Police arrest cattle farmers in hotel room after highway robbery

Date: 27-11-2010 3:27 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 27-11-2010 03:27 PM (13 years ago)

Efforts by the people of Oyo State to stem the tide of robbery through community initiative may have started to yield results as a team of night guards again arrested a notorious robbery suspect said to be terrorising travellers on the Moniya-Oyo Expressway.

Two months ago, some highway guards engaged a gang of bandits in a gun battle in the Oke Ogun area of the state.

The vigilance group on patrol on the Moniya-Oyo Expressway reportedly arrested a member of a robbery gang, one Mohammed Bello, who was said to specialise in terrorising unsuspecting travellers in the area.

Bello, 22, was said to have been arrested in a botched robbery attempt on the highway.

Following the interrogation of the suspect by the police, a team of detectives attached to the State Anti-Robbery Squad, combed the highway in effort to apprehend the hoodlums.

Crime Digest gathered that three other members of the gang, Buba Abubakar, 25; Umoru Bature, 20; and Kirus Mohammed, 22, were arrested by the police at their hideout in a hotel at Kara, Akinyele area of Moniya.

Items recovered from the bandits included a dane gun, three live cartridges, a cutlass and some charms. Also recovered were several pieces of guinea brocade estimated at N50,000.

The suspects told Crime Digest that they were farmers, who were also engaged in cattle rearing, saying they took to robbery as a result of the hard times.

Bello explained that he was not a notorious robber as alleged, saying it was the first time that he was arrested for armed robbery.

He said, “This is the first time I ever got into police net. I just went into robbery a few months ago and I don’t do it every time. I rob because things are hard for me. It is not something that I enjoy doing.”

According to the Commissioner of Police, Oyo State Command, Mr. Adisa Bolanta, the suspects have confessed to the alleged crime.

Bolanta said, “The suspects said they stole the items from passengers when they robbed a vehicle on the Oyo-Ibadan Expressway. Residents of Akinyele area of Moniya, Ibadan have been complaining of the activities of the men of the underworld. With this arrest, we are sure that members of the community can now sleep with their eyes closed.

“I only appeal to the people to join hands with the police in crime fighting. It will be easy if the people make up their minds to expose elements with questionable character among them. This will make the job of the police much easier.”

The police commissioner pledged that his command would ensure that lives and property of the people of the state were protected.

He said, “Our duty is to burst crime even before it is committed. We shall continue to give the criminals a good fight until we are able to bring them down.”

Posted: at 27-11-2010 03:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yettyness at 28-11-2010 05:51 PM (13 years ago)
God help nigeria...
Posted: at 28-11-2010 05:51 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- D9ja at 20-11-2011 08:43 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: yettyness on 28-11-2010 05:51 PM
God help nigeria...
yes oh
Posted: at 20-11-2011 08:43 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- babyleslie at 20-11-2011 10:13 PM (12 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 20-11-2011 10:13 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 20-11-2011 10:26 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: babyleslie on 20-11-2011 10:13 PM
Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked

whats wrong with you this girl sef ?
Posted: at 20-11-2011 10:26 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- babyleslie at 21-11-2011 02:04 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 20-11-2011 10:26 PM
whats wrong with you this girl sef ?
My friend what's wrong with u?? i go yab u now..
Posted: at 21-11-2011 02:04 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 21-11-2011 09:01 AM (12 years ago)
chei --- you no dey fear?
Posted: at 21-11-2011 09:01 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- chicco77 at 23-06-2012 10:36 PM (11 years ago)
HMMMMMMMMMMM
Posted: at 23-06-2012 10:36 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero

1. Netizens Knock Tinubu’s Aide, Onanuga Over Comment On Yahaya Bello Arrest

2. Isaac Fayose Reacts To Trending Video Of A Crossdresser In A Police Station

3. Is It Normal For A Man To Wash His Partner's Pant? - Actor Adeniyi Johnson Asks

4. VID: Tiktoker Nickie DaBarbie Accuses Singer, Skiibi Of Attempting To Use Her For Ritual

5. Check Out These Nollywood Actors Who Ventured Into Music

6. Controversial Singer, Portable Celebrates Wife, Bewaji On Her Birthday, Shares Lovely Photos

7. "I’m Ready To Help Burna Boy If He Is Respectful" –Brymo Throws Shade

8. Nigeria Correctional Service Refutes Claims That Bobrisky Was Moved From Ikoyi Prison To Kiriki

9. I Wish They'll Bring Back Those Days When Men Will Go To War And Never Return - Woman Blows Hot

10. Lagos Govt Arrests 25 Suspected Miscreants, Including Lebanese Squatting Under Bridges

11. Tragedy As Kenyan Defence Chief, 9 Other Senior Officers Perish In Helicopter Crash

12. Grandmother Arrested For Locking Up Her Grandchildren In A House In Lagos

13. A Man Who Marries A Woman Who Twerks Online For A Living Is A Fool Says Solomon Buchi

14. Actress Etinosa Rants About Irresponsible Parents

15. IGP Withdraws Policemen Attached To Wanted Ex Kogi Gov. Yahaya Bello

1. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

2. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

3. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

4. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

5. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

6. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

7. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

8. "Why Zubby Michael Won’t Dare Mourn Junior Pope" - Actress Angela Okorie

9. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

10. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)