US Based Maduka Promises To Build 21 Universities in Anambra If Made Governor, Nigerians React

Date: 23-11-2020 3:15 pm (3 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 23-11-2020 03:15 PM (3 years ago)

Nigerians on social media are currently lambasting  Dr Godwin Maduka, a United States of America-based medical doctor aspiring to be governor of Anambra State in 2021.

Maduka who is aspiring for the top job on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), said that if elected governor, he plans to build 21 universities in the state.

Speaking during a programme he organized for the youths of the state at Umuchukwu country home in Orumba South LGA, said he will establish higher institutions of learning so that Ndi Anambra could have greater access to university education.

If given the opportunity, I will build one university each in all the 21 Local Government Areas of the state. Education is key all over the world. We shouldn’t have a few scattered universities here. It is not that hard to set it up.

“In other places of the earth, some towns have up to six universities. It should be as easy as ABC. We will start with only 21; one per local government.

Asked how was going to fund them if that were to be, Maduka said a lot of things that come to the governor’s house in terms of funding will be used to take care of the education.

“And there are some things that we can bring in. It is a matter of priorities. There should be a new negotiation about funding education. After all, that’s why I am here now.”

However, many Nigerians who took to social media to react to the politician’s claim believed that Maduka is not different from “most of our politicians lack the intellectual capacity to occupy sensitive positions”.

Some are of the opinion that his plan cannot work in a nation “where most existing universities are not properly funded and lack basic educational facilities.”

See some of the reactions below:

[html]
- kima77same at 23-11-2020 05:00 PM (3 years ago)
IT IS NOT NEW UNIVERSITIES THAT ARE NEEDED IN NIGERIA,  BUT MAKING THE ALREADY EXISTING ONES BETTER UNIVERSITIES THAT WILL RANK WITH WORLD'S BEST UNIVERSITIES
Posted: at 23-11-2020 05:00 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tegonwa at 23-11-2020 05:24 PM (3 years ago)
Nigerians seem to be enjoying suffering and joblessness. 21 universities will be equal to millions of jobs, development, housing appreciation, easy choices of uni and admission. If Godwin can dream it, i trust he can make it happen. I love visionaries.
Posted: at 23-11-2020 05:24 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 23-11-2020 05:49 PM (3 years ago)
Posted: at 23-11-2020 05:49 PM (3 years ago) | Grande Master
- stainfrees at 23-11-2020 09:07 PM (3 years ago)
False promises
Posted: at 23-11-2020 09:07 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- module at 24-11-2020 11:00 AM (3 years ago)
Empty promises. That's what u politicians do, making promises that u can't keep. 21 universities in one state, where will u put them? Mmmchew kam nukwa biko
Posted: at 24-11-2020 11:00 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- onexshegsy at 24-11-2020 11:34 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: tegonwa on 23-11-2020 05:24 PM
Nigerians seem to be enjoying suffering and joblessness. 21 universities will be equal to millions of jobs, development, housing appreciation, easy choices of uni and admission. If Godwin can dream it, i trust he can make it happen. I love visionaries.
  OGA........... building 21 Universities is not the right questions but the REAL QUESTION IS....21 UNIVERSITIES BY GOVT IN ONE STATE? How will u MAINTAIN & SUSTAIN IT INCLUDING THE EXISTING ONES? not realistic.
Posted: at 24-11-2020 11:34 AM (3 years ago) | Newbie