#NigeriaDecides2023: US Senator Asks Govt To Exercise Restraint In Embracing Election Outcome

Date: 04-03-2023 11:02 am (1 year ago) | Author: onuigbo felicia
- at 4-03-2023 11:02 AM (1 year ago)

A US senator representing Idaho, Jim Risch has asked the Joe Biden-led government to exercise restraint in embracing the just concluded presidential elections in Nigeria.

The ranking member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee in a statement on Thursday said, “it is disappointing to see the administration rush to embrace the result while the full picture of what occurred during this electoral process is yet to be seen.”

The ongoing electoral process in Nigeria is widely viewed as deeply flawed by election observers and many Nigerians, Mr Risch said.

On Wednesday, US Department of State spokesperson, Ned Price, congratulated Nigeria’s president-elect, Bola Tinubu, and all political leaders on the results of the presidential election.

He, however, acknowledged that many Nigerians and some of the parties have expressed frustration about the manner in which the process was conducted and the shortcomings of technical elements that were used for the first time in a presidential election cycle.

Mr Risch added that he has expressed similar concerns in other areas of US-Nigeria relations.

“I worry this rush to judgement will undermine our ability to be an effective partner to all Nigerians, especially given their longstanding desire for democracy,” he said.

With Nigeria heading into gubernatorial elections by 11 March, the senator asked the US to be more concerned with supporting the Nigerian people and their democratic aspirations than embracing the Nigerian government.

The PDP and the LP vehemently rejected the results of the elections asking the electoral commission, INEC, to cancel the elections.

The election results as announced by INEC showed Mr Tinubu garnered a total of 8,794,726 votes to beat Atiku who scored a total of 6,984,520 votes, and Mr Obi who came third with a total of 6,101,533 votes.

Both parties held press conferences to make their case and challenge the declaration.

They have commenced separate legal actions to challenge the outcome of the elections at the Court of Appeal in Abuja. The Court of Appeal acts as the Presidential Election Petition Court where the outcomes of presidential elections are challenged by aggrieved candidates.

They have both filed separate ex parte applications, praying to be granted access to inspect sensitive materials that INEC used for the conduct of the presidential poll last Saturday.

The Labour Party on Friday, secured leave of the Court of Appeal sitting in Abuja to have access to all the sensitive materials the INEC deployed for the conduct of the presidential election held on 25 February.

Joseph Ikyegh, who led a panel of the appellate court, ordered INEC to allow Atiku and Mr Obi to inspect the electoral materials.

Posted: at 4-03-2023 11:02 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- angelzizi at 4-03-2023 11:37 AM (1 year ago)
It's that simple, allow them to inspect the electoral materials and if it shows that Tinubu won they will throw in the towel and leave them alone...  let justice prevail
Posted: at 4-03-2023 11:37 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Allsense at 4-03-2023 11:52 AM (1 year ago)
Quick rush to conclusion is always a problem, especially sometimes when the results might clearly be the opposite. Like I said, even the blind saw through everything about the just concluded election.
Posted: at 4-03-2023 11:52 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jiiitk4 at 4-03-2023 12:20 PM (1 year ago)
Nigerians shouldn't forget that the DEMOCRATS are  in power in US. An offshoot of Barack Obama's Government that helped this demonic government of Buhari into power.
Posted: at 4-03-2023 12:20 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jiiitk4 at 4-03-2023 12:41 PM (1 year ago)
#NigeriansDeceived2023##
Posted: at 4-03-2023 12:41 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 4-03-2023 02:56 PM (1 year ago)
WE ARE UNAPOLOGETIC JAGABAN, WE HAVE WON!!! AND WE ARE EQUAL PARTNERS TO THE USA!! LET's MEET FOR ''UN'' where JAGABAN will represent US!!!  Cool Cool Cool
Posted: at 4-03-2023 02:56 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Jiiitk4 at 4-03-2023 06:04 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  4-03-2023 02:56 PM
WE ARE UNAPOLOGETIC JAGABAN, WE HAVE WON!!! AND WE ARE EQUAL PARTNERS TO THE USA!! LET's MEET FOR ''UN'' where JAGABAN will represent US!!!  Cool Cool Cool

Shame go finish you that day. Tinubu to address UN ?
Posted: at 4-03-2023 06:04 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 4-03-2023 06:22 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Jiiitk4 on  4-03-2023 06:04 PM
Shame go finish you that day. Tinubu to address UN ?

which shame? do you know u can speak Igbo in ''UN'' Oh, idiota's like u are too ashamed of your language u think only stupid English is allowed!!...........stupid  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-03-2023 06:22 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Allsense at 4-03-2023 07:32 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on  4-03-2023 06:22 PM
which shame? do you know u can speak Igbo in ''UN'' Oh, idiota's like u are too ashamed of your language u think only stupid English is allowed!!...........stupid  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
So na like this you MUMU reach. If you want to give speech is UN programme you will speak Hausa? Do you think it's bunch of idiots that are sitting there?
Posted: at 4-03-2023 07:32 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 4-03-2023 07:36 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: Allsense on  4-03-2023 07:32 PM
So na like this you MUMU reach. If you want to give speech is UN programme you will speak Hausa? Do you think it's bunch of idiots that are sitting there?

No, are you insane or just plain stupid!! but u have google and it is FREE!!! bitch check it up!!! idiot!! na every president/prime minister dey speak English?  HOW DULL ARE YOU PEOPLE? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

don't fcking reply until u go and check if you can speak any language for UN!!! idiot  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 4-03-2023 07:36 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- bjjghj at 18-03-2023 12:54 PM (1 year ago)
Dr Awogbemi Aberuagba (A.k.a.Osameji )  Traditional Herbalist Native Doctor, Call or Text what s app (0813 193 1670 - +234 8131931670) We are attend peoples and secure them with our leave and root........Medicine available

Stroke ,

Strong penis ,

Strong cough,

Stomach pin ,

Fibroid,

Money ritual without human blood,

Diabetic,

Stroke,

Sperm erection,

Sugar level,

Strong penis,

Bring your wife or husband back ,

Love attract , And E.T.C.

Call Or Text whats app +2348131931670

WA FUN AYEWO ARARE NIHIN.
Ogun stroke,

Ogun giri mode,

Ose oshole todaju,

Ogun ito sugar ,

Ogun I romo bi ,

Ogun iferan ,

Agbo ki oko lele dada,

Ogun ti nkan omokunrin bakere,

Ogun igbega lenu ise ,

Ogun amubo obinrin tabi okunrin ,

Ati bebe lo ...epe wa si ori ero ibanisoro Yi fun alaye lekun rere.....

( +2348131931670 ) ( +2348131931670 )

Notice: Location is not the barea ,we can send our medicine to all over the world through post office or DHL and you will pay for the work after you receive your work....
Posted: at 18-03-2023 12:54 PM (1 year ago) | Newbie