTER.
Posted: at 8-10-2010 11:22 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bitte at 9-10-2010 12:17 AM (13 years ago)
Naija law is too funny,if it was in america or any parts of western country ,i guaratee you this woman will receive minimum of 10 years imprisonment            (e.g Bernard l.Madoff).  things like this happens in naija where there is no law or should i say the laws are made only for the poor people.rubbish!
Posted: at 9-10-2010 12:17 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- UduakAbasi at 9-10-2010 01:01 AM (13 years ago)
 Kiss I must commend the judge for this case.  Cecilia Ibru is a shame to Nigerian womanship, a parallel of good Nigerian women like Akunyilis, Iwealas, etc.  She may gain billions of naira, certainly that can in no means buy her the lost intergrity.  Serves her right !
Posted: at 9-10-2010 01:01 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ikennaya at 9-10-2010 06:50 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bitte on  9-10-2010 12:17 AM
Naija law is too funny,if it was in america or any parts of western country ,i guaratee you this woman will receive minimum of 10 years imprisonment            (e.g Bernard l.Madoff).  things like this happens in naija where there is no law or should i say the laws are made only for the poor people.rubbish!
xactlyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy.
Posted: at 9-10-2010 06:50 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- bibismall at 9-10-2010 08:12 AM (13 years ago)
all of una dey fool una self, which six months, for naija prison or for london prison... bush meat nor catch any hunter, na POLITICS DEM DEY PLAY. They are telling u guys wat u want to hear.

Posted: at 9-10-2010 08:12 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mydicksweet at 9-10-2010 08:35 AM (13 years ago)
Why why why six months God plz help this country
Posted: at 9-10-2010 08:35 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- spicygal08 at 9-10-2010 08:44 AM (13 years ago)
YES O!let d law take its full course...datz y i admire d law symbol,a lady's eyes tied with black cloth,a sword and a scale in her hands..,signifyin' no one is above d law weither u b rich o! Or poor!
Posted: at 9-10-2010 08:44 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ceci-baby at 9-10-2010 08:57 AM (13 years ago)
Oh my God, if i hav d opportunity, i fill first of all sell d leaders infact, i wil sell Naija cos we hav no use to ourselves. Cecilia deserve life imprisonment. na wa 4 Naija.
Posted: at 9-10-2010 08:57 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 9-10-2010 09:30 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Ceci-baby on  9-10-2010 08:57 AM
Oh my God, if i hav d opportunity, i fill first of all sell d leaders infact, i wil sell Naija cos we hav no use to ourselves. Cecilia deserve life imprisonment. na wa 4 Naija.

women ? una too wicked oooo
Posted: at 9-10-2010 09:30 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 9-10-2010 09:32 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on  8-10-2010 05:33 PM
The rich also cry.............oya, where are the other 'sacred' cows?........we want them tried too!

but where all the money Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh?Huh???
Posted: at 9-10-2010 09:32 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- esoo at 9-10-2010 09:39 AM (13 years ago)
she should go to jail there is hospital in prisim
Posted: at 9-10-2010 09:39 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ifizi at 9-10-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago)
dis is shit, six months only Angry Angry Angry Angry :'( :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 9-10-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- princedafe at 9-10-2010 12:51 PM (13 years ago)
6mths small sha
Posted: at 9-10-2010 12:51 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- beniebenie at 9-10-2010 01:13 PM (13 years ago)
if she is poor,they will kindly sentence her to 20years imprisonment.nigerian law is for the poor and not the rich.
Posted: at 9-10-2010 01:13 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- yincus at 9-10-2010 02:12 PM (13 years ago)
na wahooooooooooooooo this is clear evidence that the full wroth of Nigeria law is for the poor only, while the leniency part of Nigeria law is for the rich ppls  i bet it if this thief of a woman is poor,they will kindly sentence her to 20years inprisonment. but because she is reach with many connections she can only serve six months in prison even she was given access to a private hospital what a country.let us stop deceiving ourselfs in 9ija the ppls in power are not ready to be honest with the mases i think it will be better for the reach ppls of 9ija to create their own separate state or country just as the rich ppls of europe create Luxebourg and Malta for themself. they should let the poor nigerians govern themself and wait to see whta will happen.If it is in Asia this woman comit this crime she will be sentence to death by hanging no matter who you are , if its western world she will get nothing less than 10 to 15 years inprisonment with all assets frozen.but in nigeria the law only allow her to serve just six months with half of the assets frozen, what about the victims of her dubious actions wetin be their own gain after loosing what they have to this canditate of HELL fire.
Posted: at 9-10-2010 02:12 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4