UPDATE: United State Blocks Okonjo Iweala's Appointment As WTO DG, Insists On South Korean

Date: 28-10-2020 6:00 pm (3 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 28-10-2020 06:00 PM (3 years ago)

The United States is currently holding the World Trade Organisation hostage over the rightful election of Nigerian candidate, Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala as its new director general.

Nigeria's Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala was slated to be the new Director-General of the World Trade Organization. She will be the first woman, and the first African, to lead the institution. But there was an unexpected glitch in the process.

Update from our earlier post: In a last ditch move, the United States representative at World Trade Organization took to the floor to insist that South Korea’s candidate remained a contender, and that Washington will not recognise Okonjo-Iweala as the consensus candidate for appointment as director-general.

In response to this, the General Counsel has postponed its announcement of the new Director-General until a further meeting, which is scheduled for 9 November; after the US presidential elections.

A panel at the WTO recommended her today for the position.

According to Bloomberg, the U.S. could not support a consensus decision to appoint Okonjo-Iweala, Deputy U.S. Trade Representative Dennis Shea said during a meeting of WTO delegates in Geneva, according to three officials who were monitoring the proceedings.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
All WTO decisions are taken by a consensus of its 164 members, which means the U.S. move will act as a veto that disrupts the process.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
A WTO official said work would continue to reach a consensus ahead of a meeting of the General Council tentatively set for Nov. 9.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
The development came after Okonjo-Iweala received a key endorsement Wednesday from the WTO selection committee, which moved her a step closer to becoming the WTO’s first female D-G.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
If it’s not possible for the general council to agree on a consensus candidate, WTO members can consider the possibility of recourse to a vote as a last resort by a procedure to be determined at that time. Such a development would be unprecedented for the WTO.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer has pushed for South Korea’s candidate, Yoo Myung-hee, even though Okonjo-Iweala gained U.S. citizenship in 2019.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
Sources close to Lighthizer say he views Okonjo-Iweala as being too close to pro-trade internationalists in Washington like Robert Zoellick, a former USTR who worked with Okonjo-Iweala when he was president of the World Bank.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
An impasse in the WTO leadership race wouldn’t likely bother President Donald Trump, who has blasted the Geneva-based organization as a tool for globalists who allowed China’s economic rise to go unchecked.⁣⁣
⁣⁣
If Trump wins the U.S. election next week, his aides have indicated they plan to continue to reshape the WTO with a narrower scope to resolve trade disputes.⁣⁣

Posted: at 28-10-2020 06:00 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- taye47 at 28-10-2020 06:24 PM (3 years ago)
She doesn't not deserve that post she will be corrupt in that position, corruption in her blood.
Posted: at 28-10-2020 06:24 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- DonRule4 at 28-10-2020 06:28 PM (3 years ago)
Okonjo is outstanding glittering Nigerian.  And she  will get that position by GOD'S Grace.  They have her records......
Posted: at 28-10-2020 06:28 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- Wazubia at 28-10-2020 06:50 PM (3 years ago)
TRUMP IS A RACIST... HE THINK HE KNOW GOD, ONLY FOR HES SELFISH INTEREST...
Posted: at 28-10-2020 06:50 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Feranmitemi at 28-10-2020 08:15 PM (3 years ago)
Because of this particular issue, he(Trump) will not win the election by God's grace. Eyankayan ni Trump.
Posted: at 28-10-2020 08:15 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- Deltaboy1 at 28-10-2020 08:16 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: taye47 on 28-10-2020 06:24 PM
She doesn't not deserve that post she will be corrupt in that position, corruption in her blood.
u are a sick person
Posted: at 28-10-2020 08:16 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kellysan at 28-10-2020 08:54 PM (3 years ago)
You’re fooling your self. You think the decision is made by the president .
Posted: at 28-10-2020 08:54 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- Kellysan at 28-10-2020 08:56 PM (3 years ago)
wake up and smell coffee. Educate yourself. CNN and mainstream media is anti trump. He’s not a racist look at his life before he ran for president.
Mark my word he has won.
Posted: at 28-10-2020 08:56 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- nametalkam at 28-10-2020 09:13 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: Kellysan on 28-10-2020 08:56 PM
wake up and smell coffee. Educate yourself. CNN and mainstream media is anti trump. He’s not a racist look at his life before he ran for president.
Mark my word he has won.

He only loves the white supremacy groups

Posted: at 28-10-2020 09:13 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 28-10-2020 11:52 PM (3 years ago)
Not interested.If Okonjo is this good,let her come and help make this country better financially than rice going from 8500 to 40k in 6 hours.

Posted: at 28-10-2020 11:52 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nikiniki at 29-10-2020 02:32 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 28-10-2020 11:52 PM
Not interested.If Okonjo is this good,let her come and help make this country better financially than rice going from 8500 to 40k in 6 hours.
Thank you o. But will Nigerians allowed her? Twice she came to serve under very corrupt govt. Such people cannot flourish in a repressive environment.
Posted: at 29-10-2020 02:32 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 29-10-2020 05:25 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: Kellysan on 28-10-2020 08:56 PM
Mark my word he has won.
I AM NOT INTERESTED IN YOUR RECORD AND HISTORIES. THAT IS WHAT CRIPPLED US HERE IN NAIJA.
MY STAND IS FOR PRESENT AND FUTURE... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 29-10-2020 05:25 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 29-10-2020 10:08 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: taye47 on 28-10-2020 06:24 PM

tah!!! go and sit down... go and read her profile u will see her records, say what u know and stop generalizing

Posted: at 29-10-2020 10:08 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- taye47 at 29-10-2020 01:50 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: kacylee on 29-10-2020 10:08 AM
tah!!! go and sit down... go and read her profile u will see her records, say what u know and stop generalizing
We don't need her profile, profile don't do shit when you are corrupt herself. She served under two corrupt governments and she will still be corrupt in her new post.
Posted: at 29-10-2020 01:50 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming