"We Will No Longer Tolerate Further Attacks On Northerners" - Northern Elders Forum Warns

Date: 09-12-2020 11:59 pm (3 years ago) | Author: success Xenab
- at 9-12-2020 11:59 PM (3 years ago)

The Northern Elders Forum (NEF) has said that they will no longer tolerate further attacks on members of the Northern community in the Southern part of the country.

The Chairman, NEF, Prof. Ango Abdullahi made the declaration during a town hall meeting with members of the Northern community in Rivers State on Tuesday, December 8.

While noting that the forum was in the state to commiserate with Northerners who suffered losses during the EndSARS protest in October, Abdullahi said it was not clear that the attacks against Northerners were carried out by some group from the southeast part of the country, saying Northerners suffered huge losses in terms of lives and property.

“We came because we saw no reason innocent residents where ever they are irrespective of where they come from who are not participating in the protest will be subjected to violence. They (Northerners) suffered enormous violence and loss of lives and assets of various magnitude.

“What was surprising to us was that those that perpetrated the violence against northerners are the same people who are crying more and calling for compensation other than those, who suffered the consequences.

“We take particular delight when we talked with the governor (Chief Nyesom Wike) of the state. We were told by residents of Rivers State that the governor was particularly interested in protecting them and their rights as he swore in his oath of office. It s now becoming clear that most of the violence that is being meted out to the northerners in various parts of the South came from people from the South-Eastern States, people with some names.

“We are not sure what name really they want to keep. They come with different brands, they use this name (making a veil reference to the disbursement Indigenous People of Biafra) to perpetrated criminality in different parts of the country. For years this particular incident has been with us for some time.

“It is up to the authorities to assure all of us that this must end. This must stop. I think the north will no longer allow this red line to be crossed. It is because people get away with criminal behaviour without sanctions and punishment that is why they keep recircling these irresponsible behaviours.

“Therefore, as we leave the South-South, we will be heading for the South-East. We will be speaking with the leadership there, especially the governors, to remind them of their responsibility to protect residents irrespective of where they come from in their areas of responsibility.

“Failure to do so, especially, on this continuous bases, it will be difficult for all of us who have been restraining our various communities, especially, our youths to protect others when their brethren are being killed and maimed in other parts of the country,” he stated.

Also speaking, the Director of Publicity and Advocacy, Northern Elders Forum, Hakeem Baba-Ahmed said Northerners have the right to live anywhere they chose to live in the country.

“We have drawn attention to the dangers of attacking people purely based on their ethnicity or their faith or where they live. There is no stranger in Nigeria.

“Our people have the right to be in the South-South. They have the right to live anywhere they want because the constitution protects them and guarantees their right to be where they are. And we told our people to stay put. Don’t live where you are.

“We appeal to those with responsibility continue to protect members of our Northern community, the same way that we protect members of the Southern communities in the North. This is the only way this country will continue to live in peace and security'' he said

Posted: at 9-12-2020 11:59 PM (3 years ago) | Hero
- kaposky at 10-12-2020 12:45 AM (3 years ago)
U ARE THE BIGGEST FOOL EVER. U FOOLISH MAN, STAY ON UR OWN, BUT U MOTHERFU.CKERS REFUSED
Posted: at 10-12-2020 12:45 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Boi2Man at 10-12-2020 03:51 AM (3 years ago)
What have you done to protect christians in southern Kaduna? Empty vessel made the greatest noise
Posted: at 10-12-2020 03:51 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Fedchara at 10-12-2020 07:20 AM (3 years ago)
I will not argue with associating IPOB with criminality and terrorism, but it is hypocritical when you excuse herdsmen that have been and still doing terrorism and criminality for a long time in south while nigerian security agencies are complicit but even carry out  state sponsored terrorism, even buruku is a state sponsored terrorists leader. And hat of all the numerous attacks againts Christians in north? where was the strong condemnation of NEF at the AGATU massacre or even the Zaria massacre? they politicized same as they are now doing in rivers state
Posted: at 10-12-2020 07:20 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- Lazzymoney at 10-12-2020 08:28 AM (3 years ago)
So it's painful when the northerners ar being killed, but when the southeast or the south south are being massacred by Fulani herdsmen, then the NEF won't care about it, but will rejoice over it, Oga better go and talk to buhari una papa to stop the banditsory and bokoharam killings going on in the northern part of the country which is ur States, u no get talk here atall... . na so u sabi fight for una pple na im banditary and bokoharam dem dey kill una pple like chicken for north? The northerners ar the sponsors of terrorism in this country go n fight against terrorism in ur northern States not in the eastern n southern part way we dey live in peace, go n talk against the killings of Christians n strangers in the northern pert of the country if truly you knows ur job...hence u ar not doing that, u ar not talking Oga....
Posted: at 10-12-2020 08:28 AM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- Lazzymoney at 10-12-2020 08:34 AM (3 years ago)
So it's painful when the northerners ar being killed, but when the southeast or the south south are being massacred by Fulani herdsmen, then the NEF won't care about it, but will rejoice over it, Oga better go and talk to buhari una papa to stop the banditsory and bokoharam killings going on in the northern part of the country which is ur States, u no get talk here atall... . na so u sabi fight for una pple na im banditary and bokoharam dem dey kill una pple like chicken for north? The northerners ar the sponsors of terrorism in this country go n fight against terrorism in ur northern States not in the eastern n southern part way we dey live in peace, go n talk against the killings of Christians n strangers in the northern pert of the country if truly you knows ur job...hence u ar not doing that, u ar not talking Oga....
Posted: at 10-12-2020 08:34 AM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- maizaxx at 10-12-2020 07:54 PM (3 years ago)
I am highly disappointed with your rubbish utterance (permit choice of langauge).
I am a Northerner but I find your utterance utter gibberish.
Have you sorted out the killings and kidnapping in the North for you to start talking about what is not worrisome in the South.
Please stop trying to politisize issues.
Go and fight the boko haram this is causing greater havoc and stop talking rubbish.
It just shows you are an educated -illiterate.
Posted: at 10-12-2020 07:54 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer