I Allowed My Emotions Get The Better Of Me - Desmond Elliot Tenders Apology To Nigerian Youths

Date: 29-10-2020 8:16 pm (3 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 29-10-2020 08:16 PM (3 years ago)

Desmond Elliot has apologized for addressing the youths as 'Children' while making his submission during plenary at the Lagos state House of Assembly last week.
In a viral video that captured the Surulere lawmaker's submission on the Lagos carnage, he addressed the youths as children and opined that social media was used to fuel the carnage.
Nigerians on social media have been dragging him since for his comment.
In a statement he released on his Twitter handle today, the actor apologized for his choice of words during the deliberation. According to him, he did not mean to be insensitive. Read his statement below
''I have read your honest feedback& suggestions& I sincerely apologize for addressing the youth as “Children” I did not mean to be insensitive with this, it was borne out of the magnitude of destruction&looting of businesses I witnessed when I went on a tour of my constituency
I saw women crying and my constituent members distraught as a result of the damages inflicted on their source of livelihood. I was moved by this while giving my submission on the floor of the House.
I allowed my emotions get the better of me and for this I apologize to everyone my earlier statements may have hurt.
Please, understand that even the best of us make mistakes. This is why, moving forward, I ask that we all try to engage constructively on the issues that affect all of us. I promise to do the same.

The pain that I feel for my constituents, the calls for assistance that I continue to get, and the need to mitigate against further destruction and violence will continue to drive my engagements and my work.

I thank you all for expressing your views, and in the future, I promise to be more conscious and aware. Together, we will build a better Nigeria. End.''

Posted: at 29-10-2020 08:16 PM (3 years ago) | Hero
- Henrybobo at 29-10-2020 08:43 PM (3 years ago)
no be only emotion....when a man is given power and money thats when u would know his true color
Posted: at 29-10-2020 08:43 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- stainfrees at 29-10-2020 08:47 PM (3 years ago)
No need to apologise, you have already voiced your insults on the youths. Your tenure will end and you need the youths again Desmond idiot like you. You are a shame to your generation.
Posted: at 29-10-2020 08:47 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- kima77same at 29-10-2020 11:08 PM (3 years ago)
MEDICINE AFTER DEATH. YOU HAVE SAID WHAT YOU WANTED... JUST TO GAIN POLITICAL POINTS.
  WHAT WOULD YOUR FAKE APOLOGY DO TO THE DAMAGES DONE BY YOUR INARTICULATE SPEECH?
Posted: at 29-10-2020 11:08 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nikiniki at 29-10-2020 11:31 PM (3 years ago)
Hmn, you joined them, and forget how you begged Lagos people to vote for you before you got to where you are today despite being a calabar man.
Posted: at 29-10-2020 11:31 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 29-10-2020 11:36 PM (3 years ago)
look b4 u leap,if u leap b4 you look,na your wahala

Posted: at 29-10-2020 11:36 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- garangs at 29-10-2020 11:49 PM (3 years ago)
Quote from: nikiniki on 29-10-2020 11:31 PM
Hmn, you joined them, and forget how you begged Lagos people to vote for you before you got to where you are today despite being a calabar man.
NO, THE IDIOT IS A YORUBA MAN, BORN IN THE STUPID HAUSA NORTHERN REGION. RIGHT FROM TIME, I KNOW THAT IDIOT AS A DISAPPOINTMENT
Posted: at 29-10-2020 11:49 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- taye47 at 30-10-2020 04:03 AM (3 years ago)
Your apologise is NOT ACCEPTED you disappoint all Nigeria youth's and should be ashamed of yourself.
Now you thing you don reach you can open your tidy mouth and talk shit to the youth.
Posted: at 30-10-2020 04:03 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- DMG17 at 30-10-2020 07:01 AM (3 years ago)
Desmond, stop deceiving yourself. You are not a smart individual. You are nothing short of a cheap criminal hiding under the umbrella of political scam, deceit, lies, inhumanity, idiotism, ungodliness, selfishness, and shamelessly corrupt. Supporting Bola Tinubu on national television by means of 'Godfatherism' that has basically destroyed the Nigerian political industry. One unexpected day, the almighty living God will visit you all in his wrath. Wicked souls. You all have special sits in hell because of what you have done to innocent suffering Nigerians.
Posted: at 30-10-2020 07:01 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fedchara at 30-10-2020 08:29 AM (3 years ago)
No, this is crocodile tears, he gravitated to his normal politician and BAT loyalists protectionists mode and forgot he is supposed to be an advocate of the youths, let him enjoy the monies he is making from politics, and enjoy the price too when he is booed by youths, when nobody wants to watch his films and attempt to cancel him, when he goes out to campaign for nest election cus he can only buy votes but how many peoples votes can you buy? it is too late to apologies but not too late to repent
Posted: at 30-10-2020 08:29 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- taye47 at 30-10-2020 09:14 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: taye47 on 30-10-2020 04:03 AM
Your apologise is NOT ACCEPTED you disappoint all Nigeria youth's and should be ashamed of yourself.
Now you thing you don reach you can open your dirty mouth and talk shit to the youth.
YOU ARE A SNAKE DESMOND IDIOT.
Posted: at 30-10-2020 09:14 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- stainfrees at 30-10-2020 01:51 PM (3 years ago)
Desmond idiot, we are waiting for you when next you will contest, big fool.
Posted: at 30-10-2020 01:51 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie