Traders Count Their Losses As Yoruba And Hausa Youths Clash in Ogun State

Date: 08-03-2022 7:35 pm (2 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 8-03-2022 07:35 PM (2 years ago)

There was pandemonium in Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital on Monday, when some Yoruba youths and their Hausa counterparts engaged one another in a bloody clash.

The clash occurred at the popular Lafenwa Market in Abeokuta, as residents panicked over repeated gunshots

It was gathered that the clash which started on Monday evening snowballed into a full-blown crisis by Tuesday morning with several shops razed and many injured.

Our sources say the crisis was ignited by a fight between a Yoruba man and a Hausa man.

The Hausa man was presumed dead, having sustained serious injuries, development sources said provoked the Hausa traders, who reportedly went on a rampage, destroying properties worth millions of Naira.

An eyewitness, who confirmed the incident, said the crisis took a worse turn when the Seriki Hausa (head of Hausa settlers), who was called to intervene in the crisis was seriously injured.

“The Seriki Hausa who was called upon to settle the issue was injured and this further worsened the crisis.

“The man is currently receiving treatment at the Federal Medical Centre (FMC), Idi-Aba”, the source, who preferred anonymity, said.

The Ogun police spokesman, Abimbola Oyeyemi, confirmed the incident, saying the situation had been brought under control.

He said no life was lost, contrary to the report that a Hausa man was killed in the incident.

Oyeyemi added that the police had arrested several persons in connection to the crisis.

“I’m aware of the clash, but the situation has been brought under control. We have made some arrests. I don’t want to disclose the number of persons we have arrested, but we have made some arrests.

“But, contrary to what people are insinuating, no life was lost, but people were injured while shops were also burnt and property destroyed.

“We are still investigating the clash. The crisis is a result of a rumour because there was a clash between a Hausa man and a Yoruba man. I think the Hausa man was injured and some people went to town with the rumour that the injured man died and that was what led to the whole thing and the issue escalated.

“But, contrary to that rumour, no life was lost, and we are still investigating and after a thorough investigation, whoever that is found culpable will be charged to court”, Oyeyemi said.

Meanwhile, traders who lost their wares to the crisis berated the police, saying, “the police did not answer us when we went to their station to report.”

Posted: at 8-03-2022 07:35 PM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 8-03-2022 09:40 PM (2 years ago)
stupid people  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 8-03-2022 09:40 PM (2 years ago) | Grande Master
- christiano10 at 9-03-2022 01:05 AM (2 years ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  8-03-2022 09:40 PM
stupid people  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
yes, stupid Hausa/Fulani people fermenting trouble everywhere they go.
Posted: at 9-03-2022 01:05 AM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gatotib at 9-03-2022 06:37 AM (2 years ago)
Buy BUA CEMENT directly from company, at a promotional price of ₦2,700 per Bag. Delivery per bag is ₦300. Total per bag is ₦3,000 per bag of cement. Contact our Sales and Marketing Department Mrs Rabiu Alimat @ BUA Cement Plant to book your order now.
NOTE: company do not supply Cement before payment, And all payment are to  be made to the companys account not and individual account.
Telephone: (+28162129070)
Whatsapp: (08162129070)
Posted: at 9-03-2022 06:37 AM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- larry1970 at 9-03-2022 03:18 PM (2 years ago)
yoruba cowards chase those phyuking fulani out of your land ok
hausa and fulani bastard are useless people
Posted: at 9-03-2022 03:18 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- larry1970 at 9-03-2022 03:19 PM (2 years ago)
yoruba cowards chase those phyuking fulani out of your land ok
hausa and fulani bastard are useless people
Posted: at 9-03-2022 03:19 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- constigoldo at 9-03-2022 05:24 PM (2 years ago)
Devil incarnates....
Posted: at 9-03-2022 05:24 PM (2 years ago) | Hero
- KazirLucidity at 9-03-2022 05:44 PM (2 years ago)
Lawless country
Posted: at 9-03-2022 05:44 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Celebrity Bar Man, Cubana Chief Priest in Messy Land Tussle With Imo State Government

2. Owners of Abuja Chinese Supermarket Where Nigerians Are Barred Respond to FCCPC‘s Summons

3. Tanzania Shuts Down 5 Hydroelectric Stations to Reduce Excess Electricity in The National Grid

4. PHOTOS: 8 Years Old Girl Severely Assaulted and Left Almost Blinded by Her Aunt in Lagos

5. I Brought Afrobeat to America, Even Before Wizkid & Drake's Collabo - Singer, Rotimi (VID)

6. ‘I Stopped Going To Gym Because Of Heaven’ – Actor Williams Uchemba

7. Israel DMW Reacts As Doctor Lists Benefits Of Marrying A Virgin

8. VIDEO: Davido Lists Artistes He Loves To Collaborate With

9. 'God Won't Forgive Me If I Forget Leaders Who Put Me In Office When...' - APC Gov. Aspirant,

10. Daughter Of 14th Emir Of Kano Replies X User Who Described Her Husband As A ''Yoruba Man''

11. "I’ll Have 11 Children Until My Late Son, Kambili Returns" – Actor, Yul Edochie Vows

12. Teenager, Abiodun Adewuyi Sentence To Three Years In Jail For Stealing Water Taps In Edo

13. Actress, Uche Ogbodo Advices Single Colleagues To Marry Themselves

14. Police Arrest Two Suspects Over killing Of Okada Rider In Niger State

15. BREAKING: 119 Inmates Escape As Heavy Rains Destroy Suleja Prisons

16. "I’ve Been Married for 20 Years But Never Cooked" – Mojisola Hunponu-Wusu

17. "APC Is The Answer To Nigeria’s Problems" - Ganduje Claims

18. Igbos Contributed To The Development Of Lagos, Abuja, Other States -Enugu Ex Gov, Nwodo

19. “My Album Is Coming To Save You All From Shitty Music” – Zinoleesky Tells Nigerians

20. Lady, Hajara Yusuf Pours Hot Cooking Oil On Man Over N100 In Adamawa