Court Dissolves Ganduje's Daughter Marriage of 16 Years, Orders Return of Dowry

Date: 02-02-2023 10:48 pm (1 year ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 2-02-2023 10:48 PM (1 year ago)

An Upper Shari’a Court sitting in Kano on Thursday dissolved the 16-year-old marriage between Asiya Ganduje and Inuwa Uba.

Delivering a ruling, the Judge, Malam Abdullahi Halliru, said the marriage was dissolved through Khul’i (divorce by Islamic means).

Halliru ordered the plaintiff to return N50,000 paid as dowry by the respondent.

“The conditions the respondent earlier raised before the court should be based on Islamic Sunnah on Khul’i.

“Khul’i is strictly based on returning the dowry giving to a woman, the condition should not affect her in anyway especially in giving out her wealth.”

Earlier, the Petitioner’s Counsel, Ibrahim Aliyu-Nassarawa, told the court that his client insists on returning the N50,000 bride price received from her husband in exchange for divorce.

NAN reports that the petitioner was in court seeking the dissolution of her marriage through Islamic means (Khul’i) as she claimed to be tired and fed up with Inuwa.

“Every woman who is living under strange conditions has a right under Islamic law to approach the court and seek for her marriage to be dissolved with the condition to return the dowry."

Counsel to the respondent, Mr Umar I. Umar, said the issue is beyond the payment of N50,000 dowry.

“The respondent has four kids with the plaintiff, but all efforts to reconcile them proved abortive,” Umar said.

He gave two conditions regarding some of his belongings, that the plaintiff should return all his client credentials, house certificates, cars and relinquish her rights in their joint rice company before he divorce her.

Posted: at 2-02-2023 10:48 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 2-02-2023 11:03 PM (1 year ago)
Divorce party
Posted: at 2-02-2023 11:03 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 2-02-2023 11:15 PM (1 year ago)
Every woman who is living under strange conditions has a right under Islamic law to approach the court and seek for her marriage to be dissolved with the condition to return the dowry.

but una go dey say woman no get right under sharia law....... people are just too stupid to simply do basic findings
Posted: at 2-02-2023 11:15 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Stengo at 2-02-2023 11:39 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  2-02-2023 11:39 PM
Every woman who is living under strange conditions has a right under Islamic law to approach the court and seek for her marriage to be dissolved with the condition to return the dowry.

but una go dey say woman no get right under sharia law....... people are just too stupid to simply do basic findings
The ones who have right are the elite
Posted: at 2-02-2023 11:39 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- Stengo at 2-02-2023 11:42 PM (1 year ago)
I have been searching for her for a longtime since my visits to Kano and katsina
Posted: at 2-02-2023 11:42 PM (1 year ago) | Upcoming
- Baye77 at 3-02-2023 05:33 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Stengo on  2-02-2023 11:39 PM
The ones who have right are the elite
Sadly, you speak of what you don't understand. Everybody has equal rights in Islam, irrespective of status, but as usual, you are going to argue over it endlessly. Just remember you can't know more than the people that have their religion.
Posted: at 3-02-2023 05:33 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- Baye77 at 3-02-2023 05:36 AM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  2-02-2023 11:15 PM

No matter the amount of talk and evidence you present to them, they are going to believe whatever they want to believe. Sadly, you can't explain colour to one who has refused to see by intentionally blindfolding himself.
Posted: at 3-02-2023 05:36 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- Baye77 at 3-02-2023 05:38 AM (1 year ago)
I wish both of them and also their kids well in their lives.
Posted: at 3-02-2023 05:38 AM (1 year ago) | Hero