Peter Obi, Tinubu, Atiku, Any Incoming Administration Will Inherit N77trn Debt

Date: 05-01-2023 12:44 pm (1 year ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 5-01-2023 12:44 PM (1 year ago)

Nigeria’s public debt burden may hit N77tn if the National Assembly approves the request by President Muhammadu Buhari, to restructure the Ways and Means Advances.

Thee Ways and Means Advances is a loan facility through which the Central Bank of Nigeria finances the shortfalls in the government’s budget.

This is as the Federal Government spent N5.24tn servicing debts in 2022.

The Director-General of the Debt Management Office, Patience Oniha disclosed this on Wednesday during the public presentation of the 2023 budget organized by the Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Dr Zainab Ahmed.

She, however, noted that the debt would be N70tn without N5tn new borrowing and N2tn promissory notes.

Oniha said, “The DMO released the figure for the country’s debt stock as at September, you don’t expect it to be significantly different from December. Secondly, there are a lot of discussions on the Ways and Means. In addition to the significant costs saving in loans service we would get by securitizing it.

“There is an element of transparency in the sense that it is now reflected in the public debt stock. Once it is passed by the National Assembly, it means we will be seeing that figure included in the public debt. You will see a significant increase in public debt to N77tn.”

She said while the debt is growing because there is new borrowing, revenue is receiving significant importance.

“Like DMO always says, you can’t talk about debt without talking about revenue. We need the two to work together,” she added.

The FG’s huge appetite for borrowing under the current regime had worsened the debt position as the country’s debt stock rose to N44.06tn as of September last year.

The DMO and the government had come under attacks from experts and key stakeholders in the economy over the country’s rising debt levels.

Posted: at 5-01-2023 12:44 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 5-01-2023 01:17 PM (1 year ago)
happen in every country around the world debt!!!   NEXT!!!!! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 5-01-2023 01:17 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- kp45 at 5-01-2023 01:30 PM (1 year ago)
If you know what this government is looting from the masses on daily base, is it tax, vat, unnecessary hike in pms you name it for just per day. We can just only pray for God to open our eyes for a deliverer come Feb 2023 because some persons are already thinking of how to buy their bondage for another 8yrs
Posted: at 5-01-2023 01:30 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Kidfreshfunmi at 5-01-2023 01:33 PM (1 year ago)
N77tn *still rising*. Forget it, that will never be "paid off" - even in a dependable economy, never mind an inept one. lol You think there's austerity now? No, not yet!
Posted: at 5-01-2023 01:33 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Kidfreshfunmi at 5-01-2023 01:36 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  5-01-2023 01:17 PM
happen in every country around the world debt!!!   NEXT!!!!! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Stubborn in the face of the facts as aalwaaaysssss........You're irredeemable!
Posted: at 5-01-2023 01:36 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 5-01-2023 01:44 PM (1 year ago)
We can generate this money internally. Ask Emefiele.

Posted: at 5-01-2023 01:44 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 5-01-2023 01:51 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Kidfreshfunmi on  5-01-2023 01:36 PM
Stubborn in the face of the facts as aalwaaaysssss........You're irredeemable!
The guy na Azen,make una no mind him,let him keep hiding,he and his cohorts will be put to shame this February, except their APC people rig the election
Posted: at 5-01-2023 01:51 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jiiitk4 at 5-01-2023 03:15 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Dopybadass on  5-01-2023 01:51 PM
The guy na Azen,make una no mind him,let him keep hiding,he and his cohorts will be put to shame this February, except their APC people rig the election

If they rig this election  they will see ##ENDNIGERIA# not ENDSARS. 
Posted: at 5-01-2023 03:15 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- OmoNobaUku at 5-01-2023 04:27 PM (1 year ago)
And plenty of money generating solid infrastructures on ground to service the debt. Lazy, opportunistic politicians, please put things in balanced context. It is not always necessary to make cheap political shots. It is largely for these deliberate deceptions of the public that you won't win the coming election and you won't become president of NGR. You won't.
Posted: at 5-01-2023 04:27 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 5-01-2023 04:46 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: OmoNobaUku on  5-01-2023 04:27 PM
And plenty of money generating solid infrastructures on ground to service the debt. Lazy, opportunistic politicians, please put things in balanced context. It is not always necessary to make cheap political shots. It is largely for these deliberate deceptions of the public that you won't win the coming election and you won't become president of NGR. You won't.
Exactly. Tinubu wont be President. Never !

Posted: at 5-01-2023 04:46 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- ekogiaweplus at 6-01-2023 01:34 PM (1 year ago)
please let's  be obi-dient, together  we'll fight our common enemies pdp and apc the predators of Nigerians
Posted: at 6-01-2023 01:34 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming

1. VIDEO: Nigerian Lady Shows Off Naira Notes She Picked At Various Nightclub

2. Lady Accuses Veteran Actor Yemi Solade Of Sending Her Photos Of His Manhood On Facebook

3. "How I Met My Serbian Husband On Dating App" - Nigerian Lady, Nurse Glory Narrates

4. Actress, Eniola Ajao Opens Up On Why She Kept Her 21Yr Old Son Off Social Media

5. 30Yrs Old Video Of Nigerians On Fuel Queue Emerges Online

6. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

7. VIDEO: Girl In Tears As She Scores 289 In JAMB After Aiming For 300

8. How Enugu Auto Crash Claims Live Of 16 Persons

9. Nasarawa Police Arrest Fake EFCC Operatives For Alleged Robbery, Abduction, Recover Exhibits

10. Water Corporation Deputy Director, Emeka Arraigned For ‘Defrauding Residents Of N150k’ In Enugu

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

6. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

7. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

8. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

9. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

10. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)