IPOB Leader Nnamdi Kanu Demands N5bn From Buhari's Government

Date: 08-09-2021 8:07 am (2 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 8-09-2021 08:07 AM (2 years ago)

The leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB), Nnamdi Kanu, has asked an Abia State High Court to order the federal government to release him.

Kanu, through his lawyer, Aloy Ejimakor, also prayed the court to order the Nigerian Government to pay him N5 billion as compensation, for infringing on his fundamental human rights.

Ejimakor disclosed in a statement he signed on Tuesday.

He urged the court to compel the Nigerian government to release the IPOB leader.

According to Ejimakor: “Today, I secured an order from the High Court of Abia State to serve by substituted an application for enforcement of the fundamental rights of Mazi Nnamdi Kanu, which I recently brought before the High Court of Abia State.”

He pointed out that Kanu’s rights were infringed upon during the alleged extrajudicial attempt on his life in 2017 in Abia and his abduction in Kenya and his extraordinary rendition to Nigeria.

Ejimakor further sought some reliefs from the court on the enforcement of Kanu’s fundamental rights.

Amongst the reliefs sought, Ejimakor prayed the court to compel the Nigerian Government to apologise to Kanu openly.

He said an apology letter should be published in national dailies.

The reliefs read partly: “An order mandating and compelling the the respondents or their agents to forthwith release the applicant from detention and restitute or otherwise restore applicant to his liberty, same being his state of being as of 19th June, 2021; and to thereupon repatriate the Applicant to his country of domicile (to wit: Britain) to await the outcome of any formal request the Respondents may file before the competent authorities in Britain for the lawful extradition of the Applicant to Nigeria to continue his prosecution in Charge No: FHC/ABJ/CR/383/2015 (Federal Republic of Nigeria v. Nnamdi Kanu).

“An order mandating and compelling the respondents to pay the sum of N5000,000,000.00 (Five Billion Naira) to the applicant, being monetary damages claimed by the applicant against the respondents jointly and severally for the physical, mental, emotional, psychological and other damages suffered by the applicant as a result of the infringements of applicant’s fundamental rights.”

Posted: at 8-09-2021 08:07 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- marijuanaa at 8-09-2021 08:30 AM (2 years ago)
Yoruba's nd Igbo's can betray seriously....that's why the hausa man is doing them anyhw
Posted: at 8-09-2021 08:30 AM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- Sandraovm7 at 8-09-2021 08:38 AM (2 years ago)
Breaking news this is to inform the general public that individual can now #buy dangote cement directly  from the factory at the rate  of 2000 Naira per bag and Rice for 19,000 naira per bag. call the marketing manager Mrs Aruna Grace on  (08034825434) or whatsapp Transportation and offloading is 300 Naira, minimum for purchase is from 100 bags and above.  we deliver nation wide only serious buyers should call. Note payment validate order.
Posted: at 8-09-2021 08:38 AM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- joebanner at 8-09-2021 09:15 AM (2 years ago)
Why is this man compounding issues,someone in jail suing  government for 5 billion naira,you have not even secure your freedom first.its money you are after.the lawyer is making caricature of himself and his learned certificaticate.
Posted: at 8-09-2021 09:15 AM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- constigoldo at 8-09-2021 09:18 AM (2 years ago)
Posted: at 8-09-2021 09:18 AM (2 years ago) | Hero
- SWORDMAN at 8-09-2021 12:13 PM (2 years ago)
ONCE YOU GET THE CASH FROM 9JA GOV.. ITS FINISH THEY WILL BRIBE ALL OF THEM WITH MONEY AND CASE  CLOSE.. THE GOV WILL USE IT AGAINST KANU AND HIS TEAM.. THEY WILL DEFINITELY BRING DIVISION.
Posted: at 8-09-2021 12:13 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Gguard at 8-09-2021 01:11 PM (2 years ago)
 Hahaha they will not pay you, unless you change from freedom fighter to Kidnapper/Banditry
Posted: at 8-09-2021 01:11 PM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- FloJoJo at 8-09-2021 01:43 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: Gguard on  8-09-2021 01:11 PM
Hahaha they will not pay you, unless you change from freedom fighter to Kidnapper/Banditry

Cheesy Grin
Posted: at 8-09-2021 01:43 PM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- blowout at 8-09-2021 02:32 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: Gguard on  8-09-2021 01:11 PM
Hahaha na true u talk o. Na only ransom naija government dey pay.
Posted: at 8-09-2021 02:32 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac