We Won’t Let You Destroy Our Heritage - #OccupyLekkiTollGate Protesters Meet Stiff Opposition

Date: 10-02-2021 6:10 am (3 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 10-02-2021 06:10 AM (3 years ago)

A protest slated for February 13, 2021, at the Lekki tollgate in Lagos tagged #OccupyLekkiTollGate has been met with opposition from a set of youths with the hashtag #DefendLagos.

The #OccupyLekkiTollGate protest is aimed at demonstrating against the decision which saw Lekki Concession Company take back control of the Lekki tollgate which is the scene of an alleged shooting of #EndSARS protesters by soldiers on October 20, 2020.

The decision was reached on Saturday, February 6 by the Lagos Judicial Panel of Inquiry and Restitution for Victims of SARS Related Abuses and Lekki Toll Gate Incident.
With a protest against the decision slated for Saturday, some youths who are still displeased at the level of destruction and criminality that occurred during the #EndSARS protest of October 2020 have decided to take an opposing stance.
This stance gave birth to the #DefendLagos hashtag with many now planning to stage a protest at the Lekki tollgate on Saturday against the #OccupyLekkiTollGate protest.

Here are mixed reactions from Nigerians as expressed on the #OccupyLekkiTollGate, #DefendLagos, and #DemNoBornYourPapaWell hashtags:

@olusogaowoeye said, “Show your love for our Lagos. Get your friends and your neighbours to be there. Join The Defend Lagos Rally at the Lekki Toll Plaza on the 13th of February. We will not cede our city to criminals and insurrectionists. Lagos is our Pride. #defendlagos.”

@DrOlufunmilayo said, “#DefendLagos is NOT about defending Lagos. It’s an official confirmation that hoodlums will be used to cause maximum violence and chaos. It is a very subtle way of saying they will burn, destroy and kill just to continue money collection at Lekki Toll Gate.”
@MrLekanAdigun said, “Can’t we true born Nigerians mobilise against these terrorists? We can’t just sit back and watch these anarchists who have nothing to lose destroy our country.”

Posted: at 10-02-2021 06:10 AM (3 years ago) | Hero
- Wazubia at 10-02-2021 08:03 AM (3 years ago)
Posted: at 10-02-2021 08:03 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Baye77 at 10-02-2021 11:40 AM (3 years ago)
Hmm...wahala dey
Posted: at 10-02-2021 11:40 AM (3 years ago) | Hero
- gogoman at 10-02-2021 03:26 PM (3 years ago)
Posted: at 10-02-2021 03:26 PM (3 years ago) | Grande Master
- nikiniki at 10-02-2021 07:53 PM (3 years ago)
Divide and rule....use them to fight themselves. Tear them apart with money and positions and they can never come to any conclusion together!
Posted: at 10-02-2021 07:53 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac