How AGF, Abubakar Malami Rebuffed UK High Commissioner Over Nnamdi Kanu’s Arrest

Date: 03-07-2021 6:56 am (2 years ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 3-07-2021 06:56 AM (2 years ago)

Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation (AGF), rejected a move by Catriona Laing, UK high commissioner to Nigeria, to discuss the arrest of Nnamdi Kanu, Biafra separatist leader, when they both met on Thursday, TheCable understands.

Kanu , who is also a British citizen and leads the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB), was repatriated to Nigeria this week after evading arrest for almost four years.

He was mostly in the UK from where he runs Radio Biafra, IPOB’s radio station with which he often engages in fierce monologues preaching his separatist cause.

Dean Hurlock, a spokesperson of the British High Commission, had earlier told TheCable that the UK is “in the process of seeking clarification” from the federal government regarding his arrest.

But the UK’s move to weigh in on the matter hit a brick wall when Malami hosted Laing in Abuja.

TheCable learnt that the British high commissioner to Nigeria raised the issue of Kanu’s arrest, but the minister quickly rebuffed her.

A source familiar with the matter said he told Laing that the matter was “not part of the agenda and we’re not going to discuss it”.

There is little official information about Kanu’s arrest other than Malami’s statement that the IPOB leader was “intercepted through the collaborative efforts of Nigerian intelligence and Security Services”.

However, TheCable learnt that the separatist leader was lured to an African country with a promise of cash donations and was then picked up.

Security sources informed TheCable that he was tracked through some members of IPOB who were recently arrested following a massive military operation in the south-east.

His trial for alleged terrorism, treasonable felony and illegal possession of firearms is scheduled to resume at the federal high court in Abuja on July 26.

Other highlights of the meeting between Malami and Laing, according to Umar Gwandu, the minister’s spokesman, was the former’s insistence that Nigeria was right to ban Twitter.

The ban was triggered in part by how Kanu used the microblogging platform to often attack Nigeria and the federal government during his frequent broadcasts about the Biafra agitation.

The minister was quoted as saying that Nigeria’s interest is paramount above other considerations, and that, “if you want to operate as a business entity in Nigeria, you must do so within the context of Nigerian laws”.

The duo also discussed bilateral issues on asset recovery, anti-corruption crusade, amendment of the electoral act, counter-terrorism efforts and the petroleum industry bill, which the national assembly passed on Thursday.

Posted: at 3-07-2021 06:56 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Patode at 3-07-2021 07:48 AM (2 years ago)
Nigeria is a sovereign nation!.In the UK manual on 'Support for British nationals abroad: A guide', it states
"if you are a dual British national in the country of your other nationality (for example, a dual Nigerian-British national in Nigeria), we would not normally offer you support or get involved in dealings between you and the authorities of that state.We may make an exception to this rule if, having looked at the circumstances of the case, we consider that you are vulnerable and we have humanitarian concerns.
We would not normally attend a court case involving a British national, and we cannot influence the outcome of any trial," UK Home office guidelines.

Posted: at 3-07-2021 07:48 AM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- olowoinlionsden at 3-07-2021 07:57 AM (2 years ago)
Methinks the British Government is being hypocritical  in this "roforofo" fight involving Kanu. Granted the British Government has the right to get involved in tthe affairs conening any person carrying its passport, is the Government saying it is oblivious of the criminal activities of its adopted son against his own Country?
Posted: at 3-07-2021 07:57 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 3-07-2021 09:19 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: olowoinlionsden on  3-07-2021 07:57 AM
Methinks the British Government is being hypocritical  in this "roforofo" fight involving Kanu. Granted the British Government has the right to get involved in tthe affairs conening any person carrying its passport, is the Government saying it is oblivious of the criminal activities of its adopted son against his own Country?
The crime of right to self determination abi?

Posted: at 3-07-2021 09:19 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 3-07-2021 02:51 PM (2 years ago)
he jumped bail which is a big problem... he should fight it out in the court of law
Posted: at 3-07-2021 02:51 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- Goldtime at 3-07-2021 04:21 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  3-07-2021 02:51 PM
he jumped bail which is a big problem... he should fight it out in the court of law
Thank you bro! This guy will be sentenced and hopefully some deathrow pikin will be paid to do him right in the jail .Phuck is faggot butthole !
Posted: at 3-07-2021 04:21 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

6. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

7. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

8. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

9. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

10. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

11. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

12. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

13. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

14. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims