El-Rufai Slams Nigeria Governors’ Forum For Not Giving Him Support During Face Off With NLC

Date: 20-05-2021 9:48 am (2 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 20-05-2021 09:48 AM (2 years ago)

Governor Nasir El-Rufai has accused the Nigeria Governors’ Forum of not giving him the support he needed during his face-off with leaders of the Nigerian Labour Congress over a warning strike which was carried out in Kaduna state he governs.
El-Rufai who spoke during a virtual meeting of the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) on Wednesday May 19, also claimed that the strike was politically motivated.
He also insisted that Governors owe their people accountability and not the NLC. The Governor said;
“We will fight this. we are breaking them and they will leave town ashamed. I will not give them one inch because this is not about unionism.

“If it is about rights of workers Kaduna is not the only state that has retrenched workers, Kaduna is not a state owing salaries, Kaduna is not a state failing to pay minimum wage, Kaduna is not a state owing years of pension arrears, why didn’t they go there? Kaduna was targeted for political reasons, and they are being financed by certain political interests.

“But we will fight them, we will defeat them but as the governor of Bayelsa said, and since he has brought that subject, I have a responsibility to put it through, unless we collectively address this monster, it will consume all of us.

“After this, they will never come back to Kaduna, they will never come back, you will see. They will go to other states it’s up to the forum to decide on what to do, but we are here, we are ready, we will end this by the grace of God.”

The governor also criticised the NGF for issuing a press release in which they urged the union to exercise calm and restraint in its engagement with the state government.

“That press release with the greatest respect was unhelpful. It was unhelpful, it said nothing it was trying to play both sides.

“I am a governor, I am one of you, the least I expect from the Nigeria Governors’ Forum is unequivocal and unqualified support I didn’t see that in that statement. I am being very blunt; I could pretend and be political and just smile and say it was alright but it is not. But I am used to fighting my own battles.

“We are not running a unitary system (of government), we are a federation. We are elected to govern different states, we owe our people accountability not the NLC, we should take a common stand.”

Posted: at 20-05-2021 09:48 AM (2 years ago) | Hero
- kelv09 at 20-05-2021 01:12 PM (2 years ago)
Mr GOVERNOR or what you called yourself.. You cant sack workers and expect they go home and CRY. LOL Cheesy
Posted: at 20-05-2021 01:12 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- gogoman at 20-05-2021 02:29 PM (2 years ago)
Mumu fighting the workers in your state is dangerous.. u people are just stupid
Posted: at 20-05-2021 02:29 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master

1. VID: Suspected Cultist Who Killed Final Year ABSU Student Pleads For A Second Chance

2. How Man Cut Off His Mum’s Hand So He Could Use Her Fingertips To Steal Cash From Account

3. Manchester United v Sheffield: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

4. Speed Darlington Drags His Aunt For Threatening To Kill Him After Asking Her To Remove Her Chur

5. Group Hits Hard On IGP For Opposing Establishment Of State Police

6. One Dies Of Heart Attack As Bride-To-Be's Family & Passengers Foil Kidnap Attempt, Kill Bandit

7. Watch Drama As Passenger Refused Drunk Driver To Convey Them To Their Destination

8. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office