Defiled by father, rescued by strangers

Date: 28-11-2010 7:36 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 28-11-2010 07:36 PM (13 years ago)

Grace Ike (not real name) lost her innocence at the age of 12.

Her violator was her father who, for over a year after deflowering her, repeatedly defiled her in his one-room apartment located in Surulere, a suburb of Lagos State, where he lived with his wife and five children.

Miss Ike's story is one of physical, emotional, and psychological abuse, which had continued unabated until the timely intervention of concerned neighbours, women and children rights activists, and the Lagos State Ministry of Youth, Sports and Social Development (MYSSD).

It all began in mid 2009 when Mr. Ike would put some substance in his eldest daughter's drink to make her sleep. Dead to the world, he would mount her and incestuously defile her. Recalling the first time this happened, the little girl said, "I woke up feeling pains all over my body. I did not know what happened to me,"As the abuse went on, Mr. Ike, a "prophet" of a white garment church in the area, no longer fancied "taking her" in her subdued state. He began openly demanding sex from his daughter, with the threat that if she refused, he would still drug her and have his way.

Be your neighbour's keeper

This continued until sometime in May 2010, when Miss Ike confided in a ‘prophetess', by name Precious, whom her father regularly took her to for prayers. "The girl is always afraid of her father. He used to beat her terribly. So I told her to tell me the truth what is going on. She now confessed and said her daddy has been sleeping with her. I could not believe it because of the trust I have for this man," Ms Precious said.

"I now sent for him and asked him. He started pleading. He said he doesn't know what comes over him, but that anytime he promises himself he'll stop this kind of thing, if he sees the girl his manhood will just stand up. He swore before God and man he would never do it again." Rather than stop, Mr. Ike gave his daughter a sound beating, while forbidding her to ever see Ms Precious, who by this time had got in touch with a direct neighbour living in the same building with the Ike family.

Over the next few months, the neighbour became vigilant and more suspicious when he noticed that besides always beating his daughter, Mr.Ike frequently entered the common bathroom shared by the residents of the building to watch his daughter while she took her bath. After questioning her, she opened up to the neighbour who immediately contacted the International Federation of Women Lawyers (FIDA), which promotes the rights of women and children.

Effective synergy

Afterwards, in conjunction with Media Concern, another NGO advocating women and children's rights, the case was reported on November 18, to the Lagos State Social Welfare Department under the MYSSD, located at the Coker/Aguda Local Council in Surulere. A visit to Miss Ike at the private school she attended in Surulere revealed the emotional and psychological scars she was already suffering while in Junior School 2.

"She has been in the school since JS1 but she does not really open up to anyone in school. Most of the time, she is withdrawn and very fearful. One other thing we have noticed is she has eye problem. Since her father is the only person who comes to the school we've mentioned these to him. We know she has a mother but she has never come once," said the school's coordinator, who identified herself as Nkap.

The next day, two welfare officers from the welfare department obtained an Emergency Protection Order from the Chief Magistrate of the family court at Surulere, E. B. Daodu, who ordered the evacuation of Miss Ike "from the custody of her biological father and provide accommodation for her" at a government centre in the state.

The rescue

That same evening of November 19, the welfare officers together with police officers from the Ijeshatedo Police station evacuated Miss Ike from her home. It was while arresting her father for defilement that her mother found out for the first time the incest that had been ongoing for over a year.

"What would happen is he would send his wife to go and meet her relatives while he would abuse this little girl. Sometimes she would even be in the room when he abuses her. But she would just be snoring away, like as though drugged, while he would threaten the little girl not to shout," said Chigoziri Ojiaka, FIDA's Lagos State branch chairperson.

When our source spoke to Mrs. Ike, she said "We have been married for 13 years and she (Miss Ike) is our first child. She is 12 years. I never knew what was going on and she never told me. We are close so I don't know why she didn't tell me." Further questions, however, revealed that she was not close to her mother as she didn't even know her daughter's menstrual cycle and couldn't give any justifiable reason why she never checked up on her daughter's performance in school.

While being questioned by Police officers of the State Criminal Investigation Department (SCID) Panti, Yaba, where his case was transferred for onward prosecution, Mr. Ike confessed to the crime. He was quick to put the blame on the proverbial scapegoat for all sin committed - the devil.

"Yes, she is my biological daughter. It is true I did it but it is the devil's work. I don't know what came over me. I am ashamed. I couldn't control myself. It is the devil. Please I am sorry. I can only ask God for forgiveness," Mr. Ike said.

A call for professionalism

One strong indication from Miss Ike's case is the synergy exhibited between the public, civil society organisations and government establishments in realising a successful operation leading to Miss Ike's rescue and the arrest of her father.

However, much needs to be done in educating and training the right personnel on imperatives in handling victims of segxwal violence especially minors. In Miss Ike's case, she was taken to several offices and made to recount her story several times. This led to more officers telling other colleagues who then came asking her more questions on her ordeal. Also noticed was the profanity being used by the police officers in the presence of the 12-year-old child.

According to Folake Bankole, Media Concern's victim advocate, who has monitored the case from the onset, such unprofessional conduct could lead to the victim suffering more trauma.

"Yes, the police need to interview the victim. But it is important who is doing the interview. The victim should not be made to recount the ordeal over and over because this will not help the victim who is in the process of healing," says Ms. Bankole.

"Also it is not just anybody and anywhere this should be done. It also matters how the questions are asked so as not to send the wrong signals to the victim which might make him/her guilty. Dealing with victims is a very technical process which belongs to professionals only."

A happier ending

For Miss Ike, she's happier at the Social welfare office as she says she doesn't have to fear going home and being abused any longer. She has begun making new friends at the state's welfare home and holds on to her dream of becoming a lawyer, as she says she wants to grow up to help other people just as she was helped.

"I don't want to go back. I am happy here because I can study my books," the little girl said as she held the hand of the female welfare officer who took her to the government official bus en route to her new home.

Posted: at 28-11-2010 07:36 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- yettyness at 29-11-2010 08:09 PM (13 years ago)
Another idiot that is very close with the devil...you will be reunited again one day.
Posted: at 29-11-2010 08:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bomsiluv at 2-12-2010 02:18 PM (13 years ago)
Useless man, shameless generation.
Posted: at 2-12-2010 02:18 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- santozz at 2-12-2010 04:45 PM (13 years ago)
the man has gotten himself under the spell of being a fool forever.......
Posted: at 2-12-2010 04:45 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Renewed at 2-12-2010 07:25 PM (13 years ago)
What beats me most is that while the act is being committed and enjoyed, the So-Called "Devil" is no where to be found; but once the offender is caught, he/she is quick to point accusing fingers at the Devil...Shameful! Am very happy for the girl and I pray other segxwally abused girls like her would find their own means of escape too...

Posted: at 2-12-2010 07:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- xena15 at 3-12-2010 12:35 AM (13 years ago)
Devil don suffer!
Everyone blames him!

Posted: at 3-12-2010 12:35 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jigaxsol at 3-12-2010 04:58 AM (13 years ago)
Wats sex 4 Gods sake,dsame tin he used to born her! Your own pikin? Ahhhh no body control atall. Most men are goatz!
Posted: at 3-12-2010 04:58 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 3-12-2010 11:41 AM (13 years ago)
Mtchewwwwwwwwwwwww.....Nonsense
Posted: at 3-12-2010 11:41 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Oyikwu at 3-12-2010 01:09 PM (13 years ago)
thank God for his grace.
her mum is to a large extent be blame for what the innocent girl suffered for over a year.
for the father, he should be ex-communicated from this world and the spiritual world as well.
Posted: at 3-12-2010 01:09 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kebella at 3-12-2010 02:06 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Renewed on  2-12-2010 07:25 PM
What beats me most is that while the act is being committed and enjoyed, the So-Called "Devil" is no where to be found; but once the offender is caught, he/she is quick to point accusing fingers at the Devil...Shameful! Am very happy for the girl and I pray other segxwally abused girls like her would find their own means of escape too...

LOLL

Posted: at 3-12-2010 02:06 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ejisluv2 at 3-12-2010 02:28 PM (13 years ago)
This thing is becoming too ramper dis days, something need to be done to put a permanent full stop to it. What nonsense!
Posted: at 3-12-2010 02:28 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onyi2010 at 3-12-2010 02:32 PM (13 years ago)
Oh lord have mercy
Posted: at 3-12-2010 02:32 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 3-12-2010 02:59 PM (13 years ago)
Na so so this kind yeye thing we go dey hear now abi??? These useless men wey their own pikin go dey enter their eye sef na wa ooo.
Posted: at 3-12-2010 02:59 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- jigaxsol at 3-12-2010 07:31 PM (13 years ago)
Watch ur husbands ooo
Posted: at 3-12-2010 07:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lopez2424 at 3-12-2010 11:02 PM (13 years ago)
Too bad!
Posted: at 3-12-2010 11:02 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- onyimau20 at 3-12-2010 11:04 PM (13 years ago)
.....speechless...., this kind news don tire me to comment on.
Posted: at 3-12-2010 11:04 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- jigaxsol at 4-12-2010 05:35 AM (13 years ago)
Like?
Posted: at 4-12-2010 05:35 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- feyee at 19-07-2011 04:45 PM (12 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 19-07-2011 04:45 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kebella at 19-07-2011 05:40 PM (12 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked

Posted: at 19-07-2011 05:40 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- esonu at 18-10-2011 02:01 PM (12 years ago)
hmmmmmm its a pity

Posted: at 18-10-2011 02:01 PM (12 years ago) | Hero

1. Disturbing Video Shows Moment Nigerian Man Slaps Girlfriend Over Cake-Cutting At Party

2. Man Undergoes Surgery After Breaking His Erect P3nis & Disfiguring His Eggplant From Rolling

3. VIDEO: Secondary Schoolgirl Stirs Reactions As She Names BBN, Tolanibaj As Her Role Model

4. “Not All Divorces Must Be Toxic” -Singer, Paul Okoye Tackles Critics

5. Police Arrest Two Suspects For Allegedly Killing Mother & Son In Akwa Ibom

6. Blessing CEO Reveals Reasons Why Women Cheat In Marriage

7. Police Launch Manhunt For Abiola's Widow For Allegedly Sponsoring Yoruba Nation Agitator Attack

8. TERRORISM: Court Grants Osun Gov, Adeleke's Aide Ajagungbade Emir N50m Bail

9. "I Don’t Engage In S3x For Money" – BBN Star, Khloe Says

10. A'Ibom Court Orders Arrest Of Man Who Abandons Wife, 2Yr Old Daughter In The Village To Live

11. Anyim Vera Offered All-Expense-Paid Vacation At 5-star Hotel In PH Following Public Humilation

12. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

13. Pete Edochie Reveals How Nnamdi Azikiwe Taught Him How to Handle Female Fans

14. BREAKING: Suspected Terrorists Kill Ruling PDP Secretary, Musa Ille In Zamfara

15. Video Of A Student And His Teacher Engaging In Heated Argument Sparks Outrage

1. Shock As Video of Woman $exually Abusing A Child Goes Viral; Lagos Authorities Seek Perpetrator

2. Controversy Surrounds Former BBNaija HM, Ka3na Jones After Ritual Video With Gospel Music

3. Tears Flow As Beautiful Lady Dies After Alleged Poisoning At Shop Opening Party (Video)

4. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

5. Brutal Child Abuse Incident Captured On Video Prompts Nationwide Outcry (Watch With Caution)

6. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

7. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

8. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

9. Repentant Boko Haram Member Enlisted Into Nigerian Army Slits Woman’s Throat In Enugu Barracks

10. Edo Police Commissioner Orders Trial Of Officer Threatening Civilians With AK-47 In Viral Video