"If Nigeria Breaks Up, Minority Groups Will Be Exterminated" – Ex Nigerian Pre. Obasanjo

Date: 05-05-2021 8:27 pm (3 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 5-05-2021 08:27 PM (3 years ago)

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo on Wednesday described calls for the disintegration of Nigeria as unmindful and insensitive to the plight of the minority groups in the country.

Mr. Obasanjo made the observation when he received the Tiv Professional Group (TPG) from Benue State, who paid him a courtesy visit in Abeokuta.

The former president recalled a discussion between him and “a military friend” who, according to him, has described major tribes in the country as selfish and not sufficiently caring for the minority groups.

Mr. Obasanjo, who aligned with his friend’s opinion, expressed worry over what would become of the minority groups if the major tribes decided to secede and begin to operate as separate countries.

“If the Yoruba can stand as a country if the Igbos and the Hausa/Fulani can stand as separate countries, where do we want the minority groups to be?

“Now, by virtue of the present situation, they are a little bit protected, but if Nigeria breaks up, they will be oppressed and exterminated,”
he said.

He recalled the meetings he had with a number of socio-cultural organizations in September 2020 and noted that nobody at such meeting talked about disintegration or breakup, saying that “all they clamored for was a change for good.”

The former president stressed the need for Nigerian leaders to be mindful of the ethnic diversity of the Nigerian nation, adding that the country would not make any meaningful progress without such consideration.

Mr Obasanjo, who expressed hope that the rough times that Nigeria was going through would not last forever, urged Nigerians to be patient while the country gathered her goodwill and moved in the right direction.

Posted: at 5-05-2021 08:27 PM (3 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- larry1970 at 5-05-2021 09:11 PM (3 years ago)
Please nobody should listen to this man he's not the one talking ok he's talking for the western world ok hes one of the problems we facing today we don't want your advice Please let the youths make their own decisions ok
And I think at your age you really should spend alot of time with your grandchildren and take a Caribbean vacation ok
Please we don't trust you an inch anymore ok
Lori iro
Posted: at 5-05-2021 09:11 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larry1970 at 5-05-2021 09:12 PM (3 years ago)
Please nobody should listen to this man he's not the one talking ok he's talking for the western world ok hes one of the problems we facing today we don't want your advice Please let the youths make their own decisions ok
And I think at your age you really should spend alot of time with your grandchildren and take a Caribbean vacation ok
Please we don't trust you an inch anymore ok
Lori iro
Posted: at 5-05-2021 09:12 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Winchester052 at 5-05-2021 09:33 PM (3 years ago)
Confusion everywhere
Posted: at 5-05-2021 09:33 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- GermoDon at 5-05-2021 09:47 PM (3 years ago)
Starting from u
Posted: at 5-05-2021 09:47 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Goldtime at 6-05-2021 01:28 AM (3 years ago)
Nigeria can and never will divide ! It’s too intertwined to get out of its unification.It is easy to say disintegration but implementation is major determinator. Looking at Nigeria geographic landscape with over 250 ethnicity ,it would be a suicide to ever think it’s possible . Africa  do not need such division which as a result dampened its strength and glory .I still refuse to understand in this 21st century the continent inhabitants are not seeking global recognition nor global power to compete with world powers .And one thing I know for sure is the Nigerian army is too multiethnic to divide peacefully ,any attempt to for secession will lead to a Millitary take over ,which I personally will love to see .If it comes to secession threats the Nigeria will go back to dictatorship and maybe when your start getting chained and whip in the streets your senses will come back . Too much of democratic rights is not suitable for Nigerian .the Nigerian nation only need the type of the Abacha era governance .Western democracy isn’t for Nigerian , it’s been abused
Posted: at 6-05-2021 01:28 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 6-05-2021 01:46 AM (3 years ago)
una no well
Posted: at 6-05-2021 01:46 AM (3 years ago) | Grande Master
- kima77same at 6-05-2021 09:39 AM (3 years ago)
"WHERE WERE THE MINORITIES  TRIBES  BEFORE THE BRITISH MERGED ALL THE TRIBES TOGETHER?
    THEY CAN BECOME A COUNTRY OF THEIR OWN, AS IT WAS BEFORE THE BRITISH JOINED THEM TOGETHER.
   THERE ARE COUNTRIES IN AFRICA WHO LESS THAN 900 THOUSAND PEOPLE IN POPULATION.
   EVERY TRIBE CAN GO SEPARATE WAYS
Posted: at 6-05-2021 09:39 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Haso112 at 6-05-2021 09:44 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: Goldtime on  6-05-2021 01:28 AM
Nigeria can and never will divide ! It’s too intertwined to get out of its unification.It is easy to say disintegration but implementation is major determinator. Looking at Nigeria geographic landscape with over 250 ethnicity ,it would be a suicide to ever think it’s possible . Africa  do not need such division which as a result dampened its strength and glory .I still refuse to understand in this 21st century the continent inhabitants are not seeking global recognition nor global power to compete with world powers .And one thing I know for sure is the Nigerian army is too multiethnic to divide peacefully ,any attempt to for secession will lead to a Millitary take over ,which I personally will love to see .If it comes to secession threats the Nigeria will go back to dictatorship and maybe when your start getting chained and whip in the streets your senses will come back . Too much of democratic rights is not suitable for Nigerian .the Nigerian nation only need the type of the Abacha era governance .Western democracy isn’t for Nigerian , it’s been abused

DO YOU ACTUALLY RESIDE, HAVE FAMILY & DO BUSINESS IN NIGERIA?
Posted: at 6-05-2021 09:44 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maxzy277 at 6-05-2021 02:48 PM (3 years ago)
What can you point to as per what they have benefitted under Nigeria since independence. Most of Nigerian leaders both part and present needs brain examination. Mentally derailed people are everywhere in Naija both under the hot sun and inside the cold AC in offices and homes.
Posted: at 6-05-2021 02:48 PM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac