SEXTING: YOUTHS CIRCULATE Nood PICTURES ON MOBILE PHONES

Date: 11-10-2010 1:29 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Ayobamy Olawale
- at 11-10-2010 01:29 PM (13 years ago)
The newest pastime in town among youths is ‘sexting‘. ‘Sexting‘ is the act of sending or exchanging segxwally explicit text messages and Nood pictures over mobile phones. The name was derived by combining sex and text, as in text messages.
Our correspondent gathered that this new fad is a common practice among youths, especially in tertiary institutions. The reason why youths do this range from their desire to keep their relationships to mischief. During the week, a soft sell magazine published semi-Nood pictures of a young actress which a friend of hers circulated over mobile phones without her knowledge. Although she expressed regrets that it was published during an interview with an evening newspaper, she insisted that it was common..

A 26-year-old student of one of the federal universities in the South West, who pleaded anonymity, said, “My current relationship is about one and half years old. Though I have never sent my girlfriend any Nood picture of myself, she sent me hers. I had a Nood picture of myself on my phone which she saw. It was after that she sent me a Nood picture of herself.”

“The final year Political Science undergraduate also admitted sending her segxwally explicit text messages. According to him, ”If we are not together, we need to make each other happy. Texting Nood pictures and suggestive SMS is a way of keeping the relationship going.”

Another student of a state university in the Eastern part of the country said she went along with the sexting tradition to please her boyfriend. “My relationship is about a year old. Though we have never sent Nood pictures to each other but we do text segxwally explicit messages. My boyfriend started it and I went along to make him happy.” The final year computer science student however admitted that sexting was among girls. “Most of them do it to keep their boyfriends happy.”

Twenty-nine year-old student of another federal university in the East, who also pleaded anonymity, said, “I am not currently in a relationship but in my last relationship, I sent my girlfriend segxwally explicit text messages. I did it each time I missed her, kind of like an emotional eruption.”

Very few, it seems, consider the fate of the Nood pictures when the relationship goes awry or the phone gets stolen as was in the case of the scandal last year where some Nood pictures of a couple working in a major telecommunications firm was published on Facebook. There is always the danger, of course, of such pictures going into the wrong hands like the case of Natasha Obetan, a Port Harcourt ex-beauty queen whose Nood pictures made the rounds.,

“I don’t know of any guy who used his girlfriend‘s Nood pictures against her. The only person I know of that did something akin to that, his ex-girlfriend wasn’t even aware of what he did. She thought he had deleted all her Nood pictures but he had one left. It was his friends that got to see it,” the student from a federal university in the South West said.

A psychiatrist at the Federal Psychiatrist Hospital, Yaba, Dr. Oladapo Adepoju sees the practice as a reflection of the moral decadence in the society. “Sexting is a social ill. It just shows that young people have taken romantic involvements to another level. I cannot call it a segxwal disorder, except if it causes the person to harm himself and others too. On the other hand, however, deriving segxwal satisfaction from viewing Nood photos is a segxwal disorder.” Disagreeing with the idea that sexting keeps the flame of love burning, he said, ”Sexting does not promote faithfulness in the long run. The danger of sexting is that both parties are likely to get segxwally aroused. By the time this happens, they will want segxwal satisfaction. If your partner is absent, the person might then resort to masturbation or engage any willing member of the opposite sex to achieve that segxwal satisfaction.”

A concerned parent who didn‘t want to be named said, ”I have a teenage daughter in school. I would be very sad if I find out she is doing something like that. You really don‘t have to send amorous text messages or Nood pictures to keep any relationship alive. There is a time for everything. All sexting does is to distract the parties involved from what they should actually be doing which is studying.”

Posted: at 11-10-2010 01:29 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onyin at 11-10-2010 01:29 PM (13 years ago)
brb.
Posted: at 11-10-2010 01:29 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- macgreat at 11-10-2010 01:56 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: onyin on 11-10-2010 01:29 PM
brb.

Grin

Posted: at 11-10-2010 01:56 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- atamajim at 11-10-2010 02:33 PM (13 years ago)
 and then?
Posted: at 11-10-2010 02:33 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tyabo at 11-10-2010 04:02 PM (13 years ago)
brb.
CBH......kia kia
Posted: at 11-10-2010 04:02 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EMMANUELLA01 at 11-10-2010 04:57 PM (13 years ago)
Wao we need prayer b4 thing get out of hand
Posted: at 11-10-2010 04:57 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adikpe at 11-10-2010 05:11 PM (13 years ago)
This is my first time of hearing this.
Posted: at 11-10-2010 05:11 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mydicksweet at 11-10-2010 05:16 PM (13 years ago)
This things are just new in Naija but personally i dont see anything wrong in it
Posted: at 11-10-2010 05:16 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onyin at 11-10-2010 05:21 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: tyabo on 11-10-2010 04:02 PM
brb.
CBH......kia kia
lol.wat's cbh?
Posted: at 11-10-2010 05:21 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- omorewa at 11-10-2010 05:40 PM (13 years ago)
 Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool Cool

Posted: at 11-10-2010 05:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xter at 11-10-2010 05:44 PM (13 years ago)
Dis was d reason cheryl divorced ashley cole

Posted: at 11-10-2010 05:44 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Neophil at 9-09-2011 09:54 AM (12 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 9-09-2011 09:54 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- virgineve at 9-09-2011 05:51 PM (12 years ago)
really bad
Posted: at 9-09-2011 05:51 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- around_d_corner at 9-09-2011 05:59 PM (12 years ago)
....Real bad... bt can b fun....
Posted: at 9-09-2011 05:59 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- moneyinbrakemi at 9-09-2011 06:04 PM (12 years ago)
very good bad boy
Posted: at 9-09-2011 06:04 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- around_d_corner at 9-09-2011 06:14 PM (12 years ago)
...............HMMMMest......
Posted: at 9-09-2011 06:14 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- kebella at 9-09-2011 06:20 PM (12 years ago)
who is sexting here

Posted: at 9-09-2011 06:20 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- around_d_corner at 9-09-2011 06:27 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kebella on  9-09-2011 06:20 PM
who is sexting here
...U na....
Posted: at 9-09-2011 06:27 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- jeffrey4u at 9-09-2011 11:02 PM (12 years ago)
chai make i get ma glasses
Posted: at 9-09-2011 11:02 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ILOVEIT at 10-09-2011 12:43 AM (12 years ago)
u guys should keep up d sexting thing..no wahala

Posted: at 10-09-2011 12:43 AM (12 years ago) | Hero