"Presidency Must Rotate In 2023 For Peace To Reign In Nigeria" - Yakubu Gowon

Date: 21-03-2021 11:06 pm (3 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 21-03-2021 11:06 PM (3 years ago)

Ahead of the 2023 presidential election, a former Head of State, General Yakubu Gowon (rtd), has called for the zoning and rotation of the presidency among the six geo-political zones of the country.

This, he said, remained paramount for tranquility, development and growth of the country.

Gowon, who spoke yesterday at the 100th anniversary of the Barewa Old Boys Association (BOBA) on the topic: “Barewa College at Centenary, Past Present and Future,” also recommended that there should be two vice presidents, one from the zone where the president hails and the other should be elected and voted to power during the presidential election.

“Also, among the 19 northern states the Nigerian presidential position should be rotated,” he said.

He stated that no ethnic group is better outside the nation than inside as one united Nigeria. He noted that Insecurity was giving the northern region a bad name and image.

The former Nigerian leader noted: “Insecurity is giving the northern region a bad name and image and the need to make the North peaceful again cannot be overemphasized.

“Boko Haram, banditry, kidnapping have threatened the peace and tranquillity needed for educational development in our land.

“Insecurity in any nation threatens development, law and order. Insecurity must be ruthlessly dealt with collectively to pave way for the development of the education sector and development.”

He also said the governorship position in all states of the federation should be rotated among the three senatorial districts in each state, adding that this would help lessen the burden and cry for marginalisation.

Gowon stressed the need for the nation to be united, saying any attempt to scrap the powers of local governments should be rejected.

He said, “Barewa College has produced leaders in all facets of life. Barewa College alumnus has been working together for the development of the North and Nigeria.

“The federal government and 19 northern states governors support the school and its sister colleges.

“Although the school has also suffered neglect, with a change of leadership it is gradually improving and more hard work

Posted: at 21-03-2021 11:06 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Henry7880 at 21-03-2021 11:41 PM (3 years ago)
Yakubu gowon why now? I have watched some of your acts during conspiracy to wipe out biafrans. Why do you want peace when you are almost near death. Unfortunately, rotation of presidency is not in our agenda. We must move on our separate ways, religiously, tribe wise, lifestyle etc for peace to regin.
Posted: at 21-03-2021 11:41 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- Henry7880 at 21-03-2021 11:42 PM (3 years ago)
Yakubu gowon why now? I have watched some of your acts during conspiracy to wipe out biafrans. Why do you want peace when you are almost near death. Unfortunately, rotation of presidency is not in our agenda. We must move on our separate ways, religiously, tribe wise, lifestyle etc for peace to regin.
Posted: at 21-03-2021 11:42 PM (3 years ago) | Newbie
- larry1970 at 22-03-2021 12:13 AM (3 years ago)
While don't you northern go your own  we yoruba people don't want you people Please leave us alone ok
Remember you killed 2million ibos in the tribal war is it not enough Please go your own way
Yoruba nation all the way
Posted: at 22-03-2021 12:13 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 22-03-2021 02:13 AM (3 years ago)
Posted: at 22-03-2021 02:13 AM (3 years ago) | Grande Master
- Patode at 22-03-2021 06:48 AM (3 years ago)
Is it only Ibos that died during the last civil war?  I am yet to read about the people that died in Cross River / Akwa ibom , Rivers, and Delta.
Posted: at 22-03-2021 06:48 AM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- Haso_112 at 22-03-2021 08:18 AM (3 years ago)
HMMMM, THAT'S IF THERE'D BE A NIGERIA BY 2023, 2021 IS PREGNANT, E GO SOON BORN....
Posted: at 22-03-2021 08:18 AM (3 years ago) | Newbie

1. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

2. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

5. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

6. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

7. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer