We Know Kidnappers' Hide-out, We Are Only Being Careful - Lai Mohammed Reveals

Date: 12-05-2021 8:52 am (2 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 12-05-2021 08:52 AM (2 years ago)

The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, has assured Nigerians that the Federal Government is handling the problem of insecurity in the country.

He said the insinuation in some quarters that the government was clueless was unfounded, adding that the result of government’s efforts would soon be evident.

A statement said the minister spoke on Tuesday during a press briefing in Lagos.

He said, “It is no longer news that our dear nation is facing security challenges. However, I have read comments saying the Federal Government is overwhelmed and doesn’t have a clue as to how to tackle the challenges. Some have even gone as far as suggesting a truncation of the democratic order, a clearly treasonable stance.

“Well, I am here today to assure all Nigerians that while the government acknowledges the security challenges we face at this time, from terrorism to kidnapping, banditry and farmer-herder conflict, it is definitely not overwhelmed and indeed it has the wherewithal, as you will see in the days ahead, to confront the challenges headlong and restore law and order, peace and security.

Mohammed explained that the government indeed knew the locations of kidnappers, adding that security agencies were only being careful to avoid civilian casualties.

“One of the most difficult things to do, for a democratically-elected government, is to use the instruments of coercion against its own people. For example, while the nation’s military have superior firepower over the rag tag band of Boko Haram and ISWA, the terrorists most often than not operate among the populace, either in our villages or towns, hence the military, in tackling them, is usually careful to avoid collateral damage.

“The same applies to the kidnappers who abduct our school children. Usually, the location of the kidnappers is not unknown to security forces, but they still have to exercise caution in order not to hurt the same children they are trying to rescue. Despite these inhibitions, the security forces have the wherewithal to decisively tackle the challenges,” he added.

He lamented the attacks on security agencies in some parts of the country, saying they were a declaration of war.

Posted: at 12-05-2021 08:52 AM (2 years ago) | Hero
- Henrybobo at 12-05-2021 09:34 AM (2 years ago)
hmm see talk oooo
Posted: at 12-05-2021 09:34 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- olowoinlionsden at 12-05-2021 09:53 AM (2 years ago)
You are only being careful; thats stupidity. The people you are trying to protect equally are probably aware of the kidnappers in their environment but choose to cooperate with them. Is it not desirous we waste some few crim  nals in order toprotect the innocent majority. Unless the Government is not telling us it has soft spots for these criminals as a result ethnic affinity.
Posted: at 12-05-2021 09:53 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- rainbowlove at 12-05-2021 10:24 AM (2 years ago)
I just hate this useless cow with passion;i don't know why..Ewu
Posted: at 12-05-2021 10:24 AM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jabadabawa at 12-05-2021 01:42 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: rainbowlove on 12-05-2021 10:24 AM
I just hate this useless cow with passion;i don't know why..Ewu
E no go beta for this man
Posted: at 12-05-2021 01:42 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- Jabadabawa at 12-05-2021 01:43 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: Jabadabawa on 12-05-2021 01:42 PM
E no go beta for this man
  Laya Mohammed
Posted: at 12-05-2021 01:43 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- Boi2Man at 12-05-2021 03:48 PM (2 years ago)
 Why is it that any time this man open his mouth it always smell like sepulcher?
Posted: at 12-05-2021 03:48 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- titobenja at 12-05-2021 05:06 PM (2 years ago)
CONTINUE TO BE CAREFUL UNTILL IT WILL BE YOUR TURN OR YOUR FAMILY'S, MUMU GORILLA.
Posted: at 12-05-2021 05:06 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kacylee at 13-05-2021 06:13 AM (2 years ago)
mad man

Posted: at 13-05-2021 06:13 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. VID: Singer Paul Okoye Cries Out Over The Struggles Of House Chores In The UK

2. Mayorkun Slam Nicki Da Barbie With N1b Lawsuit For Damaging His Reputation, Accusing Of Been A

3. VID: Prophet Sends Disturbing Message To Paul Okoye About His Girlfriend, Ivy Ifeoma

4. Police Parade One-Man Interstate Phone Thief, 10 Others In Kwara

5. VIDEO: Unrest In Plateau As Gunmen Kill University Student, 19 Others 20 In Fresh Attack

6. "Declaring Yahaya Bello Wanted Unnecessary" – Bwala Slams EFCC

7. ‘It’s False’ - Singer Skiibii Reacts To Nicki Dabarbie’s ‘Ritual’ Accusation

8. APC Reacts To Claims That Presidency Is Involved In Ganduje’s Suspension

9. Lagos Govt Arrests 10 Fake MOT Enforcement Officials

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

4. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

7. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

8. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer