BIAFRA, IPOB Sit-At-Home Costs South East $1.5BN Each Day

Date: 18-09-2021 7:05 am (2 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 18-09-2021 07:05 AM (2 years ago)

Young people in Lagos are busy raising money for their start-up business, pitching to investors both local and global why they should trust them with their funds, showing reasons why their idea will solve a problem in our society.

Just this year alone, startups based in Lagos have raised $1.5 billion from investors and venture capitalists.

For proper context; the 5 southeast states combined have not generated up to $1 billion (500 billion) both from their IGR and allocation from Abuja this year.

From Opay to Flutter wave and then Kuda bank, the money has been flowing from the investors abroad to startups in Lagos.

Opay for instance recently raised $400 million from investors, the money Opay raised is higher than the GDP of 5 southeast states combined.

Remember, when these guys raise this money from venture capitalists and investors, they spend it in Lagos, thereby contributing to the GDP growth and the local economy of Lagos.

In the east where I come from, IPOB is using violence to compel people and businesses to close and stay at home and some of us are cheering them on.

Which investors or venture capital will look at startups scattered all over East and give them capital to start a business with what IPOB is doing?

Ideally, startups in Onitsha, Enugu, Owerri and Nnewi should be competing with the startups in Lagos in terms of attracting capital and talent.

With our brilliance and ingenuity, Eastern Nigeria is supposed to be the next Silicon Valley, the next Yaba, an ecosystem that attracts and keeps talent in the face of the technology revolution going on in Lagos.

Paystack, a payment start-up in Lagos that was founded by young people in their 30’s who wear tattoos and dreadlocks was acquired by Stripe for $200 million.

I’m not sure they are many companies in the east worth $200 million at the moment.

If they exist, I’m not sure that they are up to 5.

But our friends at IPOB don’t understand this.

They don’t understand that times have changed and so we need to position our young people to tap into emerging technological opportunities.

Posted: at 18-09-2021 07:05 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- marijuanaa at 18-09-2021 07:53 AM (2 years ago)
The problem with the Igbo's is that most of their top leader's re coward
Posted: at 18-09-2021 07:53 AM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- joromy at 18-09-2021 08:01 AM (2 years ago)
let them continue their seat at home. Idiot people with out vision.
Posted: at 18-09-2021 08:01 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 18-09-2021 10:22 AM (2 years ago)
Junk journalism. Even though you claim to come from the east, but you didn't deem it necessary to make findings before writing this junk. You are not sure of anything, yet you came to chase clout. IPOB has made successive mistakes presently, but I see those that capitalize on anything written about them to pour out their hatred for Ndigbo. This one here wey get vision,with your vision, u don see God ?, Prophet. Even with the sit at home, companies worth upwards of $200 Million are more than 500 in Aba metropolis alone.

Posted: at 18-09-2021 10:22 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- starzx at 18-09-2021 11:52 AM (2 years ago)
FREE MNK, AFTER ALL WE DNT SEE WHT YOU PEOPLE USE THE MONEY FOR!!!! YOU ONLY USE IT TO PAY BANDITS RANSOME!!!!!! SOME WHY SHOULD WE CARE?!!! THE SIT AT HOME STANDS UNTIL MNK IS FREE!!!!!!!! SIMPLE. ONLY MNK CAN STOP IT, NOBODY ELSE, HE SACRIFICE BEATING AND TORTURED FOR US, SO IF WE CAN PAY BACK JST SITTING AT HOME THEN WE ARE READY TILL THE END. AFTERALL THE WHOLE STATE MONEY NA HUASA DEY CARRY ALL PAY BANDITS., NO ROADS, SCHOOLS, HOSPITALS IN THE STATES WIT ALL THIS MONEY YOU ASSUNE TO BE LOOSING DAILY.
Posted: at 18-09-2021 11:52 AM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- gogoman at 18-09-2021 04:25 PM (2 years ago)
Posted: at 18-09-2021 04:25 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master