Police Officers Never Shot At #EndSARS Protesters - IGP Mohammed Adamu Insists

Date: 30-10-2020 10:27 am (3 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 30-10-2020 10:27 AM (3 years ago)

The Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Adamu, says police officers conducted themselves professionally during the course of the nationwide #EndSARS protests against police brutality.
The protests started early in October to demand the scrapping of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) of the Police Force over years of extra-judicial activities.

The mostly peaceful protests were marked by violence from thugs, who tried to hijack the demonstrations, and police officers who aggressively pushed back against protesters.

Jimoh Isiaq, killed in Ogbomoso, Oyo State, and at least 14 other protesters were believed to have been killed by police officers in just over a week of the protests.

Two police officers were also reported to have been killed in Delta and Lagos State as a result of the protests, before an escalation of violence last week resorted in attacks on police officers and police formations by thugs who carried out mostly retaliatory attacks.

Despite the reported fatalities, Adamu said in a statement on Friday, October 30, 2020 that officers exercised commendable restraints.

The IGP's statement was in response to a report by human rights watchdog, Amnesty International, which alleged that police officers killed peaceful protesters.

The police boss described the report as 'untrue, misleading, and contrary to all available empirical evidences'.

He claimed that officers used legitimate means to ensure that the protests were carried out in a peaceful manner.

"He (Adamu) reiterated that even when the protests turned violent in some parts of the country, the officers still maintained utmost restraint and did not use excessive force in managing the situations," a statement by Force spokesperson, Frank Mba, said.

The IGP also claimed that a total of 22 police officers were extra-judicially killed by 'some rampaging protesters', noting that many injured officers are also in life threatening conditions at hospitals.

205 police stations and formations were also damaged, according to the IGP.

"Despite these unprovoked attacks, our police officers never resorted to use of unlawful force or shooting at the protesters as alleged in the report," the statement said.

The IGP knocked Amnesty for not acknowledging the death of the police officers who he said were murdered while serving their fatherland.

"One wonders if in the estimation of Amnesty International, police officers are not also human beings equally entitled to the protection of their fundamental rights to life and dignity of human person,"
the statement read.

Posted: at 30-10-2020 10:27 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 30-10-2020 10:45 AM (3 years ago)
keep lying

Posted: at 30-10-2020 10:45 AM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 30-10-2020 11:10 AM (3 years ago)
Oga na true, just continue
Posted: at 30-10-2020 11:10 AM (3 years ago) | Grande Master
- Agolo1 at 30-10-2020 02:41 PM (3 years ago)
I dont know if you guys still think nigeria youths are still stupid or are still sleeping, so all does shooting in the street in every part of the country is movie your fellow police are arting abi? fire you burn you all soon.
Posted: at 30-10-2020 02:41 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- Agolo1 at 30-10-2020 02:41 PM (3 years ago)
I dont know if you guys still think nigeria youths are still stupid or are still sleeping, so all does shooting in the street in every part of the country is movie your fellow police are arting abi? fire you burn you all soon.
Posted: at 30-10-2020 02:41 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- nikiniki at 30-10-2020 05:13 PM (3 years ago)
Adamu! Adamu! Oloriburuku Adamu!!!! Do videos lie? Do you know how many people the police wasted away in Yaba, WAEC area? You are either suffering from dementia or your subordinates filled you with lies.
Posted: at 30-10-2020 05:13 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer