SARS Officers Will Not Be Allowed to Join SWAT” – Police IG Sheds More Light

Date: 14-10-2020 3:48 pm (3 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 14-10-2020 03:48 PM (3 years ago)

As calls for a total reform of the Nigeria Police Force continues, the Inspector-General of Police has revealed that officers of the now defunct SARS unit won’t be allowed to join the newly created SWAT unit.

The Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) unit was dissolved by the IGP following complaints and massive protests by Nigerians.

According to a Police memo, SARS former officers are barred from joining the newly-created Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) unit of the Nigeria Police Force.

One of the criteria for the selection of SWAT officers stipulates that they must not have worked for SARS, and officers to be recruited must also have at least seven years policing service experience, and must be passed physically fit to withstand training and operation.

They will also undergo medical and psychological fitness to certify them fit medically, emotionally, and psychologically.

Another criteria for selection is that prospective SWAT officers must not have pending disciplinary issues, or any serious previous record of professional misconduct touching on intemperate behaviour, incivility to members of the public, corrupt practices, and misuse of firearms.

For operational service, recruited officers must be between the ages of 25 and 40 years, and 35 and 45 years for command elements.

Posted: at 14-10-2020 03:48 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- taypetdun at 14-10-2020 04:11 PM (3 years ago)
How do  know them, and why are into rush to establish SWAT? Use this opportunity to study the loopholes raised on SARS and the police in general, then think on how to strategize the so called SWAT, the formative structure, dos and dons, approach to the society etc; whether you accept it or not the image of Nigerian police has been soiled, and their attitude can never miss out of wetin u carry, so reforming SARs and police in general needs thorough planning, unless you dey inside 'returns'. Police turning criminals in uniform, what a shame and how can Nigerians accept police as being friendly. IG, you had better redeemed your image
Posted: at 14-10-2020 04:11 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- Noah147 at 14-10-2020 04:59 PM (3 years ago)
I guess we just have to give this a chance so we don't sound like an ass, but i can't help but think why is this so quick to form another agency without proper looking into it and do it proper.
Posted: at 14-10-2020 04:59 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 14-10-2020 05:42 PM (3 years ago)
#EndSars tipped it over,but why the youths are still on the streets is because there are so may unsaid issues,so many that they dont feel accomplished by the victories gained so far.

Posted: at 14-10-2020 05:42 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dopygenius at 14-10-2020 06:55 PM (3 years ago)
This Nigeria IG is a big fool and a great deciever,these are just the instructions he received from his father buhari,just imagine just days people are protesting to end SARS,it didn't even take up to a week to bring another SARS they have renamed SWAT,wtf who you muderphyukers trying to deceive.......Ok SWAT abi,am interested to join how do I join???
Posted: at 14-10-2020 06:55 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac