Amazing! Chinese Workers Builds 15 Storey Hotel In Six Days (Page 7)

Date: 09-12-2010 9:36 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10
- agabs at 11-12-2010 01:59 PM (13 years ago)
http://digg.com/news/technology/chinese_build_15_story_building_in_just_six_days

Chinese build 15 story building in just six days
youtube.com — A level 9 Earthquake-resistant, sound-proof, thermal-insulated 15-story hotel in Changsha, complete with everything, from the cabling to three-pane windows was built in just six days total. 29 days ago
ShareTweetEmail
via badqatSaveBury

213 Comments

Oldest FirstNewest FirstMost DuggCollapse All

bossm4n29 days ago
+37 diggs
DiggBury
They didn't really build it themselves, they stole someone elses and just said they did.
Reply3 Replies

cawpin28 days ago
-2 diggs
Show Hidden CommentReport

symington28 days ago
+2 diggs
DiggBury
Yeah, 'assemble' is the word.
nonetheless, amazing coordination, safety and efficiency!

kingfog28 days ago
+6 diggs
DiggBury
That's how most non-brick built buildings of such scale are put together, yet American or English workforces would take months to do exactly the same thing.

Regardless of whether they "built" it, or "assembled" it, the fact they knocked out a fully functional 15 story building in only 6 days is a huge achievement...

There's always someone online who wants to s**t on other people's achievements...

bleue27 days ago
+3 diggs
DiggBury
Enslave your workforce?

I don't understand, do you think they're not paid? Are kidnapped from their homes and forced to work construction? And not just construction mind you, constructing a prototype building for the world expo! No prouder moment for a slave!

Chinese work cheap because their cost of living is low, for the most part. And being cheaper than western labor absolutely does not make them slaves.

If news of Chinese ingenuity does not sit well with you I think you'd better find a way to deal with it, because aside from Mao's unfortunate experiment China has been the dominant world power for most of recorded history and it looks like their crawling back to that status.

archerchan27 days ago
-1 diggs

83shovelhead21 days ago
-1 diggs

allnuts29 days ago
+17 diggs
DiggBury
Looks like small hardworking ants.
Reply1 Reply - Top reply has 2 diggs

lloydgwood28 days ago
+2 diggs
DiggBury
exactly, lots of them

l wood devix

rufioho29 days ago
+19 diggs
DiggBury
I don't think I trust it
Reply2 Replies - Top reply has 9 diggs

slashdotordigg28 days ago
+9 diggs
DiggBury
same here. i think it will tumble in 6 days also.
Reply1 Reply

ywlaw27 days ago
+1 diggs
DiggBury
People have done the most astounding thing, and here you are wishing the worst to happen to them.

nerdsturm27 days ago
+2 diggs
DiggBury
There are two ways to get a job done fast. You can use a hard working, well equipped and skilled labor force, backed up by solid management. Or you can cut corners.

Which of these things is more common? Which of these things are Chinese companies known for? It's just a prediction, not a wish.
Reply1 Reply

ywlaw27 days ago
0 diggs
DiggBury
Since you're defending another party, you won't know whether there's an element of "wish" in his "prediction". And how would you feel if some guy "predicts", based on how you actively submit Digg comments, that you will suffer carpal tunnel syndrome later in your life? Pretty baseless and malevolent, isn't it?
Reply3 Replies - Top reply has 2 diggs

nerdsturm27 days ago
+2 diggs
DiggBury
No, I suppose I cannot in all confidence say slashdotordigg and rufioho do not wish it falls over. But it is perfectly reasonable to assume that this is not a top quality construction job. It was obviously rushed, and a company can simply not rush something without losing some aspects of quality.

The building collapsing is a bit of a hyperbole, but there's no doubt this was not a top notch job. Just look at the building, it's completely hollow. A lot of features you really have to put in when the cranes can still reach interior areas. This building is rather large, yet unless I'm missing something it has only 1 full staircase(on the far left side, the one on the right looks like it stops about halfway up) and no elevators! There also didn't seem to be any concrete used outside of the foundation, which makes me concerned about noise, as while thermal insulation is easy to tack on it's hard to make steel adsorb the noise made by a 10 yr. old jumping on your ceiling.

jsteubing22 days ago
+2 diggs
DiggBury
Ywlaw, as much as nerdsturm can't defend with certainty their negative wishes, neither can you accuse them with certainty. You are a hypocrite and an idiot.

ywlaw22 days ago
0 diggs
DiggBury
jsteubing, even if I wrongly "accused" somebody, I didn't lace my words with venom like you did, assh*le. Oops, now I did.

83shovelhead17 days ago
+1 diggs
DiggBury
Ok, so I'm not the only one.....I'm with your rufioho

rea29 days ago
+19 diggs
DiggBury
Thats quite amazing.

wjappe29 days ago
+10 diggs
DiggBury
I saw a modular hotel being built near my local expressway. I drove by it on my way to work. I thought it would be done very quickly, I was wrong. This Chinese building is amazing!
Reply1 Reply - Top reply has 5 diggs

dimag0g22 days ago
+5 diggs
DiggBury
I have a colleague from China, and he was so surprised that a road in Europe can be closed down for two weeks for reconstruction. His original question was "why don't they hire more people and just do it overnight, so the traffic isn't affected?" So i think there was an element of show in this video, but it mainly consisted in everyone wearing nice helmets. The quickness is more or less real.

thoughtsonthis29 days ago
+44 diggs
DiggBury
Wow and it took my guys 6 months to add a den to my house.
Reply2 Replies - Top reply has 8 diggs

arschgaudi28 days ago
+8 diggs
DiggBury
You need to hire better contractors
Reply1 Reply - Top reply has 6 diggs

themazzter28 days ago
+6 diggs
DiggBury
Yeah my parents had their second floor bathroom redone, even moved a couple walls over and a doorway. Took a few weeks tops (I think it was just 2 but I'm not sure).

They also had central air put in on the second floor, tons of ductwork in our attic now, it only took a week or so.

bigtime228 days ago
+4 diggs
DiggBury
Outsource to China next time.

muxaulo29 days ago
+77 diggs
DiggBury
Amazing what can be achieved when you don't have union interference, little adherence to Occupational Health and Safety laws and a cheap labor market.
Reply4 Replies - Top reply has 20 diggs

arschgaudi28 days ago
+20 diggs
DiggBury
And or you've planned the whole thing out months in advance, prepositioned materials and equipment and have way more people than the typical job would have.

Habitat for Humanity can throw up a house in a day also when they have a bajillion people working the job.

paulsmith28828 days ago
+10 diggs
DiggBury
and decent management focused on getting job done

tekdemon28 days ago
+7 diggs
DiggBury
China has both unions, and for that matter union strikes. Additionally there were no injuries and from the video it looks like everyone was using safety precautions so I'm not sure where you're getting this unsafe nonsense from. Labor is cheap though.
Reply2 Replies - Top reply has 11 diggs

kooft28 days ago
+4 diggs
DiggBury
Please substantiate your claim that muxaulo's nonsense is unsafe. Seems perfectly safe to me.
Reply1 Reply - Top reply has 3 diggs

amaoican28 days ago
+3 diggs
DiggBury
You see that there nonsenese there? That's load-bearing nonsense. You need to be cautious.

clintchristensen28 days ago
+11 diggs
DiggBury
While China does have labor unions, they are all state run. Independent unions are illegal. And strikes...Illegal too. But they do occur. Not quite the rosie picture you painted. Additionally, this was done to get media attention....so of course they wore all the protective gear and were adhering to safety precautions. Typically, China as a whole has little or no regard for its workers safety. It is ironic that a nation founded on the Communist principals of sticking up for workers now neglects them. Wake up tekdemon.
Reply1 Reply

bleue27 days ago
0 diggs
DiggBury
Okay second time this thread... China was founded on communist principals??? Although there are countless ways to approach a claim as silly as this I think I'll take the simplest: Communism is generally understood as some variation of Marxism, a philosophy developed in the 19th century. China, as a nation, has existed for over 4000 years. Unless some time machine phenomena are at play here this statement is incorrect.

And again, the video description is pretty clear that this is a prototype building for the world expo, but even so China has decent H&S history, not the best nor the worst when compared other civilized nations, and have just approved some of the most aggressive worker's comp laws on the planet.

China has some human rights issues, and they need to be addressed, but I think it's time to stop thinking of China as some sort of really big third world nation.
Reply1 Reply

clintchristensen25 days ago
0 diggs
DiggBury
tardo...I was referring to modern day China. Don't break a leg getting off that high horse. While China did approve some workers comp legislation, it's implementation will take quite some time....the country has only 100,000 lawyers...not enough to service it's huge population.(least of their issues) But that was sort of a nice try at sounding intelligent....oops

bleue25 days ago
+2 diggs
DiggBury
Problem is, to the educated, a statement like: 'China was founded on communist principals' is like saying : 'the united states was founded under television'.

But moving along... My problem with your post is that the premise is wrong. This building was built, using Chinese labor, planning and engineering, in 6 days without worker safety incident. That makes the statement: 'well yes when you don't care about worker safety you can do this.' clearly fallacious since in this case, for this building, they built it in 6 days with care for worker safety. The fact that it was for show makes no difference there.

The workers comp laws went into effect last august, no matter the number of lawyers. In fact, the statement is particularly meaningless since, as you point out so gracefully, the application of law in a totalitarian regime like China's does not equate with the application of law in western republics. Though there is a generally agreed to shortage of qualified legal officers, it is unclear how this affects the application of workplace safety laws.

Finally, not to put too fine a point on it, when arguing or discussing in a public forum you might want to keep your comments pertinent to the issue being discussed, personal attacks, though they make you fell better maybe, tend to discredit whatever other points you make, be they valid or not.

tantamime27 days ago
0 diggs
DiggBury
Are you guessing?

onreact29 days ago
+9 diggs
DiggBury
Yu can build prefabs in one day so this doesn't surprise me.
Reply1 Reply

amaoican28 days ago
+1 diggs
DiggBury
Yu can do anything he puts his mind to. What's your point?

headhot28 days ago
+6 diggs
DiggBury
I think it will fall over due to substandard materials.

Bee2728 days ago
+3 diggs
DiggBury
Less than ONE week Huh???
Reply1 Reply - Top reply has 34 diggs

badqat28 days agoSubmitter
+34 diggs
DiggBury
Six days. Think they rested on the seventh?
Reply1 Reply

arschgaudi28 days ago
-1 diggs

joculator28 days ago
+7 diggs
DiggBury
One fat guy jumps up and down in there and I bet it comes down.
Reply1 Reply - Top reply has 4 diggs

amaoican28 days ago
+4 diggs
DiggBury
Lucky for China they have no fat guys, except maybe Kim Jong Il and he only comes to town when he wants something.
Reply1 Reply - Top reply has 5 diggs

breadfred28 days ago
+5 diggs
DiggBury
Kim Jong II is Chinese now?

And there are no fat Chinese? Lets check google... Oh I see there ARE fat chinese people.

amaoican28 days ago
+4 diggs
DiggBury
Of course he's not Chinese - hence why I said he only comes to town when he wants something.

In my time (one year) in China, I only ever saw one Chinese person who would qualify as fat ... but he was faaaaat.

breadfred28 days ago
+4 diggs
DiggBury
I think it also depends where you look in China. I would imagine you would not meet many fat Chinese - as the difference between poor and rich is quite striking in good ole communist China. Only rich people can afford to be fat - and they can afford a lot of it.
Load More
Posted: at 11-12-2010 01:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sobeit at 11-12-2010 02:32 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: agabs on 11-12-2010 01:54 PM
I am very disappointed in some of my country men.

Common to google something find out how far, dey hard una. If say na 419, una go say dat wan na small. Na dat time una go d brag say make chinese come make una teach am how to turn devil to maga.

thanks ,tell them they like doing blind argument .i said it here all i received is insult from some tiny minds. hiss
Posted: at 11-12-2010 02:32 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ALOY4U at 11-12-2010 03:36 PM (13 years ago)
which type of materials did they used in the question here..if it is block, consider it impossible.but if it is an other erecting materials is will be consider ok and safety because they has the technologies.
Posted: at 11-12-2010 03:36 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- tomoak at 11-12-2010 03:42 PM (13 years ago)
It can never be. Are they magicians to ahieve such fit. I wonder who is selling this dummy called technology.
Posted: at 11-12-2010 03:42 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Dames at 11-12-2010 03:55 PM (13 years ago)
Whooops! where is this news coming from? u guys r real liars.
Posted: at 11-12-2010 03:55 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freesmile at 11-12-2010 04:13 PM (13 years ago)
third milan bridge, lagos
Posted: at 11-12-2010 04:13 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- skiFlexz at 11-12-2010 05:03 PM (13 years ago)
IT'S IMPOSSIBLE. FIRST, DEY HAVE 2 LAY A FOUNDATION WITH CONCRETE WHICH DEY NEED TO LET TRIED FOR SOME DAYS BEFORE CONTINUING. BY D TIME DEY REACH D 5TH STORY, ITS ALREADY A WEEK OR TWO. . .  SO POSTER, GO DO UR RESEARCH AGAIN.
Posted: at 11-12-2010 05:03 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- nanamweni at 11-12-2010 05:07 PM (13 years ago)
unbealivable
Posted: at 11-12-2010 05:07 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- goingwithyou at 11-12-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago)
Dat gud ....
Posted: at 11-12-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- OLIET at 11-12-2010 06:48 PM (13 years ago)
It's obvious that Chiness install a prefabricated panels and completed a 15 stories hotel in six days is very amazing. But what was nt accouted for is the number of days that those panels and other building components were fabricated before bringing them to site.

Therefore, the total numbers of construction is inaccurate and imcomplete.

Construction and Environmental engineering is our business

http://oliet.com
Posted: at 11-12-2010 06:48 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mariamij at 11-12-2010 07:16 PM (13 years ago)
i will not not sleep in that Hotel.
Posted: at 11-12-2010 07:16 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Freesmile at 11-12-2010 07:48 PM (13 years ago)
I rather sleep walk than sleep for inside cupboard
Posted: at 11-12-2010 07:48 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- VicDenor at 11-12-2010 10:07 PM (13 years ago)
We can do better than that in Nigeria! We can destroy it in 1 day
Posted: at 11-12-2010 10:07 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- alukolekan at 11-12-2010 10:23 PM (13 years ago)
yes! it happen for real. not even only china, i saw one like that in the middle east too, where some Nigerians are there as an Engineer. So we can do it too...

Posted: at 11-12-2010 10:23 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- alukolekan at 11-12-2010 10:31 PM (13 years ago)
@skiplexz; You are very right but the truth is the foundation have to be in place b4 erection of all other materials. foundation will be there for anything less than three weeks and all other can be done for that number of day even lesser.

Posted: at 11-12-2010 10:31 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- jimmyfontana at 11-12-2010 10:33 PM (13 years ago)
there must be  some work left behind
Posted: at 11-12-2010 10:33 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Adekokun at 12-12-2010 06:31 AM (13 years ago)
They assembly it in 6 days, but how long did they take in fabricating the members, Abeg the story is not complete
Posted: at 12-12-2010 06:31 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- escalaviano at 12-12-2010 10:54 AM (13 years ago)
Pls make  una no tell me dat tin again, which kind talk be dis.pls if una no get wating 2 talk make una shut una mouth.
Posted: at 12-12-2010 10:54 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- escalaviano at 12-12-2010 11:16 AM (13 years ago)
why are u saying this,hw can u belive that this can ever happen  bulding 15 story building in just 6 days,oo bros.
Posted: at 12-12-2010 11:16 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- shafiusuleiman at 12-12-2010 11:29 AM (13 years ago)
be careful it will  soon fall down is not possible
Posted: at 12-12-2010 11:29 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 ... 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10