Ex-Osun Speaker, Alabi Calls for Boycott of Israeli Made Products Over Middle East Unrest

Date: 23-05-2021 6:01 pm (2 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 23-05-2021 06:01 PM (2 years ago)

A former Speaker, Osun State House of Assembly, Professor Majeed Alabi has called on Nigerians to boycott all products being produced by Israelis.

Alabi made the call on Sunday while addressing journalists during a press conference organized to kick against the alleged persecution of Palestinians by Israelis in the Middle East.

Our correspondent gathered that ongoing hostilities between Israelis and Palestinians have continued unabated despite several efforts to halt them.

Alabi maintained that blockage of all products linked or produced by Israelis would serve as one of the weapons to draw the attention of Israel to listen to the voice of reasoning.

At the conference were some members of the Palestinian community in Nigeria, Islamic scholars and hundreds of Muslims.

Alabi, a Professor of Political Science and Adjunct Professor of Public Law described the alleged persecution, oppression of Palestinians by Israelis as unacceptable and a gross violation of human rights.

He added that it is necessary to put pressure on Israel to ensure that there is lasting peace in Palestine as the hostility could have negative effects on global peace for decades.
The former Member, House of Representatives who represented Ede North, Ede South, Egbedore and Ejigbo Federal Constituency in Osun state between 2015 and 2019 while speaking further described the blockage and boycott of products being produced by Israelis as legal and one of the weapons of non-violent change.

“It is necessary to put pressure on the state of Israel to ensure that we have peace for the Palestinians in the Middle East.

“It is important for us as human rights activists to ensure that because this issue has been disturbing the whole world for decades.

“Yes, blockage. In international relations, blockage which you called boycott is a weapon.

“It is a legitimate weapon of international relations. And therefore, if we feel that one way to pressure Israel to dance to what the majority are saying globally to the United Nations General Assembly is to boycott the products, so be it. This is a legitimate weapon.”

Alabi asked Nigerians to join the rest of the world to put pressure on Israel to ensure lasting peace in Palestine because whatever affects one country has a tendency to affect other countries.

“It affects us in Nigeria because the whole world is now a global village. Whatever happens in any part of the world has a tendency to affect other parts of the world.

“People who are in the Middle East are also human beings and as member of the United Nations, we subscribe to the idea of human rights. We should try as much as possible to ensure that human rights are guaranteed in any part of the world.”

Posted: at 23-05-2021 06:01 PM (2 years ago) | Hero
- chito at 23-05-2021 06:19 PM (2 years ago)
Boycott kọ, boycott ni,
Posted: at 23-05-2021 06:19 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- Sameola1 at 23-05-2021 07:17 PM (2 years ago)
Abeg tell us wetin you dey produce maybe that'll give us a substitute
Posted: at 23-05-2021 07:17 PM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- taypetdun at 23-05-2021 08:13 PM (2 years ago)
Stupid Mu Mu professor. Is that what you are teaching your students? As a professor, you still think like the amajaris, by boycotting Israeli products, will that stop the problem of middle east. No iota  of political thought in you. You are in Nigeria facing insurgents problems and thinking of helping Palestinians by boycotting Israeli products, first remove the plank in your eye to enable  you see well before helping another person remove his. That's how you people incite problems.
Posted: at 23-05-2021 08:13 PM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 23-05-2021 10:54 PM (2 years ago)
as if Nigerians have the money to even buy Israelis products
Posted: at 23-05-2021 10:54 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- nikiniki at 24-05-2021 12:07 AM (2 years ago)
See me see trouble...his people are being killed, maimed and kidnapped by Muslims who are fulanis, he never told his people in islam to boycott Mecca and Medina for hajji. Olosi
Posted: at 24-05-2021 12:07 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ikpotokin at 24-05-2021 02:00 AM (2 years ago)
Because you are a mumu Muslim
Posted: at 24-05-2021 02:00 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mountain007 at 24-05-2021 03:33 AM (2 years ago)
Mumu professor . They need to check his brain,  Naija problems are enough to carry.  Useless professor
Posted: at 24-05-2021 03:33 AM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- realitybbo at 24-05-2021 07:43 AM (2 years ago)
Mumu Professor
Posted: at 24-05-2021 07:43 AM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- ignis99 at 25-05-2021 06:19 PM (2 years ago)
Very stupid man who cares what he says
Posted: at 25-05-2021 06:19 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

4. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,