Over 200 People Have Lost Their Lives To Bandits In Last 17 Days In Niger State

Date: 19-01-2022 12:22 pm (2 years ago) | Author: Bayo Nelson
- at 19-01-2022 12:22 PM (2 years ago)

Sani Bello, the Governor of Niger State, has that 220 citizens comprising 165 civilians, 25 security personnel and 30 local vigilantes were killed by bandits in the last 17 days. He declared that the bandits were taking citizens on a merry-go-round and only a robust deployment of modern technology would tame their activities.

He spoke with State House Correspondents after he met with President Muhammadu Buhari at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, to update him on the insecurity situation in the area including kidnapping and cattle rustling among others. According to him, even though respite was underway but cannot completely eradicate the menace 100 per cent until all hands are on deck.

“I’m very optimistic with the kind of zeal I have seen from our security agencies and all services. I’m very optimistic that the situation will be addressed. And hopefully, we should get a very peaceful state within the shortest possible time.

“We share borders with Kaduna, Zamfara, and Kebbi States. And these bandits have the habit of hibernating between forests, moving from Zamfara to Kebbi, and Kebbi to Niger. They take advantage of the cattle routes which they already know. They move on motorcycles. And most of the areas and communities they attack have no access roads. So, you cannot drive there. So, our response time is slow. “But going forward, there will be new strategies which I earlier mentioned. It will help us. But I can’t disclose some of those strategies. But basically, the States of Kaduna, Niger, Kebbi would have to work together to address the situation.

“What I realise is that they have been taking us on a merry-go-round. When we deal with them in Niger, they move to Kaduna. When Kaduna deals with them, they move to Katsina. They have been hibernating in the forest. Some of these operations need to be handled simultaneously so that we get the result. “We are not happy and we are sad with the developments in these states. We are doing whatever we can, using kinetic and non kinetic efforts to see that we address the present situation. “As we go on, we will try to update you from time to time on progress being made in this fight.”

Bello said he discussed sundry issues with President Buhari, adding: “We were able to review some of the invasions in the state. Unfortunately, I cannot tell you all. In the last few days, there have been a lot of activities in Niger State. Hopefully, in the next few weeks, we will see some relief with regard to banditry.”

Posted: at 19-01-2022 12:22 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Jiiitk4 at 19-01-2022 11:10 PM (2 years ago)
With all these deaths the Northerners are foolishly calling NNAMDI KANU a terrorist. Fools. Animals that don't value life.
Posted: at 19-01-2022 11:10 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

5. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

6. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria