Minors Flogged For Hawking In Abuja

Date: 22-10-2010 5:30 pm (13 years ago) | Author: kelly
[1] 2 3 4
- at 22-10-2010 05:30 PM (13 years ago)

Nine hawkers who are minors were yesterday ordered to be flogged seven strokes of the cane while 21 others were sentenced to one month imprisonment by an Abuja mobile court for hawking in Abuja.

The minor hawkers are I.K Ochine, Salisu Ibrahim, Madu Mpam, Tunde Famakinde, Ibrahim Muhammed, Sahadu Adamu, Francis Isha, Suleiman Usman and Aminu Yakubu.

Those sentenced are Ubaka Okeke, Sanusi Mustapha, Awalu Yahaya, Hannatu Galadima, Abdul Usman, Abuchi Igwe, Nelson Madela, Umar Mahammudu, Chioma Ugwu, Isah Umar, Rabiu Muhammed Fatima Abubakar. Joy Joseph, Suleman Ibrahim, Adebayo Sade, Mustapha Ahmed, Murtala Sani Suleman Usman, Daudu Abdullahi, Nuhu Muhammed and Sahabiu Saidu

The prosecutor, Barrister Eze E. Eze, had earlier told the court that the accused persons were arrested by the task force of the Abuja Environmental Protection Board (AEPB) while hawking at road junctions and unauthorized places within the FCT, an offence punishable under Section 35 (1) of the AEPB Act No 10 of 1997.

The accused persons pleaded guilty when the charge was read to them and begged for leniency, promising not to do it again.

The prosecutor urged the court to try the accused persons summarily under Section 157 of the Criminal Procedure Code.

Magistrate Aminu Abdullahi sentenced each of the 21 hawkers to one month's imprisonment with an option of N3,000 fine and ordered that the minors be given seven strokes of cane.

The magistrate also ordered that the items seized from those sentenced should be released to them while those of the minors should not be released until they brought their parents.

Posted: at 22-10-2010 05:30 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chibyski at 22-10-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago)
useless law court if naija gud dem go beg mak una go flog those men way dey aso rock dey chop our money 1 day God go remember all of una useless law court charge nd bail
Posted: at 22-10-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Tundea1 at 22-10-2010 06:43 PM (13 years ago)
Eyahhh. But they've been warned severally to desist from hawking
Posted: at 22-10-2010 06:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- igbonnanna at 22-10-2010 07:59 PM (13 years ago)
Well, Parliaments of any nation can go ahead to enact any type of laws they want, be it stupid or senseless. I wonder why a learned person (any way, Nigeria type of educated people) should punish the minors.

Don't they realize that the United Nations Treaty of Children's Rights of 1989 prohibits lashing or flogging minors? Nigeria signed this Treaty. We ought to obey this directive, whether we like it or not. Why didn't the government provide them good lawyers? I am sorry for these children and the typical Nigeria injustices. How can you warn them to desist from acts without providing alternatives means of livelihood? Who will flog the corrupt public office holders?

In a country where the government did not provide any means of sustainability for its citizens, you enact stupid laws to prohibit them from fending for themselves to enable them live on this planet earth.

It is shameful to put it this on world-wide-web (www) for the world to read and see how backward thinking Nigeria is.

I am ashamed to be a Nigerian in in this act and decision and in consideration of the decision of the Court Judges in question.

May God help Nigeria.

from
Nwaorah C.
Posted: at 22-10-2010 07:59 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ifydon at 22-10-2010 08:25 PM (13 years ago)
Sorry to Nigeria as a Nation, and sorry for all those that claims to be lawmakers and law interpreters.Poor Children trying to make a living out of sweat.Its really a shameful thing for us Nigerians living abroad may
God help our Nation.
Posted: at 22-10-2010 08:25 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kharyourdey at 22-10-2010 08:42 PM (13 years ago)
after reading this story i feel pity for those kids, is it their wish to go on hawking on the streets while there mates are in school? The so called 'illitrate' judge that precide over that case should be sue by the united nations for an act of injustice that has been done to this minors, Oh my dear nigeria were are we going? with the way our judiciary system is going, i bet u the masses are suffering. Our political embezzlers who calls themselve the voice of the masses should be dealt with and let them face the real law not enhancing some old fashion law on MINORS. OH NAIJA WERE ART THY GLORY DAYZ :'(
Posted: at 22-10-2010 08:42 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ceejay58 at 23-10-2010 12:27 AM (13 years ago)
WHAT A SENSELESS LAW

AND A SENSELESS PROSECUTOR.
Posted: at 23-10-2010 12:27 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- babyleslie at 23-10-2010 02:05 AM (13 years ago)
@ Tundea 1, what d hell r u talking??? u go feed them if they don't hawk??, one thing u've 2 realize is dat, maybe these people don't have another means of survival, why can't d government pick them all and assist them in one way or d other instead of flogging dis innocent kids?? God dey see sha!!
Posted: at 23-10-2010 02:05 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- AndyRaw at 23-10-2010 03:31 AM (13 years ago)

Some times one feels uncomfortable to identify with that country (Nigeria). Where the hell in the world will a government enact such laws as flogging and imprisoning minors for hawking when the government has not made provisions to cater for the people. Our leaders are just too cheap...they fail to address pressing issues concerning the people and come up with laughable policies that make other nations to relegate us to the background. I am quite disappointed that these laws are coming from the so called "Educated Idiots" that tout themselves to be elite members of our society.
Posted: at 23-10-2010 03:31 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Paschaldon at 23-10-2010 07:17 AM (13 years ago)
 Tongue sham 2 doz dat support hawking..shameless citizens. So wil you go into illegal bisness simply bcos d government  is vry bad?? Try nd cum up wit a gud reason nxttime. 
Posted: at 23-10-2010 07:17 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- juleshotluv at 23-10-2010 07:55 AM (13 years ago)
this is pretty sad. WOW! I havent been in Nigerian for 7years, hearing and reading this is just so shocking. Since when has this kind of thing started happening? Flogging and imprisoning a group of kids is not going to do it. Probably those kids are homeless..Where are they expected to get bail money? This is so uncalled for. Nigeria needs to face the bigger issue. This matter is definitely uncalled for and its shame. Please lord save Nigeria and change Nigeria and make it what you desire.
Posted: at 23-10-2010 07:55 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 23-10-2010 08:00 AM (13 years ago)
i think the warned them earlier on
Posted: at 23-10-2010 08:00 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 23-10-2010 08:01 AM (13 years ago)
its only where theres no rule that there isno law , they warned them before hand , so therefore noting is wrong with their sentences
Posted: at 23-10-2010 08:01 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- augustinaonyean at 23-10-2010 09:40 AM (13 years ago)
The lawmakers of this Country should hv a rethink and know that some of those kids are orphans and some r fatherless and motherless, they can only survive with that hawking.  If each and every one of you should go back to ur past lives u can now know that once upon a time u where like them before God in his infinite mercy made u what u r today.  If those children happens to become somebody in future if they did not meet u they will meet ur generation.  Be careful the way u treat people in ur way up, b/c u may also meet them in ur way back.  remember life is a mystery.  The day Jonathan our amiable President was declared in interest to content for 2011 election if u can remember vividly on his speech he never in line believe that he will be here today.  He said in his school days there was a time he had no shoe, he always go on bair foot  but look at him today is the president of this great nation.  What a wonderful word.  Our Lawmakers pls go back and do something about those kids, and this history should repeat its self again in this country.  Thanks God Bless.       
Posted: at 23-10-2010 09:40 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- esoo at 23-10-2010 09:49 AM (13 years ago)
In europe they all so hawk so naija is the the only place they for example in barcelona,sevilla,valencia, greek, Uk,even in the united states os american so why should they flogged them or even sent some to jail?how many law makers and ex-governors and ex-president have they sent to jail?yeye court
Posted: at 23-10-2010 09:49 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- peaceben at 23-10-2010 11:24 AM (13 years ago)
this country una own don too much sha.
Posted: at 23-10-2010 11:24 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adikpe at 23-10-2010 12:00 PM (13 years ago)
They were warned before hand,
so, you guys should stop talking
negative things about naija.
Posted: at 23-10-2010 12:00 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- josehine at 23-10-2010 12:47 PM (13 years ago)
they should also go to aso rock and flog those people that call their selves leader
Posted: at 23-10-2010 12:47 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- archimedes22 at 23-10-2010 01:38 PM (13 years ago)
it is their own reward
Posted: at 23-10-2010 01:38 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mixtykal at 23-10-2010 01:49 PM (13 years ago)
The stupid lawless Nigeria, Have a law that can imprison teenagers, But can not Defend It's self from terrorist attack, What a shame
to Nigeria,
Go and Flog MEND and BOKO ARAM, sect.
and see the repacautions,,, Uncivilised  Idiots and political criminals of Africa. may you days be short...lol
Posted: at 23-10-2010 01:49 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4

1. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

2. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

3. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

4. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

5. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

6. One Dies, Three Hospitalised As Building Partially Collapse In Lagos

7. Deji Adeyanju Threatens Lead British International School Over Bullying Of Namtira Bwala

8. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

9. Singer, Celine Dion Opens Up On Her Health Struggles

10. Bullying: Lead British International School in Abuja Shut Down

11. Ogun Seals Three Worship Centres Over Noise pollution

12. Embattled Actor, Baba Ijesha Files Appeal Challenging His 5Yrs Imprisonment Over Rape

13. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

14. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

15. How 18Yr Old Boy Fakes His Own Kidnap To Extort Father

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office