For segxwal pleasure, Nigerian women snub female condoms

Date: 08-12-2010 12:06 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 8-12-2010 12:06 PM (13 years ago)

In spite of its added advantage of preventing segxwally-transmitted diseases, the female condom is yet to be embraced by most Nigerian women. Olunike Asaolu, moTunrayo Aboderin and Tayo Otegbeye in this report, examine factors working against the wide acceptance of female condoms.

Did you know that of all the various forms of contraceptives for family planning, female condom is yet to find its place in the hearts of most Nigerian women?  Experts claim less than two per cent of women in Nigeria use condoms.

Investigations by our correspondents showed a very low awareness of female condom among women. Low awareness cuts across both the literate and illiterate women in the society. While some said they had never heard or seen female condom, others said though they were aware of its existence, they could not use it because its level of dependence was low compared with other contraceptives. They also added that the use of female condoms reduced pleasure derivable from segxwal intercourse.

A female condom is a device that is used during segxwal intercourse as a barrier contraceptive and to reduce the risk of segxwally transmitted infections such as gonorrhoea, syphilis, and HIV and unintended pregnancy. Invented by Danish MD Lassa Hessel, it is worn internally by the receptive partner and physically blocks ejaculated semen from entering that person’s body. Female condoms can be used by the receptive partner during anal sex.

The female condom is a thin, soft, loose-fitting sheath with a flexible ring at each end. The inner ring at the closed end of the sheath is used to insert the condom inside the honeypot and to hold it in place during intercourse. The rolled outer ring at the open end of the sheath remains outside the honeypot and covers part of the external genitalia.

A recent version of the female condom is made from natural latex, the same material used in male condoms. This condom does not make the noises some experience with plastic condoms.

While a pack goes for N1,500 in some private hospitals in Nigeria, it sells for N60 per pack in most government hospitals and family planning centres.

Some respondents like Mrs. Kemi Olayemi, a businesswoman, said they shy away from using female condoms because they believe they could not be efficient in preventing pregnancy.

Olayemi said, “Though I know it exists, at the clinic, they tell us the advantages and the disadvantages of these contraceptives and they tell us the male condom can break and leak, so I think the female condom, being a condom too, can break and leak. That’s why I don’t consider it a reliable way of preventing conception.  That is why most women don’t use it and prefer other methods.”

But a housewife, Mrs. Kadijat Jamiu, said she had neither seen nor heard about female condom. “I have never seen it before, but if I see one and it is convenient to use, I will go for it.  But the decision to use or not depends on my husband.’’

Naturally her husband does not like condoms and has never used any. He prefers the withdrawal and the Billings method of family planning. She said, “So, if my husband does not like them for himself, and allows me, fine!”

A teacher, Mrs. Bisi Smith, said she was aware of the existence of a female condom but the process of wearing it discouraged her. “I have been to several seminars on family planning, where  both female and male condoms were displayed but the process of wearing a female condom takes a long time and it is annoying. 

“The female condom is large and can be difficult for some women to place into  the honeypot. Besides, some women do not like the idea of putting fingers or a foreign object into their honeypot.”

But as for Mrs. Omowunmi Adekoya,  a seamstress,  the use of condoms is not the best for couples. “It is better for them to go for other forms of family planning than using female condoms, which take all the pleasure out of the act. Skin to skin sex is the best.

“Though I have heard  about condoms for both males and females, I think I can’t just go for them. As a woman, I will be punishing myself if I use condoms.  Even my husband has never used it with me, and I don’t think he will enjoy it too. I hate them.  That is why I have gone for other methods,” she said.

While these women hate condoms, men also agree that women don’t have to use them.  A chartered accountant, Mr. Oluseyi Adams, said the use of  female condom was not necessary.  “I can’t allow  my wife  to wear a condom since I have sufficient trust that she will not contact any disease.  The use of condom will definitely reduce satisfaction derived from sex just as the male condom does.

“Psychologically, it also takes longer time to be excited.  Even while in the process, the excitement is reduced,” he said.

But for promiscuous men, he suggests that their mistresses should be encouraged to use it. “If I were a promiscuous man, I won’t mind if my mistress uses it. But because I am not, my wife does not have to use it,” he said.

A businessman, Mr. Olawale Sheriff dislikes the use of condoms by both men and women.   “I don’t like condom and I will not encourage its use. It reduces the pleasure, the excitement and all that should take place in segxwal intercourse.  The difference between wearing and not-wearing is huge.

“Apart from condoms, there are other forms of contraceptives that I subscribe to,” he said.

Another businessman, Mr. John Okechukwu said, “It depends on what the couples prefer. For health reasons, it is also good for women to use condoms. But as for me,  I don’t think I can allow my wife to use condom.  I prefer other forms of contraceptives.”

A trunk driver, Mr. Oladele Olayinka,  is worried about the resilience of the female condom. “I have not seen it before, but  is  it possible for both the man and the woman to wear it at the same time, can the female condom withstand the test of time?

“Whether it is good or bad, I will never allow my wife to use it.  It is better for the man to wear it during segxwal intercourse, because he is the one controlling the affair, the wife should not be the one to dictate how it goes.  Secondly, the use of condom by women reduces the trust between couples. The man may feel his wife is cheating on him.

“But for men, it is ok.  I use it, because it is close to nature and I am comfortable with it, but  I won’t  encourage women to use it,” he said.

A mechanic, Mr. James Okoro, says he hates using condoms, but prefers his wife to use it instead. He said, “It distorts the natural process.  I prefer to abstain rather than use condom. But when someone must wear it, then it has to be my wife  because I don’t like it.”

But experts claim female condom, apart from being a contraceptive, has the added benefit of preventing segxwally- transmitted infections. They also add that it  has a higher success rate in preventing unwanted pregnancy than non-barrier methods such as pills but observe that  the condom is not popular because women are conservative. “There is lack of awareness, adequate information and culturally, women are not allowed to use them,’’ they said.

A Chief Pharmacist at Juli Pharmaceutical, Mrs. Eunice Uja, said female condoms were not popular because of women’s nature “Women generally by their nature tend to be very conservative, unlike men who are wild in nature. Women are also very shy discussing condoms unlike men who can talk about it anywhere and anytime. Besides, some religions don’t believe in contraceptives.

“Psychologically, most women don’t believe the female condom can prevent pregnancy. They feel other contraceptives will work better than condoms.”

But, an Intern House Officer, Lagos State University Teaching Hospital, Dr. Lawal Luqman,   attributed non-usage to poverty, religion, ignorance and lack of awareness.  “There are also cultural factors hindering the usage. In Nigeria , sex is very sacred, so people believe females should not be the ones fighting against sex.

“Problems women can encounter when they use condom can include  urinary tract infections, because it is like a foreign body going into the female private part.  It also affects spontaneity of sex.  Most males and females enjoy skin to skin sex.  They say condoms prevent the spontaneity of sex.  Also, most females complain about the artificiality  of sex any time they use the female condoms.’’

A Senior Medical Officer at the Holy Trinity Hospital , Lagos, Dr. Odiete Festus, said  issues affecting the use of female condoms ranged from environmental and gender.  “Female condoms are not so popular in Nigeria, because this is an African environment, and getting to educate our women about condoms involves a lot of effort.  It is also a gender issue because one gender feels comfortable talking about condoms while the other gender feels shy about it. To make female condoms more popular, we need to sensitise the public.’’

On what can be done to encourage usage, the Assistant Chief Nursing Officer, Ilasamaja Primary Health Care, Ilasamaja, Lagos State , Mrs. Okhide Toyin, said though female condoms were available in hospitals and pharmaceutical stores in Nigeria , women needed to be educated.

She said, “Female condom is in government hospitals and pharmaceutical stores, and it is not expensive, it is N20 per one, and a whole pack goes for N60.

“But women don’t want to use it because according to the stories we hear from them, it is messy. And secondly, it prevents them from having intimacy with their husbands and partners.  I can say not up to two per cent of them use condom.”

Highlighting the advantages and disadvantages of female condoms,  Dr. Kunle Olaleye of Light Hospital , Lagos , said it depends on which type of the condom one is using.

He said there are three types of condoms — the FC and FC2 and VA which is made of latex. 

He explained that “The FC and FC2 female condoms can make noises during intercourse (adding more lubricant can lessen this problem). Some women find the female condom hard to insert and to remove.  It is more expensive than male condom, it is about three times of male condom and some are about N1,500.”

Posted: at 8-12-2010 12:06 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sixtyhoneyy at 8-12-2010 12:08 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmm anyway nice one for them Tongue
Posted: at 8-12-2010 12:08 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- atamajim at 8-12-2010 12:13 PM (13 years ago)
the risk is greater than the pleasure pls tell themoooooo
Posted: at 8-12-2010 12:13 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sixtyhoneyy at 8-12-2010 12:16 PM (13 years ago)
lol Grin
Posted: at 8-12-2010 12:16 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bazemaster at 8-12-2010 02:49 PM (13 years ago)
long story,

Posted: at 8-12-2010 02:49 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- moniconyez at 8-12-2010 04:12 PM (13 years ago)
Abeg ladies i wan ask una just one question. How do you fix it? From Behind or from Front? Grin
Posted: at 8-12-2010 04:12 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- samitex4usa2004 at 8-12-2010 05:58 PM (13 years ago)
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin GrinLWKM Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 8-12-2010 05:58 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Renewed at 8-12-2010 08:44 PM (13 years ago)
Hmmm...

Posted: at 8-12-2010 08:44 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ksurrina at 8-12-2010 09:23 PM (13 years ago)
The husband does withdrawal and the wife is ok with it. When they are ready to have children they will not receive any. The brother in the bible was told to marry his brother's wife and because he know that the child will not be carrying his name, he spilled his seed on the ground and God killed him. A lot of times you hear wives cannot get pregnant and they get the blame from the mother in laws. Then as soon as they go to another man they are pregnant. These spilling of SPERMS on ground is what causing it. Males should know what they are doing. Condom is there to use then follow the rules. God say that we should be OBEDIENT to Mother and Father also know that Mother represent Earth and Father God himself.

Posted: at 8-12-2010 09:23 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- wunzie at 9-12-2010 09:48 PM (13 years ago)
Trash it or treasure it - no one cares!

Posted: at 9-12-2010 09:48 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Commonsense at 9-12-2010 09:52 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ksurrina on  8-12-2010 09:23 PM
The husband does withdrawal and the wife is ok with it. When they are ready to have children they will not receive any. The brother in the bible was told to marry his brother's wife and because he know that the child will not be carrying his name, he spilled his seed on the ground and God killed him. A lot of times you hear wives cannot get pregnant and they get the blame from the mother in laws. Then as soon as they go to another man they are pregnant. These spilling of SPERMS on ground is what causing it. Males should know what they are doing. Condom is there to use then follow the rules. God say that we should be OBEDIENT to Mother and Father also know that Mother represent Earth and Father God himself.

Thanks a lot for the write-up. Many people need this advice, that's if they will accept.
Posted: at 9-12-2010 09:52 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Freesmile at 9-12-2010 10:12 PM (13 years ago)
nonsense
Posted: at 9-12-2010 10:12 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- cadanre at 9-12-2010 10:51 PM (13 years ago)
Oho!!

Posted: at 9-12-2010 10:51 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- onedoor1010 at 10-12-2010 06:02 PM (13 years ago)
i,m looking forward to see the condon....i will use it with my babe.
Posted: at 10-12-2010 06:02 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benjack68 at 8-08-2011 02:33 PM (12 years ago)
couples don't really need this condom for protection in the sense that they trust themselves but the youths need it most because they phyuk more than married people and also jump from one sex partner to another.
Posted: at 8-08-2011 02:33 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- mibenne at 10-08-2011 07:45 PM (12 years ago)
passing Cool
Posted: at 10-08-2011 07:45 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- richy_ex at 3-10-2011 10:34 AM (12 years ago)
 Lips Sealed
Posted: at 3-10-2011 10:34 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- iykemamoo at 31-08-2012 08:22 AM (11 years ago)
POURING IT ON THE GROUND AND POURING IT INSIDE CONDOMS ARE THEY NOT THE SAME?
Posted: at 31-08-2012 08:22 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- jasonbod at 12-09-2015 01:21 PM (8 years ago)
Generally, from my experience, Nigerian women don't like the male condom, and so it doesn't surprise me that they would object to the female condom. A condom is what it is. It takes away the pleasure. And that's why women who dislike condoms tend to date men who don't use them. My current girlfriend broke up with her ex because he wanted to use condoms... which obviously she hates.  Grin
Posted: at 12-09-2015 01:21 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

3. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

7. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

8. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

9. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu