Can Christians Get Tattoos?

Date: 01-11-2010 10:58 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Temiloluwa (The Lord is Mine)
- at 1-11-2010 10:58 PM (13 years ago)
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.godtube.com/embed/source/7g7dkwnx/400/255/true.js"></script>

What do you think? Tattoos create quite the controversy amongst Christians, but what does the Bible say about them? Craig Groeschel from Lifechurch.tv examines scripture to address this age old question...

Posted: at 1-11-2010 10:58 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DarkCoco at 1-11-2010 11:07 PM (13 years ago)
<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/6VNFwlzQiuc?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/6VNFwlzQiuc?fs=1&amp;hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

Posted: at 1-11-2010 11:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DarkCoco at 1-11-2010 11:12 PM (13 years ago)
<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="560" height="345" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/6VNFwlzQiuc" frameborder="0"></iframe>

Posted: at 1-11-2010 11:12 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- blazingdiamond at 4-11-2010 10:51 AM (13 years ago)
personally i have nothing against tattoos but it is in the bible that we should not put any form of markings on our bodies so i dont think christians should be getting tattoos.
Posted: at 4-11-2010 10:51 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ksurrina at 4-11-2010 06:35 PM (13 years ago)
The Lord said that we should not make no mark on our bodies. I watched the tape and what this man cease to say is that God told us that a FRIEND OF THE WORLD is an ENEMY of Him. James 4 vs 4  Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God.

Adulterers and Adulteresses in this context means SINNERS. Tattoo, creaming of hair, ears piercing etc are all of the world. We should not be doing them when we said that we are BORN AGAIN. Our BEAUTY will shine through with the LOVE we have for Christ. We should also remember that the LAW OF MOSES couldn't give us life but it is there to show us our SINFUL NATURE. Let us keep this in mind. Hugs and blessings

Posted: at 4-11-2010 06:35 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- juleshotluv at 18-11-2010 07:00 PM (13 years ago)
The bible says we shouldnt cut marks on our body for its the temple of God.
Posted: at 18-11-2010 07:00 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ogbes at 27-11-2010 04:34 PM (13 years ago)
having tattoo on ur body does nt make u a sinner..wht if l have tattoo on my hand that say`s JESUS IS LORD..God does nt judge by out-ward appearance bt ur spirit motives
Posted: at 27-11-2010 04:34 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- jaykay123 at 1-12-2010 01:10 PM (13 years ago)
Ther ar tin dat tho may nt b an act of sin but may cuse other pple 2 stumble & begin 2 question ur faith. Ask urself, is befitting or decent? Wat kind of pple is such act normaly asociatd wit. Wat impresion wil it create in otheq pple mind? Hw do u wnt 2 b seen. Blive me, its nt worth d negativ impresion dat goes wt it. Tru xtians must maintain good morals & standad 
Posted: at 1-12-2010 01:10 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- vantheo at 19-12-2010 10:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ogbes on 27-11-2010 04:34 PM
having tattoo on ur body does nt make u a sinner..wht if l have tattoo on my hand that say`s JESUS IS LORD..God does nt judge by out-ward appearance bt ur spirit motives
whether u put jesus is lord or i love God, the bible has already said we should not put any form of marking on our bodies. So stop decievin urself

Posted: at 19-12-2010 10:15 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mubaji at 21-12-2010 03:59 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: blazingdiamond on  4-11-2010 10:51 AM
personally i have nothing against tattoos but it is in the bible that we should not put any form of markings on our bodies so i dont think christians should be getting tattoos.
Posted: at 21-12-2010 03:59 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Romanos at 28-12-2010 07:01 AM (13 years ago)
If we know the Bible, we know that tattoos should not be applied, because that is to deface the body, which is the temple of the Holy Spirit. It doesn't really relate to the prohibition in the Hebrew scriptures about "do not gash yourselves."

Whoever said above, 'getting a tattoo doesn't make me a sinner,' is right, of course. We are all already sinners, and getting a tattoo is sinful only when you get it to disrespect God. Having a tattoo that says Jesus is Lord is a misguided idea, based on what I wrote at first, but one Christian who has no tattoos should not look down on another Christian who does have them, because that goes against Christ's commandment, which is greater than having or not having tattoos. What commandment? Love your neighbor as I have loved you.

We have no excuse to judge our neighbor for having tattoos or not having them. Everyone must be left free to make his own choice.

Posted: at 28-12-2010 07:01 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ALAIGBOAMAKA at 13-11-2011 01:06 PM (12 years ago)
Too many pastors and too many crime. If you got some TATTOOS before you repent what happen.Huh?? If the so called christians believed that it is only through their RELIGION alone that one can make to heaven. ( Its only through Jesus christ one can make heaven. What will happen to those whom are not CHRISTIANS?Huh?Huh??) With or without TATTOOS you make heaven from you heart and not you tattoos. Grin
Posted: at 13-11-2011 01:06 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- CammyWhite at 15-11-2011 11:06 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ksurrina on  4-11-2010 06:35 PM
The Lord said that we should not make no mark on our bodies. I watched the tape and what this man cease to say is that God told us that a FRIEND OF THE WORLD is an ENEMY of Him. James 4 vs 4  Ye adulterers and adulteresses, know ye not that the friendship of the world is enmity with God? whosoever therefore will be a friend of the world is the enemy of God.

Adulterers and Adulteresses in this context means SINNERS. Tattoo, creaming of hair, ears piercing etc are all of the world. We should not be doing them when we said that we are BORN AGAIN. Our BEAUTY will shine through with the LOVE we have for Christ. We should also remember that the LAW OF MOSES couldn't give us life but it is there to show us our SINFUL NATURE. Let us keep this in mind. Hugs and blessings

Everything we do is "of this world". If you're so keen to be a friend of Yahweh, maybe you should leave.
Posted: at 15-11-2011 11:06 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OREALBABA at 21-12-2011 11:34 AM (12 years ago)
Biblicaly, i think tatoos are not good for a good christian.
Posted: at 21-12-2011 11:34 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kay-m6 at 16-02-2012 09:22 PM (12 years ago)
tattoo is not for Christ like,  say no to it..................final!
Posted: at 16-02-2012 09:22 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie

1. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

2. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

3. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

4. Viral Asoebi Lady, Olivia Emmanuel Releases Over 20 Numbers of Men Sliding in Her DM

5. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

6. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

7. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

8. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

9. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

10. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

11. Abeg Free Our Mommy of Lagos, We Need New TikTok Sounds - BBNaija's Vee Iye Speaks For Bobrisky

12. Netizens React As DeeOne Begs Phyna For Forgiveness Following His Battle With Strange Illness

13. Federal Govt Suspends Dana Airline Indefinitely Over Safety Concerns

14. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

15. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

16. Multichoice Increases Prices in GOtv And Dstv Subscriptions in NIgeria

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office