why are most of the Scientist and Engineers in Naija not inventing

Date: 17-10-2008 6:41 pm (15 years ago) | Author: Onome Akpalikoko
- at 17-10-2008 06:41 PM (15 years ago)
why dem dey use our talent dey glorify advanced countries

Posted: at 17-10-2008 06:41 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Kemp at 17-10-2008 07:04 PM (15 years ago)
U gonno get a straight ans...our educational system is bad,they are not encourage as well...it easy for dem 2 excel in europe n d U.S

Posted: at 17-10-2008 07:04 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dguy at 17-10-2008 07:06 PM (15 years ago)
Simple they are trained to work and survive - since invention has no immediate gain

Posted: at 17-10-2008 07:06 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chukwu1977 at 17-10-2008 11:39 PM (15 years ago)
OUR FG IS THE MAJOR PROBLEM.
Posted: at 17-10-2008 11:39 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- signalputte at 17-10-2008 11:46 PM (15 years ago)
No Patience....
Posted: at 17-10-2008 11:46 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- khadijah at 18-10-2008 04:20 AM (15 years ago)
oh..bro there are inventions oo...we dont have the resources to put them forth...blame the government..
Posted: at 18-10-2008 04:20 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blessedono at 18-10-2008 04:21 PM (15 years ago)
why are we always blaming the govt when we are part of the govt, maybe we should spend more time on constructive meditation and planning accompanied by courage & determination in whatever we are doing b'cos most inventors failed many times be4 they finally succeeded but they were focussed and have confidence in themselves & what they are set to achieve. Naija people are gifted people. Abi how una see am ehhhhhhhh..................
Posted: at 18-10-2008 04:21 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- gbengazz at 18-10-2008 10:44 PM (15 years ago)
inventions at the production level is expensive and is usually sponsored, obviously nobody is doing the sponsoring. The government but not only the government is responsible
Posted: at 18-10-2008 10:44 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- lonelysnow at 18-10-2008 10:46 PM (15 years ago)
th poorest educational system in d world...... but atleast we have different way to invent corruption
Posted: at 18-10-2008 10:46 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lonely_Soul at 19-10-2008 05:33 PM (15 years ago)
It is true that the level of invention in Nigeria is poor but the scientists are all not to be blamed totally.
Invention is the result of training, experinment, experience and desire to do it alternatively; all these, are not the exclusive preserve of scientists. Any one can invent but what has experience thaught us? It is that of being content with the situation.
We are content with our electricity supply, petrol production, drug appreciation, housing condition and every aspects of our lives, so in which area do we need improvement?
Unless and untill we wake up as a people not willing to be satisfied with our poor conditions, inventions will remain what we call it 'inventions'.
Posted: at 19-10-2008 05:33 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- real1cares at 20-10-2008 02:17 PM (15 years ago)
Government start from from each and everyone of us,we are the goverment,If we encourage our selfs,Help each other,You cant invent something and the goverment would stop you from your dream..Not this Fashola era...lol..
Posted: at 20-10-2008 02:17 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Maky at 20-10-2008 04:49 PM (15 years ago)
Who said Nigeria Scientist don't Invent, That is a white lie! We have inventors but the problem is we don't get any support both financially and otherwise,why waste their talent on nothing here in Nigeria.That is why most of them go to other advanced country that knows they use of their inventions and appreciate it,quote me anywhere some of these Inventions that bears foreign name as their Inventors are done by Nigerians. so lol!!!!!!  we have Inventors what we don't have are supporters.
Posted: at 20-10-2008 04:49 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- lonelysnow at 20-10-2008 07:41 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Maky on 20-10-2008 04:49 PM
Who said Nigeria Scientist don't Invent, That is a white lie! We have inventors but the problem is we don't get any support both financially and otherwise,why waste their talent on nothing here in Nigeria.That is why most of them go to other advanced country that knows they use of their inventions and appreciate it,quote me anywhere some of these Inventions that bears foreign name as their Inventors are done by Nigerians. so lol!!!!!!  we have Inventors what we don't have are supporters.
we are sayin d same thing
Posted: at 20-10-2008 07:41 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- herdeysohjy at 21-10-2008 01:16 PM (15 years ago)
The blame is on the govt, because they don't want our Scientist to develop. There was a time some guys are up with some ideas, the next thing that occured was that they arrested them
Posted: at 21-10-2008 01:16 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sizzle at 21-10-2008 06:14 PM (15 years ago)
Just wait til im 18. I'll bring Nigeria back its former glory.  Grin i wasn't blessed with a brain and a big mouth for no reason  Wink

Posted: at 21-10-2008 06:14 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- LordSlyDante at 21-10-2008 06:55 PM (15 years ago)
Though we are not encourage and stuff, it does not mean that we should stop, like one of my song goes "never give up is the story". The problem is this passion for quick money which is greed, and if you want to do something new and make the mistake of telling friends just because they did not think of it first they would try to discourage you, maybe to do it them self and take the glory or just to feel better than you. this boils down to self vs willpower. If you have the willpower you can do it. but never give up.
Posted: at 21-10-2008 06:55 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- hiddenpearl at 22-10-2008 02:39 AM (15 years ago)
This is where the private sector should come in because if we are waiting for the government to pour some money into inventive and scientific sectors, we would be waiting forever!
If you have the means in this lifetime, pour some money into finding creative investors in Nigeria. Not only would you be creating jobs, reducing reliance on imported goods, and increasing exports, in time the dumb government will see the sense in it and come to you. The reason why America is such a great country is because people took initiative. They didn't wait for the government to start producing. People like you and I did that. People like you and I built cars or sponsored it; people like you and I invested in railway stations and made an obscene amount of money doing it too. Stop blaming the government (even if they are completely sh*tty), take action on your own and make sh*t happen!
Posted: at 22-10-2008 02:39 AM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- O-Zed at 22-10-2008 09:36 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: hiddenpearl on 22-10-2008 02:39 AM
This is where the private sector should come in because if we are waiting for the government to pour some money into inventive and scientific sectors, we would be waiting forever!
If you have the means in this lifetime, pour some money into finding creative investors in Nigeria. Not only would you be creating jobs, reducing reliance on imported goods, and increasing exports, in time the dumb government will see the sense in it and come to you. The reason why America is such a great country is because people took initiative. They didn't wait for the government to start producing. People like you and I did that. People like you and I built cars or sponsored it; people like you and I invested in railway stations and made an obscene amount of money doing it too. Stop blaming the government (even if they are completely sh*tty), take action on your own and make sh*t happen!

I agree with you that the people should take action  on their own... but i begin to believe that you are either not in Nigeria or if you are you have not tried to do anything and you are just blabbing. you mention America, even though the govt didnt start the inventing, they put in the necessary things i place for the people to take the initiative. why did the english man that concieved the idea of a computer not invent it? becos he lived before Faraday invented electricity.. i hope u get my point?
It starts from the choosing of the political leaders. when illiterates rule, ofcos they wont see sense in science and technology. as long as they can steal enough money to import them.
Posted: at 22-10-2008 09:36 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- hiddenpearl at 22-10-2008 01:20 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: O-Zed on 22-10-2008 09:36 AM
Quote from: hiddenpearl on 22-10-2008 02:39 AM

I agree with you that the people should take action  on their own... but i begin to believe that you are either not in Nigeria or if you are you have not tried to do anything and you are just blabbing. you mention America, even though the govt didnt start the inventing, they put in the necessary things i place for the people to take the initiative. why did the english man that concieved the idea of a computer not invent it? becos he lived before Faraday invented electricity.. i hope u get my point?
It starts from the choosing of the political leaders. when illiterates rule, ofcos they wont see sense in science and technology. as long as they can steal enough money to import them.

Now, I know you are just setting out to insult anyone with a different opinion. The point of this forum is for people to state their opinions. I've stated mine, if you can't deal with it... well that's your problem love, not mine.
First you equip yourself with a proper education find out how you can help your community, then you set about putting your plans in place. Study American history, and you'll notice that the government often followed the initiative of the people. What I said, if you paid any attention before reducing me to a babble, is that Nigerians ought to invest in each other. That's all people do in those western countries that we all admire. They find the smarts and aide them. That's all I said people back home should do as well if we want to be recognized as an inventive country as well. That's not blabbing... that's my solution to the problem presented. I hope you get my point.
Posted: at 22-10-2008 01:20 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- keveen at 23-10-2008 12:51 AM (15 years ago)
Chop money na im dem just want!

Posted: at 23-10-2008 12:51 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

8. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu