Nigeria’s Level Of Borrowing Is Reasonable - Minister Of Finance Reiterates

Date: 26-02-2021 7:52 am (3 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 26-02-2021 07:52 AM (3 years ago)

The Minister of Finance, Zainab Ahmed, said Nigeria’s borrowing to fund the its buildings for infrastructure and development is not unreasonable.

Speaking to newsmen at a media briefing at the statehouse Abuja on Thursday February 25, Ahmed said this in regards to the criticism faced the administration.

According to her, without borrowing, the country can not build infrastructure and the economy will not grow.

“The level of borrowing is not unreasonable. It is not high. If we say we will not borrow and therefore we will not build rails and major infrastructure until our revenue rises enough, we will regress as a country. We will be left behind. We wouldn’t be able to improve our business environment and our economy will not grow.

We just need to make sure that when we borrow, we apply the borrowing to specific major infrastructure that would enhance the business environment in this country”

The total borrowing of Nigeria as of December 31, 2020 is nearly 25% of the GDP, which has led to the criticism from Nigerians on the debate own by the country.

Posted: at 26-02-2021 07:52 AM (3 years ago) | Hero
- KazirLucidity at 26-02-2021 09:05 AM (3 years ago)
Make somebody shut dis woman up now, e go b like joke oo
Posted: at 26-02-2021 09:05 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- taypetdun at 26-02-2021 09:45 AM (3 years ago)
Is your own minister of finance different, how many times did Dr  Ngozi I weala borrowed when she was minister of finance. That means you are nothing but minister of borrowing as your portfolio. Empty barrels parading themselves as humans
Posted: at 26-02-2021 09:45 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming