Abia Govt Confirms Killing Of 8 Traders By Gunmen After Invading Cow Market In The State

Date: 16-02-2022 8:19 pm (2 years ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 16-02-2022 08:19 PM (2 years ago)

Abia government has confirmed the killing of eight traders by gunmen at new Cattle Market in Omuma-Uzo in Ukwa West Local Government Area of the state on Tuesday.

Commissioner for Information, Chief Eze Chikamnayo, who confirmed the incident in a statement made available to newsmen in Aba on Wednesday, condemned the attack.

He said that on Feb. 15, at about 11.35 p.m., some yet-to- be-identified hoodlums attacked traders at the cattle market.

The commissioner said that government responded swiftly by mobilising security agencies to the scene to secure the lives and property of the traders and fish out the assailants.

“This was followed this morning (Wednesday) by the visit of a high-powered team, made up of Chief of Staff to the Governor, Dr Anthony Agbazuere and Commissioner for Trade and Investment, Chief Okiyi Kalu.

“Others included: Commissioner for Homeland Security, Chief Sopuruchi Bekee, Ukwa West Local Government Executive Chairman, Chief Okey Kanu and the Commisioner of Police, CP Janet Agbede.

“We are shocked and saddened by this mindless and barbaric act of violence that claimed the lives of no fewer than eight innocent citizens of our great country.

“We totally condemn this dastardly act, together with its wicked perpetrators”,
he said.

Chikamnayo further said that government was working assiduously to provide support for families of the victims of the attack.

He said that people, who were injured in the attack, were being given medical attention.

The commissioner added that government had begun immediate relocation of the traders, while working out compensation for lost property.

“We shall leave no stone unturned to ensure that the evil perpetrators are brought to justice,” he added.

Chikamnayo said Gov. Okezie Ikpeazu had prayed to God to grant the affected families the fortitude to bear the loss, while awaiting the outcome of the investigation.

He urged residents of the state to remain law-abiding and to report any suspicious movement to the authorities. (NAN)

Posted: at 16-02-2022 08:19 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 16-02-2022 09:37 PM (2 years ago)
if cow traders start to carry guns now... we go dey ask why Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-02-2022 09:37 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- Jiiitk4 at 16-02-2022 10:20 PM (2 years ago)
Why didn't you set up High powered team to investigate the killing of igbo youths by the Northern soldiers? Thunder will fire you Igbo saboteurs serving the North.
Posted: at 16-02-2022 10:20 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jiiitk4 at 16-02-2022 10:24 PM (2 years ago)
Are you not aware that these mad cows in  the Nigerian security agencies are killing and burning down houses in the east? Thunder will strike you dead
Posted: at 16-02-2022 10:24 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 16-02-2022 10:46 PM (2 years ago)
Thunder wey go strike you dead still dey do press up for Abakaliki........ stupid  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 16-02-2022 10:46 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- naffsent at 16-02-2022 10:51 PM (2 years ago)
Good  News  Individual can now #Buy #Dangote cement directly  from the factory via the Marketing manager at a  (PROMO PRICE)  of 2500 per bag & fertilizer 2000, Rice 19,000  minimum purchase of 100 bags and above  Offloading and transportation 250 for each bag.
call the Marketing Manager Mr Jimoh on 07049680896. Pay on Delivery for only Distributors.
Posted: at 16-02-2022 10:51 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- nikiniki at 16-02-2022 11:02 PM (2 years ago)
I was just reading... thunder this, thunder that
Posted: at 16-02-2022 11:02 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Zee006677 at 16-02-2022 11:15 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 16-02-2022 11:15 PM
Thunder wey go strike you dead still dey do press up for Abakaliki........ stupid  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
hausa fool!!!
Posted: at 16-02-2022 11:15 PM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- Zee006677 at 16-02-2022 11:15 PM (2 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 16-02-2022 11:15 PM
if cow traders start to carry guns now... we go dey ask why Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
hausa idiot!
Posted: at 16-02-2022 11:15 PM (2 years ago) | Upcoming
- fineboy77 at 17-02-2022 10:02 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 16-02-2022 09:37 PM
First of all, I am not in support of this kind of killing, though we just heard one side of the story, on the flip side, who knows why those that did this, resorted to it?. Now,tell me who first they carry gun for Nigeria, Fulani herdsmen or this very recent UGM?

Posted: at 17-02-2022 10:02 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 17-02-2022 10:03 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: nikiniki on 16-02-2022 11:02 PM
I was just reading... thunder this, thunder that
I tire o. Where people dey see this thunder sef?

Posted: at 17-02-2022 10:03 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- constigoldo at 17-02-2022 11:05 AM (2 years ago)
Why allow the existence of cow trading in the state? I know we can survive without cow meat.
Posted: at 17-02-2022 11:05 AM (2 years ago) | Hero

1. Singer Tuface' Baby Mama Pero Adeniyi Praises Her Lover For Changing Her Life

2. Nigerian Lady Sparks Outrage As She Shares Video Of Banga Rice, Chicken She Bought For N150k

3. Nigerians React To Tinubu-Led Administration’s Cybersecurity Levy

4. How Siblings Flog Teacher And Lock Up Admin Officer For Disciplining Their Brother In PH

5. Remi Tinubu Receives First Female Nigerian-British Military Academy Graduate In Aso Rock

6. Tragedy As Young Zambian Woman Commits Suicide Over Debt

7. VIDEO Singer, Rema Celebrates 24th Birthday In Style In Los Angeles

8. Anyim Vera Hints At Meeting Davido, Sabinus Over ‘New Celebrity’ Status

9. "Nigeria Is Setting Dangerous Precedent For International Businesses" - Binance CEO Slams FG

10. Lagos Police Arrest Fake Medical Doctor, Seal Hospital

11. 'I’m Receiving Death Threats For Criticizing Wizkid' - Nasboi Cries Out

12. Celebrities, Fans Celebrate Actor, Junior Pope’s Posthumous Birthday

13. A Lot Of Single Ladies Are In Love With Someone That Won't Marry Them - Pastor Kingsley Okonkwo

14. Delta Police Debunks Shooting At Protesters For Assaulting An Officer

15. Pres. Tinubu To Reintroduce Telecom Tax On Nigerians To Meet World Bank Loan Condition

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

5. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

10. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years