85Yrs Old Woman, Abigail Gifted New House By A Pastor After Living In Squalor For Many Years

Date: 07-05-2022 12:47 pm (1 year ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 7-05-2022 12:47 PM (1 year ago)

For many years, 85-year-old Abigail Ebere has been living in squalor. She has been the subject of discussions on the street with many showing sympathy over her condition. Some others, however, mocked her due to her patched one-room thatch house that keeps leaking and exposing her to the vagaries of the winds.

She had no where to go to seek succour but did not run away from her troubled and despicable condition. She endured the pangs of the weather with equanimity in the Ochimode community of Ojo Local Government Area of Benue State.

Rather than give in to the deplorable condition, the situation rekindled her faith in God and evoked a sense of trust in the Almighty to turn things around for her good. She never missed going to church, which is located about six kilometers in another community away from her house. Her frailty notwithstanding, Mama Ebere routinely treks the long distance to attend church services and prays along with other members for God to intervene in her desolate case.

The donor, Pastor Onah being prayer for by women of Ochimode community
According to her neighbours, Mama Ebere made it her routine to cover that distance thrice a week to pray in her church and participate in other church activities to the admiration of even younger women. It was while on one of those tedious long distance walks to church that she had an encounter that has completely changed her story.

Precisely on Sunday, October 24th, 2021 Mama Ebere came in accidental contact with a former aide of Governor Samuel Ortom on Religious Affairs and Civil Society, Pastor Blessed Onah, and things started looking up for the widow. It was an encounter that completely changed the narrative of her life and restored peace and confidence to her soul as a normal human being.

Her benefactor, Pastor Onah, explained that he met the aged widow by chance while returning from a journey with his wife but became attracted by her condition and decided to assist her to get back on her feet.

“It was on October 24, 2021, when my wife, Favour and I were returning to Makurdi from my home town, Oju LGA. We got to Idajo-Ibilla community and met an old woman of about 85 years trekking to church in another village, a distance of over five kilometers.

We were moved on seeing her and we turned back to pick her to the church. But as the widow was stepping out of my car, the Lord whispered to me to get her a motorcycle to help reduce her traveling burden. The following Sunday my wife and I were back to the same church to present Mama with a motorcycle and N10,000 for fueling, after which we placed her on N5,000 monthly stipend that will run till heaven calls.

“But much later, some elders of the church sought our consent on their intention to sell the motorcycle and use the proceeds to build a small house for Mama, explaining that she had been sleeping under a profusely leaking thatch house that could collapse on her. The suggestion really touched my wife and I and we decided that while the woman keeps the motorcycle, we would still raise money to build her small house.”
Onah said.

And true to his words, in six months, the house was ready to be occupied by the octogenarian, who alongside members of the community cannot hide their exhilaration.

On the day Pastor Onah handed over the house to the widow, members of the community poured out in large numbers to thank the benefactor and praise God for what He has used the Pastor to do for the woman. They took turns to pray for the donor for his magnanimity and show of love and support for the less privileged.

One of her neighbours, Jonah Odeh who was on hand when the foundation for the two-bedroom house was being laid about six moths ago, said it was like a dream to him when the work started but thanked God for the intervention to provide succour to the widow. “I did not take the entire thing serious because I never thought that the Pastor will do it.

We thought it was one of those empty promises. But we were all surprised to see that he started work here and within a short time the house was completed for Mama to occupy. It is simply amazing and we will all remain eternally grateful to the donor and his family because they chose to honour a helpless aged widow, God will in return also honour them. That is all we can say,”
he said.

An astonished Mama Ebere could hardly utter a word as the building was being handed over to her. All through, she kept raising her hands in adoration and gratitude to God for giving her a brand new house free of charge. She prayed fervently for Pastor Onah and his family, saying: “For remembering me and not allowing the old mud house collapse on me, God will always remember this show of love and concern for the helpless whenever you have need.”

Posted: at 7-05-2022 12:47 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- fineboy77 at 7-05-2022 01:25 PM (1 year ago)
Good people will always be good people and bad people, bad. The Church elders, who have been in the same church with the woman for God knows how long, did not find it necessary to help the woman, but when another person did, they started their suggestions. Anyway, thank God for the kind hearted woman and the man of God. I called the woman first because so many kind men cant help because of the type of women in their lives.

Posted: at 7-05-2022 01:25 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 7-05-2022 03:30 PM (1 year ago)
at least make she enjoy small.... poor old lady
Posted: at 7-05-2022 03:30 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- constigoldo at 9-05-2022 10:19 AM (1 year ago)
God bless the pastor
Posted: at 9-05-2022 10:19 AM (1 year ago) | Hero

1. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

2. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

3. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

4. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

5. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

6. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

7. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

8. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

9. Abeg Free Our Mommy of Lagos, We Need New TikTok Sounds - BBNaija's Vee Iye Speaks For Bobrisky

10. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

11. Netizens React As DeeOne Begs Phyna For Forgiveness Following His Battle With Strange Illness

12. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

13. Multichoice Increases Prices in GOtv And Dstv Subscriptions in NIgeria

14. Viral Asoebi Lady, Olivia Emmanuel Releases Over 20 Numbers of Men Sliding in Her DM

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office